We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated resort, under construction” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
Ranked #1 of 3 Bagac B&B and Inns
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overrated resort, under construction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I'm very disappointed. Did not reach half of my expectations.
The batis inspired pool is old. Need to be repainted. The flooring is cemented without tiles since it is batis inspired. But it already lost its color, looks...
The welcome drink is gulaman. It doesn't taste good. A lot of guest left their drinks on the table after drinking a bit. Additional vanilla and sugar please....
They do not have enough staff to accommodate the guest since it is peak season. I understand that 2pm is check in time. Since, we arrive 1pm. We patiently wait for them to clean our room. To our dismay, the 3 additional beds are not yet in the room. We need to request to the housekeeping so many times. They even asked me if I paid this already. Annoying, I paid in full before arrival. I even fill up the check in form days before our arrival. No enough towels...
As per website, they have puto bumbong, bibingka for pm merienda. Staff told us it will open by 1pm but they started cooking only after 4.
We did not get what we paid for. Its not worth the money.....

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank neontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    271
    76
    31
    24
See reviews for
261
68
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Loved our stay in this heritage resort. The ambience is so different & relaxing. Customer service is superb from check-in, hotel room assistance, restaurant service, & check-out. The pool is clean & unique in style. My kids really enjoyed swimming there. What's also fascinating is the guided walking tour of the heritage houses with very competent tour guide. One thing that needs improvement though was the buffet breakfast because of the limited food selection & limited serving. The Filipino/Spanish restaurant serves good food with matching acoustic singers. The beach is nice but a lot of construction going on in the beach area. The theme of the heritage resort is consistent in all aspects. Facilities are well-maintained including the rooms, parks & other attractions. We will surely be back here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LADYMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It wasn't so much about passion for architecture or history. It was more about salvation. My curiosity about Las Casas Filipinas, that is.

Finally, I was at Las Casas. I had read about the place several years back, And while there were critics of the idea of uprooting these houses from their original locations, I was simply glad that there was someone giving them another lease on life. It's no surprise - we are not particularly good at taking care of our heritage.

A little under PHP 700 grants you entrance to the grounds with a guided tour, a cold towel, and a small plastic cup of gulaman. I was eager to be taken back in time, by the sights and stories these houses had to offer. I should have kept that eagerness in check.

The houses that were open to the public (read: not for rent) were interesting, but wouldn't transport you back in time. The houses that were not open to the public were...um... too many. The stories were memorized, but still informative. One house (allegedly) used to have live sex shows and an abortion clinic, after being used by UP Manila. Another one was witness to the murder of a family. What struck me most was how one house lost its glamor to informal settlers who didn't know there was gold leaf in the house and ended up ruining it. Sounds too familiar.

90 minutes was all it took to cover the place. After that, there's not really much left to do. Day trippers can actually use the beach (yes, there is a beach) but not the pool. The restaurants aren't particularly cozy, and there aren't any places (covered or open) to hang around. So you pretty much say to yourself, "Well, I guess that's it. Let's go." Fortunately for us, it was only a 45-minute drive from home. But if you're traveling 3 hours from Manila, it kind of sucks. So make sure you have something else on the itinerary, perhaps, going to the Dambana ng Kagitingan.

There is a fair amount of construction going on, like the convention center for APEC 2015 and the mini-cathedral that is a replica of the one in Balanga, the capital city of Bataan. Personally, I think that just dilutes the concept. Sounds more like Nayong Pilipino.

So, while I'm not exactly raving about the place, I am not entirely disappointed. Maybe I just had something different in mind. I still am confused about the place, though I would still recommend checking it out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ohbigwankenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was a bit worried that the 5-room-Casa Meycauayan might be too small for our large group of 15 people (kids and adults combined) but the rooms were very spacious and the beds large and comfortable enough for our family. Extra beds were provided which in the end were not even used because the kids preferred to sleep together in the wide family beds. We loved the unique concept of this place. It brings a good blend of Filipino hospitality, culinary delight and a taste of nature with the exciting twist of a "travel through time" in such historic setting of old reconstructed hispanic houses. All the staff were very accommodating and pleasant! And then there is the extra flavor of cultural show in the plaza which made my dear mother reminisce old kundiman song. We really had an excellent and memorable stay. Food in the restaurants was yummy and the homemade pinipig ice cream made us all succumb for more and more and more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went here last March 2014 and joined the gang for out brother's pre-nup pictorial.

- Friendly and accommodating staffs
- Lots of cashew products for pasalubong / souvenirs
- Great place for photo shoots
- Bike and golf cart rental available
- The beach has fine sand

Some constructions on going when we went there, will definitely come back once the development is complete. More things to explore, definitely!

Room Tip: Book for a room near the pool area :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korikokok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Las Casas is proof that you shouldn't trust a book by its cover. Though it's a big beautiful place with an old charm, the inner workings of what it means to be a resort is severely lacking.

You'd think that because the place doesn't allow you to bring in food AND because there's no other place to buy food, they'd be hospitable enough to serve reasonably priced food? That's a mistake. Is Las Casas encouraging people to sneak food in, because the P60 bottle of water makes me think I should just drown myself in the pool for a free drink. I mean, for the price they ask you to pay for an overnight stay, you'd assume, like any other resort, they'd give you complimentary bottled water! Aside from expensive, food is really nothing special. What exactly are we paying for? The flies everywhere (even inside the air-conditioned restaurant) maybe!

When we arrived around lunch, we were told we need a reservation for dinner and so we made one for 7PM. When we arrived for dinner, they told us that we hadn't made a reservation. We insisted we did and that it wasn't our fault that the message didn't get to them. They asked us to wait for 30 minutes until a table freed up. Then, awhile later, they had the gall to tell us to wait 15 more minutes!

We decided, maybe we'd buy a drink at some sarisari store out on the street, but we couldn't even get out of the resort without the hassle of a pass to leave. So back we go to the reception only to be rudely accommodated by the staff.

Rooms were incredibly hot, and I know that it's the middle of summer and all but -- expletives won't be enough to explain how much they need to amp up their air-conditioning or at least plant some trees to get the air moving.

Small annoyance was their bicycles for rent too. Those things are a lawsuit waiting to happen. They need to be maintained and checked up on more often.

And the bad service doesn't stop with the paying guests. Driver accommodations need to be addressed too. The accommodations are too hot and the meals are too expensive. Even our driver was left to leave the damned place to look for food.

The next day, when we were about to leave, we noticed one of the cars we brought had lost the logo/emblem on the trunk. "Maybe it just fell off," staff told us. They searched the parking with no luck. Emblems don't just drop off cleanly. Someone probably needed the money to pay for the food.

If Las Casas assumes itself to be a big high-end resort, they need to pull themselves together and get their act straight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Rein88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited this place in December. It is a heritage property and structures (rooms/ cottages) have been reconstructed from old houses/mansions ( from 18th to 20th century).

The overview is fantastic and place is secluded. The sea is blue and you can see white sand, its so clear. Honeymooners will love this place as there are lot of secluded places. For family- avoid kids as no wifi and tv available- so husband wife can spend quality time together.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anandlakhotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagac
11.7 mi away
The Plaza Hotel Balanga City
The Plaza Hotel Balanga City
#1 of 5 in Balanga City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Oriental Bataan
The Oriental Bataan
#1 of 1 in Mariveles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#4 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
19.2 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#4 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
19.3 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#7 of 18 in Olongapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar

Property: Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
Address: | Brgy. Ibaba, Bagac, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Bataan Province > Bagac
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bagac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine showcase of Filipino history and craftsmanship, Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar in Bataan takes you back to 18th-century Philippines in the twinkling of an eye. Architectural pieces of a bygone era, from different parts of the country, were reconstructed brick by brick, plank by plank. The noble-class mansions, wooden stilt houses, and a grand main building made of stone stand proudly in a village of cobblestone streets. To add up to the ambiance, a backdrop of majestic mountains, expansive rice fields, and a running river that flows to the sea, are found in the vast property. Truly a travel destination unlike any other, this resort in Bataan is a living museum of Philippine heritage. The traditional houses as hotel accommodations are the centerpiece of this Bataan beach resort about 125 km northwest of Manila. Even so, this destination resort does not lack in providing avenues for entertainment, relaxation, and recreation. It has the Napiya Spa, a swimming pool, private beach, gaming center, 3 restaurants, conference and banquet facilities, cultural shows, and heritage tours. Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar takes pride in giving you a glimpse of the past, reliving the age-old yet distinctive Filipino traditions, while providing the luxuries and comforts of contemporary times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas Filipinas De Acuzar Hotel Bagac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing