We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
167
72
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
72
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecurity manon site restaurantsauna and steam roomsister hotelregular visitorsquiz nightmaintained groundschildren's clubhome from homeheated poolcrazy golfworking orderpuerto cabopinochildren's activitiestwo week holidaybed apartmentspanish lessons
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

As an owner I feel it is right and proper to review LP. I have criticised it in the past but delighted to review it today with pride and great satisfaction. 12 months since our last visit. Apartment refurbished. as many others have been. Gardens splendid. Spotlessly tidy and clean. The pool totally revamped and superb.
From the 1st welcome from Jose and his Team on reception to all the staff on site including my friend Daniel the security man I found them all excellent and went out of their way to help or just say hello. Brilliant and well done to Sebastion, the Committee and all who work there but a very special mention must go the Team at the totally refurbished bar / restaurant. New menus. excellent choice at sensible prices and quality meals to be enjoyed while being entertained by quality entertainers which in the past has been dire and totally diabolical to the point it drove you out of the premises, But wait. all new quality acts...great food. superb Staff, Sergio( mr Happy) Nadia, Manal, & Miriam do look after you so well we actually stayed in 5 times to see the entertainers. As I am in that business I have to say it was good and would have been pleased to send them out to my venues in the UK.
I hope you find the resort as satisfying as we do and I know from speaking to other owners how pleased they are with the massive improvements over the past year.
Thank you Leila Playa.

Room Tip: all are excellent . couples try a studio as great views but every one is quality
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Thank you Al for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your comments to Ana, the restaurant manager. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

This is a fantastic resort for a relaxing holiday. Our apartment was immaculate and well equipped. The garden area is beautifully maintained and the beach is just minutes away. If you choose to eat out there is a restaurant on site and it serves good food. This is our second stay at LP and can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary32016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us Mary and we hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We had a 2 bed, 2 bathroom apartment overlooking the pool and the evening entertainment area. The apartment was great, well maintained and equipped. Loads of towels both for use in the apartment and in the pool area. Location was just off the busy A7 but secondary glazing had been fitted and it was effective. I was not too keen on the exit/entry to the A7 which seemed to require great judgement to avoid being run into by speeding trucks & cars. The pedestrian overpass was very useful for reaching an excellent breakfast on the Terrace and the Super sol and Lidl supermarket. Evening entertainment was pretty good and the TV channels gave a good choice of many programmes including BBC1 and ITV. The pool area was well maintained. A shame they charged extra for the rather good 17 hole crazy golf.

Room Tip: C12 was good
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you Lynn for taking to the time to post your comments. With regard to the exit/entry, we are in talks with the Town Hall about this matter. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The moment you turn off the busy coastal road at Callahonda you enter a different world. Leila Playa is small, compact and ideal for a relaxing stay. The accommodation is excellent, clean and beautifully maintained. Wherever you are on the site you are close to everything and the immaculately maintained central garden area is a delight. The pool is small and unheated but because of its size it warms up quickly and we found it pleasantly warm for swimming. My guess is that in school holiday time and with it full of children, your options would be more limited but there is always the sea.

We previously used the sister resort in Mijas and the choice of Lella Player was simply because this time we didn't want to tour but just chill. It was an ideal choice. The relatively new boardwalk at the beach gives you a lovely place to stroll and all the beachside restaurants and bars are pretty reasonable. Now that the restaurant on site is open (and run by the same people that run the one at Dona Lola up the road), you have the option to eat at the resort. The meal we had was reasonably priced with generous portions and a good average in quality.

If you choose to self cater, then the apartment will have all you need. The acid test is when you say "I wonder if we have a xxxx here?" Clearly someone has thought through the inventory very well as there was nothing missing that we needed. And if you must stay connected with the UK, then you have BBC, ITV and Ch4 on a satellite link on the TV. One downside - and that's a Macdonald's issue that they really should sort out - you have to pay 10 Euros a week for WiFi. On the other hand, if that gets ploughed back into maintenance then I wouldn't complain.

A few tips.

Don't be put off by the 3 star (rather than 5 star) rating. That's nothing to do with the quality of what is there and simply a measure of the number of additional facilities. Apart from no indoor pool, you should have everything you need.

The resort will not work for you if you have mobility problems. There are no lifts, the site is on a slope and there are steps everywhere. For everyone else the exercise will do you good!

If you intend to tour then take a deep breath and hire a car. It won't be cheap. If you want to stay local and your flights are at sensible times, there is no real need to spend £60 each way on a taxi. There is a great train service from the airport to Fuengirola for 3 Euros. The bus 220 from outside the station will then take you to the resort's front door for an extra 2 Euros. Door to door is about an hour and a half and the journey is relaxing.

To summarise, it's an excellent resort. If you want big and a little more brash with more local amenities then the much larger Macdonald's Dona Lola is a better bet.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want morning sun or afternoon sun. You can't have both.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you for your extensive and positive review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Just to clarify one point, the pool is heated in the winter months but not in the summer. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Having just returned from another holiday at Leila Playa, I was delighted to see that the restaurant has reopened and looks lovely. Tastefully decorated outside lounge area. The entertainment programme has been restarted and it is very good. It was a breath of fresh air to see all of this again. Very popular and would recommend a table is booked for dinner in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myweetoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastián U, General Manager at Macdonald Leila Playa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Thank you for your comments. We will let the restaurant manager know how pleased you were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews