We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Leila Playa Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just had a week in this complex it was so clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful. The place itself is nice a quiet and everything you need is close by. The beach was only 50 meters away from our apartment. The only bad point we found was the entrance to the resort as its on the main road and not really very well sign posted. Would recommend for a couples relaxing holiday and would visit again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed at Leila Playa for in August. Regular visitor but this was my first visit in high summer. Weather was excellent with temperatures in the low 30s every day and resort was 95% full. As a result the resort had organised extra activities including a visit of beautiful birds on Wednesday evening followed by a group playing 60s classics.
The resort was in beautiful condition and the Unit we stayed in was in excellent condition. Everything worked as expected. We arrived early and the unit was made available an hour before the expected time. However television reception quality was not good. Internet service in reception was excellent as always – they have reduced the price to 5 euros for 2 hours.
As usual staff were helpful and positive. They are still trying to respond to some issues about the highly popular Pool. During our visit the advertised hour of opening was 0900 (not 0800) and occasionally a little note would appear on the sunbeds to remind users not to leave towels to reserve sunbeds. We thought the number of ‘reservations’ was reduced.
Another word of praise for the local council – they have now installed a ‘gazebo’ structure on the beach and still twice a week flatten the sand and daily empty the litter bins and litter pick.

I thought in this review I would give some advice on trips you can do from Leila Playa without a car:
Walk southwards along the beach to the leisure marina at Cabopino (30 minutes); continue on past the Naturist Beach to Elviria (90 minutes) and catch the 220 bus back (Every 30 minutes - 20 minutes duration – 1.5 euros). Numerous beach cafes alongside the beach side.
Walk northwards to Dona Lola resort (30 minutes); continue onwards to Cala de Mijas (120 minutes); Wednesday Market; Beach; Restaurants; Shops. Numerous beach cafes alongside the beach side. Catch the 220 bus back (Every 30 minutes - 20 minutes duration – 1.5 euros).
Mijas Pueblo by bus. From the front of Leila Playa to the Bus Station in Fuengirola (20 minutes – 1.55 euros); then change to Mijas bus (every half hour on the hour and half past) – 20 minutes to Mijas. Return.
La Canada Shopping Centre by bus (155 shops including designer brands, C&A; M&S; Hypermarket). From opposite side of N340 in front of Leila Playa to Marbella (2.14 euros – 30 minutes); change to L6 bus (10 minutes, 2 euros); every 30 minutes. Return.
Fuengirola, Miramar Shopping Centre - From the front of Leila Playa (20 minutes – 1.55 euros) BUT get off at the stop BEFORE Hotel Beatrix Palace, cross the road and walk 15 minutes to centre(Adventure Golf centre nearby is well worth a visit. Return is from Bus Stop opposite the one you got off outside BP Garage (Stop is not marked – bus just pulls in)).
Plaza Mayor Shopping Centre, Malaga. ; From the front of Leila Playa to the Bus Station in Fuengirola (20 minutes – 1.55 euros); then change to Malaga train from underground station (2 minutes from Bus Station) – 30 minutes every 20 minutes – 2.6 euros directly to Shopping Centre.
Benalmadena (Tivoli Amusement Park, Teleferique, Dolphinarium, Friday Market). From the front of Leila Playa to the Bus Station in Fuengirola (20 minutes – 1.55 euros); then change to Malaga train from underground station (2 minutes from Bus Station) – 30 minutes every 20 minutes – 2.6 euros directly to Benalmadena. Sea Life Centre is a 20/30 minute walk from the Station. There is a hop on, hop off bus operating from Tivoli Park.
Fuengirola, Zoo - From the front of Leila Playa (20 minutes – 1.55 euros) to Bus Station. Zoo is 20 minutes walk along main street.
Malaga (Shopping, Beach, Picasso, Cathedral, Castle, Port). From the front of Leila Playa to the Bus Station in Fuengirola (20 minutes – 1.55 euros); then change to Malaga train from underground station (2 minutes from Bus Station) – 30 minutes every 20 minutes – 2.6 euros directly to Malaga. There is a hop on, hop off bus operating from near the station.
Ronda by train. From the front of Leila Playa to the Bus Station in Fuengirola (20 minutes – 1.55 euros); then change to Malaga train from underground station (2 minutes from Bus Station) – 30 minutes every 20 minutes – 2.6 euros directly to Malaga. Change to Ronda train.
Alora by train. From the front of Leila Playa to the Bus Station in Fuengirola (20 minutes – 1.55 euros); then change to Malaga train from underground station (2 minutes from Bus Station) – 30 minutes every 20 minutes – 2.6 euros directly to Malaga. Change to Alora train (10 trains a day; 40 minutes).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The overall accommodation, resort facilities are good and clean have all amenities to cook and wash and only 50 yards to the beach. The rooms are ideal for families and couples, reception extremely helpful..
BUT the restaurant terrace is not a restaurant it's a snack bar and bar, run completely independent to the hotel with limited food options which honestly was disgusting, and the staff were totally discourteous and rude. Such a shame as the hotel deserves better..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jface2face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was my second time here and it's a great place to go for a relaxing holiday. If you want nightlife bars, clubs, music... It's not great but your only 15 euro taxi to porta banus or Marbella.
The only bad point was the junction that you had to use to enter the resort scary its a right angle turn of the motorway quite tricky if you have busy traffic going at 70 mph... It's even harder getting back onto the motorway as there is no slip lane and you have to get on from a standing start onto a busy motorway :-(

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GT9484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I spend hours on the net each year looking for the best deals through all the various websites mostly dealing direct with owners and I have to say this is by far the best I have ever stayed in with a location that ticks almost every box.I booked a one bed apartment for myself and my wife and using the resort map from the owners website "requested" B25 which was available, I was allocated B29 on arrival, even better!They are clear in their confirmation this can change so no issue.I never book on the phone, glad I did as the Res lot in Aviemore were very helpful on simply getting booked and then answering any queries subsequently.We are 50 yards from the beach and 100 yards from the sea with a mini trot through the resort and manicured gardens to the pool.We arrived at Noon and were checked in very efficiently with all the relevant information ready to access our apartment at 2 pm earlier than expected.the apartment is well maintained, spotlessly clean and more than adequate for space, our two teenagers could have joined us no issue at all.Big plus for me over my other rentals is the "inventory"! I will not exaggerate but suffice to say there is NOTHING missing to the extent that you, on top of every utensil, cup,plate,pot &pan, get washing up liquid, dishwasher powder, wash machine powder, bin liners etc etc.All we had to buy was food & drink which is a 10 minute walk over the highway to SuperSol which has everything you need.We only used the Bar as we dined each night at Puerto Cabopino. The bar was great for snack lunch, drinks late on or happy hour if you fancied it, great friendly staff also and not pricy. We have spent a week sitting on our balcony with suitable refreshments listening to the waves , watching the sea, sunbathing on the beach or by the immaculate pool and dining at Puerto Cabopino....perfect!!!!
By the way , yes there is a charge for electricity €35 for me, Internet €20, buttons in my opinion, yes the exit is tight, yes the stairs to the 2nd floor apartments could be an issue, not for us. I did not hire a car as I had no intention to explore, right decision as shops are walkable and Marina no more than €8 in a taxi.
What a Gem run by great friendly helpful people.
PS
left my iPad (what an idiot) by the pool Lifeguard on it like a shot and collected next day when I realised!

Room Tip: Get a resort Map and choose from there, available on owners site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank t3gmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

This resort was a bit different than we expected, but nice nonetheless. We had great views of the ocean and a spacious condo. The pool is a bit small, but you can use the ones of the sister resort down the road. Customer service was very hehelpful and courteous. The sea is quite cold and not entirely clean looking here, we were suprised about that but just hadn't been to that coast before.

The hotel is hard to get to, it is a turnoff from the highway-- not an exit, you literally have to turn off the highway and try not to hit anyone. I don't recommend getting there in the dark.

Downfalls: the shower door is awkward, WiFi is spotty, and the beds are pretty hard. Also be careful on the curvy stairs to top floor apartments.

We really enjoyed our stay though and it was a relaxing time!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Leila Playa is a little gem on the Costa Del Sol. In most ways the resort was just as it has been before on our visits. We feel at home the moment we arrive.
We visited for a 2 week break. We occupied 2 different one bed units on the western side of the complex and our family occupied a two bed unit on the same side for one week. On both Saturdays the units were available early so it is worth arriving early and asking. Moving between our apartments was organised well, meaning we only had to pack our cases and they were moved for us including the contents of the fridge and freezer. It is worth saying that each of the Units occupied showed the part nature of the on-going refurbishment programme. One unit was original, one part refurbished, one completely. The third type had we thought more comfortable beds than the others. The unit nearest the road – B11 was the one with most noise – it was noticeable but didn’t stop us sleeping.
This was our first visit at this time of the year – this time it coincided with stays by members of the owners Committee some of whom introduced themselves and all of whom made themselves available. Weather was generally fine with temperatures in the mid 20 degrees centigrade but there was a strong breeze usually southerly which meant sheltered places around the Pool were at a premium.
All the apartments we occupied were very clean and well maintained. However television reception in our second apartment was poor and channels on the television were mixed up.
The internet service in reception is excellent as always – they offer a facility – at a cost – to print out material. Staff are uniformly helpful and positive – in answer to my Grandaughters enquiry, she was assured they have more than 20 terrapins in the pools, though she only ever spotted one. One of the security staff – Daniel – is particularly conscientious and takes particular interest in the beach salesmen who use the ‘public way’ up the western access road to access the bus stop at the front of the complex by following them if they chance to turn the other way.
Eli’s quiz on Monday is something we always go to. 30 questions and 3 anagrams. Questions tend to follow the same pattern and are based on general knowledge such as where were the Hanging Gardens of Babylon? Or What is the second most used letter in the English Language? If there are lot of children on resort she tries to throw in some child friendly questions such as ‘What was the first strange animal that Alice saw in Wonderland’? (Though I disagreed with her answer!)
They are trying to respond to some issues about the highly popular Pool. They have fenced it – fairly unobtrusively – and religiously lock the gates at 2000 (and open it spot on 0800) and now include the ‘rules of use’ in the welcome folder. The rules include an exhortation not to pre reserve sunbeds round the Pool with towels. Despite this on one morning when I went for a swim at 0815, 6 beds had been ‘reserved’, another morning at a similar time 20 had been ‘reserved’. There are 80 sunbeds for a complex accommodating just under 400 people when full so there is scope for competition. However we never had a problem getting our family accommodated together when we went there in the middle of the day. The rules also include a ‘Splash Time' between 1200 and 1300 and 1630 and 1730, the idea being to restrict use of inflatables to those times – not completely successfully - and perhaps enable them to restrict the use of Lifeguards. This year I found the Jacuzzi excellent (very hot).
There are 10 permanent umberellas and 2 sunbeds per umberella on the beach, exclusively for use of guests though we saw some locals taking advantage.
The children’s play equipment has been renewed and was enjoyed by our grandchildren (6 and 3). The mini golf course still needs some work to bring it up to tip top condition. The gym has been updated with a new rowing machine.
A word of praise for the local council – they have installed some boarding on the beach, a shower and twice a week flatten the sand and daily empty the litter bins and litter pick.
A word on getting there. If you are adventurous and can handle your luggage, there is a train at Malaga Airport only 100 yards from the arrivals door that runs every 20 minutes and gets you to the centre of Fuengirola in 45 minutes for 2.60 euros each. You then have the choice of the bus – 1.50 euros each, every 30 minutes but a struggle with cases, or a taxi (right outside the station) for 25 euros per cab.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sitio de Calahonda
0.7 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
0.6 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#10 of 27 in Mijas
174 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
107 reviews
2.7 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,356 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leila Playa Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leila Playa Club

Address: Ctra de Cadiz No 196, Malaga Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > Sitio de Calahonda
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sitio de Calahonda
Price Range: £77 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Leila Playa Club 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Leila Playa Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leila Playa Club Hotel Calahonda
Macdonald Leila Playa Club Sitio De Calahonda, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing