We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded charm tucked into the inlet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahsis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nootka Sound Resort
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Secluded charm tucked into the inlet”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nootka Sound Resort will take your mind off your to do list as your mind is occupied with eagles, snow capped mountains, and pristine fishing waters. The rooms are clean and comfy and the staff is delightful. Their chef is 5 star and the living is easy. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had an awesome time, chef Kimberly does amazing meals for a floating lodge. The rooms had great beds and the staff were very friendly. The fishing outside was everything I expected and to see humpback whales at 10',huge pod of grey whales and killers completely out of water and spy hopping. Unbelievable experience, thanks! Will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayhem5675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We have wanted to go salmon fishing on the west coast of Vancouver Island for a long time. Our friend researched and booked us into Nootka Sound Resort for a week. Wondered at the time if it would be too long. Ad an awesome adventure. The fishing was stupendous but the food, accommodation and staff made it unparalelled!!!!! Would highly recommend to anyone who loves to fish and appreciates 5 star service. Kimberly the chef was delightful, using fresh herbs and produce from her garden to enhance delicious meals. Celia in the morning was always smiling and provided hearty breakfasts to send us on our way. The resort staff, all 4 of them were so helpful and able to provide for all our needs. Absolutely the best! You guys will be remembered always!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doraCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great place to stay!!! 3 time at Nootka Sound Resort Very friendly people and great service!! Great atmosphere at floating lodge and food you cant even explain how good it is (thanks again chef kimberly) highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to west coast fish!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranL212, Guest Relations Manager at Nootka Sound Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us up an excellent review, it is very much appreciated by our hardworking staff. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at Moutcha Bay Resort wich was equally amazing but thought we would spend one night at NSR. What a special place. The staff was 5 star the dinner was excellent and also the breakfast the next day was delicous. I highly recomend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishinphysician2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Diamond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just got back from a 4- night stay with 3- days of fishing. Great location, the place was clean and neat. Everything you need and more. The crew was top notch and the food was amazing. The fishing was great as well, we caught our limits on Kings and silvers and then rounded out the day with bottom fishing. After 3- days my arms were tired from reeling in fish. The crew took care of the fish right away and when we were leaving it was all package and ready to go. The crew did an excellent job. After a long day of fishing my favorite thing was sitting around the outdoor fire pit and enjoying the view. Will return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranL212, Guest Relations Manager at Nootka Sound Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. You guys were a great/ fun group to have at the lodge. Thank you for taking the time out to write us up a wonderful review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent four nights at Nootka Sound Resort. The staff was great, the guides were very friendly and knowledgeable, I have to say Chef Kimberly did an amazing job, every meal was top notch and the deserts were incredible. We fished three days in mid June and caught limits of salmon and halibut every day. I will definitely be going back next year.

Room Tip: Second floor water front rooms were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahsis
19.2 mi away
Gold River Chalet
Gold River Chalet
#1 of 1 in Gold River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
157.6 mi away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
17.2 mi away
Nootka Island Lodge
Nootka Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Nootka Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
69.4 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
58.8 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nootka Sound Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nootka Sound Resort

Property: Nootka Sound Resort
Address: KM 43 | Head Bay Road, Tahsis, British Columbia V0P 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Tahsis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Tahsis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nootka Sound Resort is our original floating wilderness resort, located in a secluded bay in Nootka Sound and accessible by either float plane or boat we provide all inclusive packages for up to 44 guests at a time. Large groups can book the Resort for their exclusive use. Situated in close proximity to spectacular fishing grounds, you can choose to angle for salmon, halibut, lingcod and rockfish. Experienced, professional guides provide the best of inshore and offshore fishing or scenic marine and cultural tours. After a thrilling sport fishing adventure, your catch is processed to your specifications in our government certified fish processing facilities, while you relax with a gourmet meal in the uniquely intimate licensed restaurant. You will be well rested for your next days' adventure after sleeping in your luxury accommodations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing