We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windward Passage Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windward Passage Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

By far the highlight of our accommodation while in Australia. Stunning views and clean roomy apartments. Friendly helpful staff made our stay a true delight.Walking distance to all amenities and very central in the Sunshine Coast. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be coming back for another holiday, we thought next time we will stay at Windward for our entire holiday. Great value!! Booking was very simple. Thank you so much Judi and Ross, we will be back (if you will have us LOL)

Room Tip: Higher floors better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. We had an excellent modern, large and clean 3 bedroom apartment [sub penthouse] on level 8 . Relatelively close to the Caloundra water front [10 minute walk], large balconies that are right on the waterfront. Note the pool is a dipping pool so don't expect to do lenghts !, also the key system is somewhat ackward as it uses metal slot in tags so ensure you get familiar with it ! we would happily stay here again. Very nice

Room Tip: The higher the level the better ! Level 8 subpenthouse on the Caloundra side is very tasetful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xlinknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I can't say we've had a better holiday experience than at this location. The views over Pumicestone Passage and out to sea are breathtaking.The units are comfortably furnished,clean, well maintained and represent great value for money.The professionalism and friendliness of hosts Judi and Ross makes this a great all round package. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here with young kids over the xmas break and was most impressed with the value and comfort of these units. they are well located (with no road between the units and the beach). The unit was clean and easy to maintain during the stay and everything you needed was on-hand. Thanks for a lovely stay Judi and Ross.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Absolutely fantastic! Great ocean views, great location, lovely spacious homely unit, large verandah. Great for families - we had a wonderful relaxing week - wished we could of stayed longer!! Will return one day!! The premises are kept clean and tidy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in two apartments in this complex. Apartment 21 on level 6 and the subpenthouse Apartment 26 on level 8. Obviously 21 is smaller but certainly not cramped. The views over the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island and back towards Caloundra are amazing, especially pretty at night with all the lights. The shipping lanes provide interest and cruise ships at night look spectacular. The Passage is a hive of activity - canoes, paddle boards, jet skis, boats and the regular cruise boat all provide snapshots of that holiday feeling! This is right on the waters edge - no road in front. The neighbours children kept us amused with their cricket games out front - not intrusive, just the sound of kids enjoying good healthy fun. A great walkway (which I understand will continue to be developed) means easy access to restaurants, shopping, supermarket, mall, seafood places etc. It was fairly windy when we were there so sitting outside did mean some kind of wrap or warmth was needed at times. By 5 in the morning the sun is pouring in your apartment if you choose to leave the drapes open. Breakfast on the balcony is bliss! I loved the fact that these apartments have air con, plus fans plus lockable screens so you get to choose how you want to ventilate your apartment. We were there just prior to Christmas and Judy (with Ross roped in!) had gone to great trouble to put up a tree and decorate the lobby. There is an Internet station in the lobby which you can pay to use if you don't take your laptop with you on holiday. Lots of touristy brochures available there too and Judy and Ross do have a wealth of knowledge which they will share if you ask. Half way through our stay we moved up two floors to Apartment 26 - our choice to celebrate. This is well worth the outlay if you enjoy space and views. It is amazing how going up two floors alters the total perspective. Three bedrooms, two bathrooms, the master ensuite is HUGE!! Spa bath, twin basins, good mirror, loads of space, toilet and bidet and massive w'robe space. F&P large F/F, hob and oven, M'wave, Smeg dishwasher (needed instruction book to operate and it was there), Simpson w/machine, F&P drier. Another balcony around the other side too with this one so we often sat out there in the evenings watching the sunsets over the Glasshouse Mountains - magic! This apartment is on the NE end covering half the floor. Daily local paper delivered while you are there - not on final morning though which was a shame as I wanted to take it to read on the plane. Both apartments have good appliances and drawers are well stocked to be able to cook instead of going out. 21 has large Simpson F/F, Panasonic M'wave, F&P dishwasher & oven, Simpson 5.5 washer plus drier. Airing rack secreted in second bedroom. Ironing board plus iron.Tea, coffee, sugar, basic starter pack- no salt and pepper sachets though. Compact bathroom, shower twin vanity, there is a bath (not spa) in the second bathroom. As with so many of these places you do hear the scraping of outdoor furniture above. Judy & Ross are excellent ambassadors for the area - they know about so many of the things on offer. They maintain the right mix of professionalism with a friendly interest in their guests and nothing is too much trouble. (Thank you Ross for hauling my heavy bag up to 26 while we were out enjoying a wonderful day!) A chilled bottle on the counter top on arrival was just lovely. Thank you! We hope to return. Colin & Sue.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaikatoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithgow, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We recently stayed at Windward Passage Apartment in Caloundra. Our apartment had amazing 360deg views of the Pumicestone Passage and the ocean beyond as well as the main shopping/restaurant strip of Caloundra.

We had a wonderfully relaxed stay and Ross & Judi were wonderful hosts with nothing being too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again.

The apartment was fully equipped and there was lot's of information for the surrounding areas for day trips etc

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
0.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.1 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#1 of 51 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windward Passage Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Passage Holiday Apartments

Property: Windward Passage Holiday Apartments
Address: Windward Passage 31-35 Landsborough Pde | Caloundra, Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Golden Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windward Passage Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive waterfront self contained holiday apartment / hotel complex overlooking the pristine waters of Pumicestone Passage and the night lights of Caloundra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Windward Passage Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward Passage Holiday Apartments Golden Beach, Australia - Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing