We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kawau Lodge, Kawau Island”
Review of Kawau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kawau Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Kawau Island B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Our short stay at Kawau Lodge was the final and ultimate highlight of our 2 months in NZ. Helen and David could not have been more helpful and welcoming; nothing was too much trouble and everything about our visit - food and all the arrangements (trip to the Mansion House) - was perfect. The final delight was joining them and some of their friends for lunch at the Yacht Club.

The daily rate was irrelevant - it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Kawau Lodge. The accommodation was very acceptable, the surroundings quite special and the hosts very nice. An extremely nice dinner was part of the enjoyment. Very welcoming and helped us to look around the island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had a wonderful weekend celebrating our first wedding anniversary at Kawau Lodge. The setting is gorgeous and views stunning. Helen and Dave are great hosts - extremely accommodating and helpful without being at all intrusive, we can't wait until we can come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaBurns_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Brett and I really enjoyed the time we spent at The Lodge with Helen and Dave. Right from leaving the Jetty at Sandspit we were made to feel welcome and well looked after. Our room was great and the meals were fantastic especially breakfast on the deck overlooking the bay. Catching a Kingfish was the highlight for me. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody1466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Our hosts made sure we had a great two-night stay in Jan 2013 with parents in beautifully appointed room, and kids parked nearby in a small tent. Kawau Lodge was a great base but best if you have access to a boat (like host Dave's) to explore the island although there are kayaks & dinghys to borrow for pootling around North Cove. If you are bringing your own lunches/dinners as we did to keep costs down, remember to bring some cooking utensil basics so you don't have to keep bugging Helen. The setting is stunning, no request is too much trouble and our brief stay was the highlight of our 2013 summer. Even saw wallabies as night was falling at Government House but you have to search harder than bygone years.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at Kawau Lodge with Helen and Dave for 2 nights in January 2013. We booked at the last minute once we realised that summer had arrived and are very glad that we did. From the minute Dave collected us from Sandspit we felt very welcome and spent our time between reading on the dock, eating Helen's wonderful meals, visiting Mission House (highly recommend spending a couple of hours doing the walks but be advised, some of the paths are slightly challenging for someone like me with a height phobia!) and fishing off the dock. There is absolutely nothing I would have changed and we had a perfect holiday. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My partner and I stayed with Helen and Dave for five nights over new year and had a lovely time. We booked the King room upstairs which afforded us privacy, our own balcony overlooking the water, a gorgeous comfortable bed and quality linen. It was my partner's birthday while we were there and Helen went out of her way to make the day special, from decorating his breakfast muffins, to sourcing and serving his favorite foods. Dave looked after us by giving us a tour of the island by boat and acting as our personal water taxi whenever we needed to be dropped anywhere - he was always on the go and made it all very easy for us. Great walks, clear water, sunshine and swimming - bliss. My favorite day started with a pre breakfast swim, followed by Helen serving us breakfast on our balcony, followed by more swimming, reading and sunbathing...and then Helen arriving again with a lunch tray laden with goodies - you know you're on holiday when.... :-)
Helen and Dave were fantastic hosts and great fun to spend time with. Helen goes out of her way to ensure the food treats she presents are healthy and delicious, and as a fellow foodie, I was in heaven. We have already recommended Kawau Lodge to a number of our friends and colleagues and will definitely be back when we need to recharge the batteries. Thank you for a gorgeous stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King room and I would recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kawau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawau Lodge

Address: North Cove, Auckland, Kawau Island 1030, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kawau Island
Price Range: £84 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kawau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace and tranquility only 1 hours drive from Auckland city and a 30 minute boat ride. We can arrange your transfers to our oasis in North Cove. No roads, no cars on our property, 3 tastefully appointed queen rooms two with en-suites and one with own bathroom plus bunk beds. The lodge has magical sea and bush views. Kawau Lodge is self contained, so need to bring your own provisions and linen. We will supply linen for $25 per room, some basic items available i.e. rubbish bags, toilet paper, flour, sugar, tea, coffee. Ideal for a couples retreat or honeymoon or 2-3 couples looking for a getaway weekend or mid week break away from city life. If you have your own boat a mooring can be made available or we can arrange personal transfers. Go kayaking, sailing, bush walking, swimming, fishing, listen to bird song or just sit and relax. Trips around to visit the famous Mansion House estate can also be arranged. $395 per night (min 3 nights) or $1995 per week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kawau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing