We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Leila Playa Club
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just had to find a place for 3 nights looking at potential holiday homes in the area. We came late night and they were all ready for us having the right procedures. The apartment was roomy and very quiet. Maybe the just had turned the A/C on in the evening, but it became soon cool. The apartment was very clean and well equipped. I did not use the kitchen but checked it. Good china, glasses and cutlery. We had 50 meters to the clean and sandy beach, the pool looked good. The restaurant was not open for breakfast. We had one dinner that was OK (but not more).

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms on the northwest side. No morning sun and only late afternoon that keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    63
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
96
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have always enjoyed our family vacations at Macdonald resorts in Britain, and were pleased that the Leila Playa had the same standards of comfort, quality and value. Enjoyed a lovely 3 night break over the May Bank Holiday and the resort had none of the crowded beaches and facilities that we had feared. Calahonda has very little of the tourist traffic seen in neighbouring towns like Fuengirola and Marbella. Also, it was very convenient to have supermarkets and a McDonalds for the kids within walking distance. Only gripes were the onsite restaurant (poor quality food and limited choice) and the fact that our two bed apartment had only one bathroom (always difficult when travelling with 3 kids!). We plan on coming back again to the Leila Playa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRA4308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived early at Resort from Redeye flight The told us the Suite was being cleaner and it would be ready shortly so we went to The Terraza for a bite before we were done the Suite was ready and our luggage was waiting in it. Our 1 Bedroom 1 Bath with full Kitchen was awesome with a bottle of wine waiting. The architecture of this Resort is wonderful Moorish effect and Our view of the Mediterranean was breathtaking. Our temps were low to upper 70's. The pool is heated and very clean. I want you to know the Staff at this Resort is so Accommodating, Helpful and Friendly they went beyond what we expected to meet and surpass our every need. We took some tours Ronda by train,Tangier Morocco and The Palace in Sevilla all were great. The Resort had Spanish Classes, Paella Making and Wine Classes at the Terraza who has the greatest fun loving Staff. We had such a wonderful Holiday and will definitely return to Leila Playa since we made such great friends whom we will keep in contact with.

Room Tip: A Or B Building Top Floor were good. The higher the # the closer to Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, Director General at Macdonald Leila Playa Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments about our Leila Playa resort. Our aim is to provide the best service possible while ensuring that our guests have a wonderful holiday experience. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Overview
This was our second time at this resort, and our second Macdonald resort. We have found Macdonald resorts well done and comfortable. Reserved via RCI TS exchange for May, 2014 stay. Resort is not new but is extremely well maintained. Accommodations comfortable, well furnished & fully equipped. Grounds are immaculate. English owned resort results in many UK guests and service orientation to English speakers. We would definitely return. One of my wife’s favorite places.
Pros
Excellent base for one day touring trips in region. Rhonda, Seville, Cordoba, Granada, Gibraltar (duty free shopping) drives, and Tangier tours all reasonable day trips. Tangier tour is a must and can be easily arranged at resort front desk (We have done this twice). Make certain to get Granada Alhambra tour tickets in advance of arrival. We booked with tour company online; cost more but assured our entrance to all areas. In Seville be careful of driving in old city. We have driven in many Euro cities and Seville is about the tightest we have experienced. Public parking near old town. Malaga Alcazar 20 min away and good afternoon outing with public parking near entrance. Marbella is 15 minute walk south on beach, or 5 minutes by car, for good restaurants and shopping. Previous trip we arranged for Flamingo dance dinner show via hotel desk; enjoyable and not too expensive.
Two grocery stores, bank, & pizzeria just across roadway and easily accessible via overpass walkway or car. Larger shopping center just 1-2 exits down motorway and easily found via auto. Good Italian restaurant only one exit south of hotel at Cabopino exit. Fair tourist prices and large menu for any taste. Indian rest also located at Cabopino exit.
Gorgeous and impressive view from our room (C11) of Mediterranean and resort. Spacious 2 bdrm, 2 bath unit having full kitchen, dining, living, and 2 separate terraces. Large fridge, cooktop, and washer with small clothesline very helpful. Kitchen large enough for meal cooking. Plenty of closet space and baths are large for Euro standards. All in good working order and not in any need of remodeling. Safe use and parking free; but WiFi cost adder and not very good. Management removed WiFi charges from bill due to limited function. WiFi charges also give access to in room movies of limited library. Resort beach is good but appears it can be rocky. Lounge chairs available with umbrella. Resort pool area looks sufficiently large and seemed enjoyed by several other guests. Miniature golf in front tougher than it looks. Made for good free 1 hour outdoor activity.
Previous trip we stayed in 1 bdrm unit also having large private ocean view terrace. Condition and furnishings also very good and well maintained. Appears that most rooms have ocean view from terrace.
Front desk personnel all great and very helpful. All speak English and friendly. Javier was especially helpful and kind. Jose, manager, did his best to get our WiFi working.
Resort restaurant pretty good and not outrageously expensive. Indoor and outdoor patio seating and service. Entertainment a couple of nights a week; Friday & Sunday. Service OK and decent English spoken. Snack bar/patio bar good and fairly reasonable. We used both more than once.
Property exit can easily be missed off motorway. Heading north look for black “Leila Playa” sign with white letters on right, about a mile after CaboPino ramp. Right turn into resort is before “Leila Playa” sign immediately after bus stop. Go slow, it is easy to miss.
Cons
Mattresses in beds could use replacing. We ended up sleeping in 2nd bedroom twin beds over master as master mattress was horrendous; worst we have experienced anywhere.
Electricity charge is ridiculous, but common for UK resorts. Amounted to 40 Euros.
Do not use telephone for calls. 10 minute call was 21 Euros for economy Spain line access. Better off with phone booth or paying USA cell roaming charges.

Room Tip: Rooms C11 and C12 have best ocean view. Both are 2 bdrms, 2 bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBob_and_Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have been to leila playa a couple of times as a child and got to go back this year booking through travelrepublic.Co.UK if I realised I could have booked through an agent I would have returned a long time ago. The staff and visitors are friendly, the villas are extremely clean. If you go to the restaurant the snack menu is better then the main evening menu. Overall a really good holiday and hope to return next year :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, Gerente at Macdonald Leila Playa Club, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback about our Leila Playa resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim to to provide excellent service and a wonderful holiday experience. We always welcome comments from our guests and any suggestions on how we might improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had the pleasure of spending the week of 5-12 April 2014 in a two bedroom unit at the Layla Play. The resort is conveniently located with grocery, pharmacy, and other amenities directly across the street from the resort (accessed via a pedestrian overpass). The local bus service stopped at the resort’s entrance and was a very economical and dependable method of transportation. The unit was clean and nicely furnished with comfortable beds and bedding. The kitchen was nicely outfitted with amenities needed for cooking and doing laundry as needed. The grounds were lovely and well maintained and all the staff was pleasant and helpful. Of worthy mention is Mr. Javier Cabo, who worked in reception. Mr. Cabo was always pleasant, courteous and extremely professional. We sincerely appreciated his willingness to share his knowledge of the area which helped make our visit a memorable one. Mr. Cabo’s pride in the resort and the Costa del Sol region were readily obvious and his enthusiasm infectious. He is a valuable asset to your organization!

On the downside….the restaurant, which I understand is run completely independent to the hotel, left a lot to be desired. The food and service was less than mediocre. We found the two occasions on which we dined there to be regrettable; hence the rating of 4 stars in lieu of 5. It is a shame because everything else about the resort was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky-in-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Upon our return to Malaga from a Cruise, we reserved a suite at the MacDonald Leila Paya... the resort was half full considering the time of year ( early Spring). We found the facilities excellent and the desk service extremely helpful. The location is great if you want to travel around the region to take on the sites... We are not "beach people" however I can imagine that the beach which is attached to the resort must be very pleasant in summer weather...
We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gee4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, Director General at Macdonald Leila Playa Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback about our Leila Playa resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim to to provide excellent service and a wonderful holiday experience. We always welcome comments from our guests and any suggestions on how we might improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sitio de Calahonda
1.9 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
1.2 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#12 of 27 in Mijas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leila Playa Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leila Playa Club

Property: Macdonald Leila Playa Club
Address: Ctra de Cadiz No 196, Malaga Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > Sitio de Calahonda
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sitio de Calahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Leila Playa Club 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Leila Playa Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leila Playa Club Hotel Calahonda
Macdonald Leila Playa Club Sitio De Calahonda, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing