We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decadent escape”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A decadent escape”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

There are very few places I would openly promote to others but this is one of them. Our experience at The Beach House was nothing but exceptional. From being personally greeted at the wharf by the managers (and an unexpected appearance by dolphins), to a five star degustation adventure I won't soon forget, and tasteful rooms where you were lulled to sleep by the waves. A unique rejuvinating oasis, set in a lush unspoilt environment, and run by people who know how to spoil their guests. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, General Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Liz,

Thank you for the kind words regarding The Beach House.
Your appreciation of the degustation dinner, service, and surroundings is very welcome.
We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Andrew & Sandra,
Lodge Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
63
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was an awesome Winter getaway and we can't wait to go back in Summer. Andrew and Sandra were great hosts, the food and service was outstanding. Its a great location to either unwind or to be active. We were even lucky enough to have some dolphins in the bay on arrival. I would highly recommend it to anyone and make sure you try the food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RossCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, General Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Ross,

We thought the dolphins in the be would be a nice touch....a special welcome.
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your comments.
It was an absolute pleasure to host you and look forward to your summer visit.

Kind regards,
Andrew & Sandra.
Lodge Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I spent a couple of nights at the Beach House for a family celebration. A luxurious lodge in a very beautiful location, with impeccable service and food to die for - a great relaxing mid-week getaway that I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, General Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Beach House.
It was a pleasure to host your family for the 80th Birthday celebration.
We hope you will come to Kawau Island again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew & Sandra.
Lodge Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Andrew and Sandra are great hosts with outstanding cuisine from the kitchen however the accommodation experience was disappointing. Fabulous setting so the potential to deliver on the promise of luxury remains but with the bathroom in need of repair, the finer details and quality amenities are missing at this point. It seems renovations are to follow. Although not Luxury Lodge prices, the cost seemed inflated given their current offering for a beachfront queen room. Great potential to be very special!

Room Tip: Wait until the beachfront rooms are renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, General Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Margot,

Just to let you know our beach front rooms are being renovated as from Friday 13th June.
We would like to thank Richard and yourself for your constructive feedback on your experience at The Beach House. It was a pleasure to host you.

Kind regards,

Andrew & Sandra
Lodge Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a quick winter weekend away here in May and it was great. Very relaxed, informal and the food was fantastic. We had the place to ourselves and the hosts were perfectly available but discreet, leaving us to feel relaxed and enjoy the place.

I'd love to go back in summer as even in winter we had a beautiful golden beach and the water is crystal clear.

Dinner was a highlight, really very good. The sweet parsnip and vanilla sauce especially. This isnt 'resort food'. The family run team are genuine chefs. Highly recommended and a real foody treat.

The only criticism - no sky in the room when it said it was, but that's a minor - everything else was very good, very relaxed and these guys run a great place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JImmyMc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had enjoyed several amazing lunches at The Beach House before having the opportunity to stay there. When we stayed we were really spoilt both in food and hospitality by the wonderful hosts Andrew and Sandra. Would absolutely recommend, and have since made a booking for some close friends for a special birthday present. Max T

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is an idyllic spot within easy access of Auckland ( one hour drive plus 20 minute boat ride). The lodge is private, immaculate and luxurious. The hosts simply add to the experience with their friendly relaxed style. The food as they told us in Matakana the night before "is to die for"! Breakfasts were our choice, dinner one night a 3 course meal and our second night a degustation of unequal standard.
We could have swum 10 metres from our bedroom in the beautiful sandy beach but chose to wander the island through the native bush exploring and reading our books.
An unforgettable experience. We loved it and plan to return. Thank you Andrew and Sandy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kawau Island
6.6 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
145 reviews
6.9 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
189 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
327 reviews
5.8 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
72 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 1 Vivian bay, Kawau Island 0920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kawau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House on Kawau Island is a unique slice of New Zealand paradise combining the best of the classic Kiwi Bach experience with some laid back luxury. Truly a place apart, positioned on the edge of the golden sands and serene waters of Vivian Bay, under the spreading branches of an ancient Pohutukawa, The Beach House is in perfect harmony with its stunning natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing