We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Orquidea
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sitio de Calahonda
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Leila Playa Club(Sitio de Calahonda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort(Sitio de Calahonda)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
14
13
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
13
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a friendly resort with a nice atmosphere but was appauled at how dirty the swimming pools are, just take a look around the wall tiles really filthy. My children are grown up but if I had younger children I would not allow them in the pool, a friends family all went home with ear infections.....worrying.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank Beany186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOrquidea, Manager at La Orquidea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Hi Beany

Many thanks for staying at La Orquidea but we were disappointed to hear that you felt that the swimming pools weren't clean. Reception staff received NO complaints at all about pool cleanliness either during August when you stayed or at any other time this year and our maintenance staff and cleaning staff are constantly praised by guests at the immaculate state of cleanliness of our apartments, pools and gardens. Nor were there any complaints regarding ear infections. I am sorry that you didn't complain to our staff at the time when the pool maintenance men would have checked the pool and if necessary would have carried out further pool maintenance. We have many, many guests who come back and visit Orquidea every year and we welcome their feedback. If there is a problem during their stay we encourage our guests to report it to us, so that it can be rectified at the time and guests enjoy their stay and come back again next year. As you say, we are a friendly family resort and have welcomed our guests back for over 20 years now and many have become great friends. We would love to see you again next year with your family so please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

Management
La Orquidea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Apartment in need of a good refurbishment. No dining area just small breakfast bar ok for 2. Big balcony with views down to the coast. Onsite bar did meals but night we ate there only one other couple was in. Best restaurant 10 mins further uphill, 2 courses and drink for 2 people 30 euros. Resort high up from coast but we actually enjoyed walking it as it is not all steep (we are in our sixties). 'Strip' of bars and cafes part way down breaks the walk. A small road train does go up and down the hill (2 euros single, 3 euros return) so you are not lost if walking is difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenandnetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Requirements:
When I travel it is usually along the road less travelled, I love the challenge of travel to remote places. When you travel like that you accept what ever comes along. Now I have a young daughter, priorities are different, at least for the next 3-4 years. The criteria I'm looking for now are cleanliness, well maintained pools and facilities, good security, peace and quiet, central location, well appointed rooms and perhaps, not too distant access to decent food, outside the resort. I found all these things at La Orquidea, which was a very pleasant surprise.
The reality:
It has 3 pools catering for all ages, and a water slide. Cleanliness here is essential given the bacteria that inhabit these environments. The pools were very clean. The pool surrounds were also well maintained, although one criticism would be that there were not enough shadey areas, rather vital when the hot sun shines all day! There is a bar with tables and chairs by the pool, aswell as a pool table. Cooked food is also available. There is ample parking for cars. Each block of apartments has a lockable entrance gate so security is very good. A word of warning to the frail or infirm: there are no lifts in any of the blocks so if, like us, you have an apartment on the top floor, be prepared for plenty of exercise. Our apartment on the top floor had a superb view of the coast and surrounding countryside. There were fans in all rooms, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, TV with DVD player, lounge area, dining table, well equipped kitchen and plastic sun lounger furniture on the balcony. Everything worked as required, excellent showers, bidets and baths, although the wiring in the cupboard for the motors that powered the jacuzzis in the baths was very unsafe and easily accessed by young children. As we were on the top floor our balcony was exposed to the sun, thankfully there was a superb wind-out awning that covered the entire balcony.
Location:
Location wise, the resort is a good 20-25 mins down hill walk from the local 'strip' where one would find shops, restaurants etc. Bear in mind that you will then have the return walk all up hill! These cater for those who require some of the familiar flavours of home (if UK based) ie a chinese, Indian, Italian etc. Alternatively, in the opposite direction, up the hill, is a small well equipped shop and 3 restaurants, offering a good variety of food. Ideally, you need a car for this area, otherwise you might feel quite isolated. Calahonda is very centrally located, 35 mins drive from Malaga airport, 20 mins from Marbella and a hour or so drive from some of the interesting sights inland such as Mijas, Ronda, Antequeres, El Chorro Gorge and The Sierra Nieves hills for walking. Aqualand, Parc Aquatique etc are not far in the direction of Fuengirola. Good beaches really need to be accessed by car, closer to Marbella. All in all I would be happy to recommend this resort, with an friendly reception, where things can be sorted out, safe for children, but sadly, for those bringing laptops, very poor reception for WIFI, which is advertised as available in all areas of the resort. I gave up after several attempts and having paid quite alot for it, but this is a small point. If you need it internet is available in the bar on a meter.
Car Hire:
I would thoroughly recommend Malagacar.com. Excellent service, well priced and just outside the airport, so they pick you up andd take you to the office for processing. Our car was fairly new, very clean, and unlike alot of the local firms, supplied with 1/2 tank of fuel. You are asked to return it empty. There is also a shuttle back into the airport, superb.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vdubbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We went here on a promotional holiday. This wasn't our first choice resort. Nor our second, third, or fourth. Nor indeed our tenth. I couldn't help but feel we'd been a bit scammed, but wanted to make the best of it. From La Orquidea, I wasn't expecting much, and wasn't in any way pleasantly surprised.

I'll admit our mood on arrival wasn't great, having endured an 8 hour flight delay, and only arriving at 3am. The car park is/was mostly just a rubble-strewn wasteground round the back but we managed to squeeze our hire car in somewhere. The reception was long-closed, our keys being left in a box, and we had to figure out where our apartment was ourselves - not ideal when you're exhausted and with a disorientated 3 year old. Having to lug 2 heavy suitcases and the rest of the luggage up to the 4th floor by stairs wasn't fun. First impressions weren't great, although the room itself was a good size and decent layout. The furniture was basic, though not tatty.

In the light of day, the small size of the resort was evident. It consists of two blocks of apartments facing each other, with the pools in between. I believe one block is comprised of privately-owned apartments, whilst the other is run as an aparthotel, beloved of timeshare 'free holiday' scammers. There's also a cluster of small villa-type two-storey apartments, but these might be privately-owned too.

The bar is small and dated, offering a very limited food service. There is a very small shopette at reception. The pools - of which there are two main, one paddling, and one very deep plunge pool - are in reasonable shape (the odd missing tile) and there's a water slide into one of the main pools.

What is a bit disquieting, is that although the hotel is obviously a good few years old (10?15? 20?), it is unfinished, with about one third of the aparthotel bit of the resort being just open, grey concrete (on big concrete stilts, as it's built over the start of a creek...). We were told there's some long-running dispute, but it's a bit of an eyesore.

The hotel is located well up a steepish hill. We were glad we'd hired a car. Calahonda itself is predominantly residential. There isn't a shortage of bars and restaurants, but it's not really totally geared to holidaymakers, like other resorts are.

What Calahonda is, is run down and grubby (at least the main thoroughfares are). Broken and grimey pavements, tired-looking buildings, and the odd unpleasant sewery smell. There's a mock-train that circles the place, which is quite good - and it shows there are actually some nice areas away from the heart of the town.

Back to La Orquidea, and the apartment developed an ant problem, in the kitchen, lounge and balcony. On reporting this, we were just given some powder and left to deal with it ourselves. The powder did nothing to alleviate the problem. Otherwise, no particular issues - and we did have a distant sea-view!

The food we got from the bar-restaurant was decent enough fayre and the bar staff generally friendly. There was entertainment on just one night, which wasn't up to much (so much so that I can't recall what it was - I think some pub-crooner singing 50's stuff) and organised by the bar.

We didn't bother with the beach nearest Calahonda, because most reports I read were poor, but Mihas Costa and Cabopino are both nice beaches.

Overall, La Orquidea is very basic and quite tired-looking.
The service from the hotel is pretty poor (the bar is better, but I presume it's a sub-let). It's in a pretty poor location
Calahonda isn't a particularly pleasant place
The pools are the best feature

Would I go back? No.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My husband, myself, 2 girls (8 & 6) and my 2 year old son stayed here for 2 weeks. Didnt know what quite to expect as booked it very last minute. Flavio the reservations manager was very helpful when booking.
We arrived into Malaga and Calahonda is only 30 mins from airport. Was rather concerned about the hills. Definitely need a car unless you like walking up 45 degree hils. The apartments are quite away from everything, great if you want peace and quiet. They are fairly clean, altho quite basic, not even salt and pepper provided!
Our apartment number 55 was on 1st floor not great considering no lift and a pushchair to deal with. No air con either which some nights was unbearable considering the heat in August. The girls loved the pools and the slide, although they could have been cleaned more.
Dont get provisions from supermarket at top of hill, really expensive. Need to go right to bottom Supersol, hence the need for a car. It takes a good 25 mins to walk down to the beach which is not that great. Capabino beach is better.
On the whole, good value for money but dont think would stay there again as it was too far away from everything.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyoffiveinsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews