We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location, peaceful setting”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Just returned from a wonderful break at this gem of a place in picturesque rural Suffolk. We stayed in one of the original lodges which was spacious, clean and very well equipped. We enjoyed using the hot tub in all weather! Children had a fantastic time playing outside in the large open space around the lodge, all within view from our deck. The trampolines, football net and swings were an asset. As was the games room, especially on a wet day - a place for children to meet friends. A suggested improvement would be to replace the pool table in the games room as this was looking rather worse for wear. Also adding some climbing plants around the trellis would provide more privacy around the hot tub. The surrounding villages are beautiful and Southwold is approx 30mins drive. Framlingham castle nearby is definately worth a visit. We will definately be back - next time in one of the Elite lodges which are more modern and luxurious.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newer Elite cabins for added luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleybeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    38
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
53
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We went here around year and a half ago but only recently become a member of trip advisor so decided to write a review. We stayed in an elite two lodge which was stunning, we have been in many lodges but this is up with the best. Lodge was spacious and clean and modern. I loved the bathroom it was so relaxing. There is speakers in the ceiling so I could listen to music whilst in the bath. Owners have dogs who loved to come and say hello, hot tub was amazing. we never seen the owners as our letter and keys were left in a building for us to pick up. we were lucky because it was lovely and quiet when we went to stay, were worried because there is a large field near the lodges where children can go and play, not that there is anything wrong with that but when we go we go for the piece and quiet. All in all Athelington hall lodges are lovely well equipped and luxury lodges.

Room Tip: If you can choose an elite 2 lodge, more secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heysham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Thank you so much for an amazing holiday in a great, remote location. We have all had a great time. My personal favourite-the hot tub. I could actually sit and relax without feeling overlooked, while watching the children enjoying themselves. We stayed in an original lodge, which I was unsure of when booking-but all the elite were booked. On arrival I realised there was no need to worry. The hot tub was enclosed with trellis on the patio, accompanied by lots of patio furniture. Inside was amazing. The open plan lounge, dining room and kitchen were perfect for family days and nights. The bedrooms and bathrooms were good sizes...definitely not caravan sized which is what we are used to! An added bonus was the box of games and a bookshelf full of books in the lounge-a lovely touch.

The children too had a wonderful time- it isn't usually easy to please a 13, 11 and 9 year old all at the same time! The large open field is great for running, playing, ball games. The added football net was also well used by us. The trampolines were large and bouncy(girls comments). The games room is well equipped with a snooker/pool table, ping pong table, table football, air hockey table, ps2, computer with intErnet and hifi. The children spent hours using this room when the weather was typically British. The only downside being that not everyone respects other people's things and items provided free were not looked after by some people staying-such a shame.

We also bought bacon,sausage and egg from the farmhouse...amazing. The children had never experience a double yoke...we had lots this break.

A great stay, enjoyed by all. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Had an absolute amazing weekend for my Hen/Leaving do!
Perfect surroundings and Peter was fabulous.
Definitely will be coming back next year!
The sausages that you can get from the farm are the best ive ever had!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just returned from a midweek stay. We stayed in the Elite cabin, it was wonderful.
The cabin is amazing, so clean and the hot tub was wow. My little dogs who are both very fussy adored the walks, so did we. Didn't want to leave. Going back again soon, the Havers family are so helpful and so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. A massive thank you to Shane for fixing our car, he done a fantastic job. What more can I say? we had an amazing time, can't wait to return and even got a mechanic who helped us. All at this wonderful family friendly, beautiful place. See you soon and thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lushMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We enjoyed a short break in one of the Athelington cabins in early March with our 8month-old daughter.This was our first family break away and it was lovely.we knew that it was located in the middle of nowhere so we stocked up on essentials on our way to the cabin.the cabins were clean,spacious and included all that we needed.we were even upgraded to a cabin with hot tub at no extra charge as they hav been upgraded since we booked our stay!
we enjoyed a lovely walk around the countryside and visited the local area,we would definitely return to the cabins again,before we left we had a look around the elite cabins which looked first class!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Had a mid week stay here and loved it. We stayed in a 1 bedroom elite cabin and it was stunning. Very well kitted out and lovely and clean. Hot tub and sauna were just great. Would recommend this to anyone looking to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rchap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horham
5.6 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
438 reviews
6.0 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Weybread Lakes Log Cabin Holidays
13.1 mi away
High Lodge Leisure Ltd
High Lodge Leisure Ltd
#2 of 9 in Saxmundham
126 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lantern & Larks - Sweffling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays

Property: Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays
Address: Athelington Hall Horham Road, Horham IP21 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Horham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Horham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summary: Our Log Cabins are situated within the picturesque grounds of Athelington Hall, a working farm, which dates back to 1620. An impressive moat and acres of open fields surround the 17th-century Hall, complete with a fine avenue of oak trees. Original Log Cabins: We have five 2 bedroom lodges, one double with en-suite shower room, one twin bedroom and a full bathroom. All of which feature a cosy lounge and dining area, as well as a kitchen. All five of our lodges have their own personal hot tub on the patio, perfect for unwinding in the evening, listening to the sweet sound of nature. Elite Log Cabins: We have 4 luxury cabins with 2 bedrooms whilst the other 2 cabins have one bedroom making them perfect for a romantic getaway or even a honeymoon. All have their own private hot tub on the deck. Two of our two-bedroom units also have a sauna. The 1-bedroom units have a four-poster bed with a sauna in the bathroom. These lodges have an open plan living area with modern furnishings. This design combines contemporary decor with functional and fashionable living within rustic surroundings. There is also the facility to purchase fresh farm eggs and bacon on site and various other sundries. Rates : From £179 to £855 per week depending on season. Maximum of 6 people per cabin. Children are welcome. No smoking. Pets are allowed. Wi-Fi/internet access. Off street parking. 4 Star, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays Suffolk/Horham, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing