We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening”
Review of Meson de Calahonda

Meson de Calahonda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Meson De Calahonda is located at the open Shopping Center (El Zoco) in the Urbanización Calahonda. It is decorated in a rustic Spanish Style.Our cuisine is a blend between the traditional Spanish style and a Mediterranean touch.We are a Spanish,Traditional Restaurant with moré that 20 years of experience!! Highly Recommended¡We Would like to invite you to try our mediterránean cuisine!!All our products are fresh and homemade!Lovely Food & Quality Prices.Excelence Wines Selection.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect Spanish style food just like in the old days. Enormous plates. We had gambas pil pil and tapas for starters. As main course we had filet of sole, entrecote and the suckling pig. Everything very well prepared and very tasty. Best dinner around.

Helpful?
2 Thank AndersJonasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    106
    37
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food 1st class”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have always enjoyed our meals here
Again food 1class I had the meson steak cooked just as I like it perfect ..
Only slight draw back could do with 1 more waiter as poor lad seemed to struggle because the place was full but I don t mind waiting when the food is that good plus I am only holiday so what's the rush

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R8gdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
829 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 751 helpful votes
“Not Up To Its Normal High Standards - An Off Day I Hope.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I've been her a few times with the girls and normaly the meal and the Meson experiance is top draw ,I recently had a birthday meal here with the girls the food was ok but on this occasion something was missing , the staff weren't as attentive , I ordered the veal for my main but wasnt melt in the mouth it was chewy.
It was great to have my birthday meal with my friends but I felt a lit bit let down by the below normal standards.
But it's not all doom and gloom ........will I come back .......Yes my night must have been a one off , but with the summer just around the corner Mason needs to up its game and give the paying public the same high standards through out the year.
So on this occasion I can only award you 3 *** stars

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddslfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Caught on a bad night”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Went for dinner Thursday 3 July 2014.
It soon became apparent that the restaurant had staffing problems on this evening.
After a wait of over 1 hr we where told that our starter was not available and would we like to re order. We decided to cut our losses at this point and go elsewhere .
It was unfortunate because the food we saw being served looked delicious with immaculate presentation , don't let this review put you off as I intend to visit the restaurant again one day, just make sure there is more than one waiter on duty as the waiter on Thursday was doing his best but was obviously overworked.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfk909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
180 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Messon de Calahonda is located in the El Zoco Shopping Centre. We decided to eat inside rather than on the Plazza outside. It is like an oasis. When you enter it from the busy Restaurant Plaza it is a traditional Spanish Restauarnt with a rustic style personality and character all of its own. We had dinner there last night. Both had Mussels Marinara for starters. They were delicious. For mains one had rabbit and the other suckling pig. Both were beautifully cooked and nicely presented. We had a wine that I hadn't come across before - a Sauvignon Blanc "Erasma" from Bodega La Soterrana, Rueda. If you enjoy Sauvignons, like I do, you'll really enjoy this one!
Rafael and Manolo are very welcoming and provided professional and warm service throughout the meal.
Prices were in line with other restaurants in the area.
Very clean throughout including the Servicios!
We will definitely return there in the near future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meson de Calahonda also viewed

 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 

Been to Meson de Calahonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing