We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chestnut cabin 22 - 29 August 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chestnut cabin 22 - 29 August 2014”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Wonderfully relaxing weeks holiday! Beautiful cabin with everything you can need. The welcome pack, with tea bags, coffee, sugar and milk is great for when first arriving! When we first arrived, the hot tub was cold, but we were told that it had been cleaned and refilled that morning, and would take a few hours to warm up. Pete did come over and say it had been a bit temperamental, but he'd had a look and thought he'd sorted the problem. Didn't stop us getting in and having a bubble that first night though! And by the following morning it was lovely and hot.

It's a very remote spot, middle of nowhere, and the nearest little local shop is at least 10 mins away by car. We were very glad that we'd arranged a Tesco delivery to come soon after we'd arrived, which was an absolute godsend! Got everything we needed for the week.

There was a huge field for the kids to play on, and my boys enjoyed playing with some other children staying. The trampoline, goal post, slide n swing were also great fun for the kids, as was the games room. There were a few unruly, noisy kids with whistles who seemed to run riot blowing them the first couple of days. Got on our nerves a bit so we went out for the day, rather than complain! Came back and were welcomed back with more whistle blowing... arghhhh!! Thankfully they went the next day! That was the only down part to the entire holiday. The hot tub did start losing heat again so we called Pete who came over and checked it out again, and soon got it working properly.

Cabin is fully equipped with everything you need, all cooking utensils, even a torch, fly killer and swat (which comes in handy!), first aid kit, even some washing up liquid and cloth. Everything is catered for making things as easy and relaxed as possible, and we all had a lovely break.

The wifi was a bit hit n miss. Some days we couldnt' get online at all, other times 10 mins was the limit!

Oh and the bacon, chops, sausages and eggs that we purchased from the farm shop were divine! Can thoroughly recommend!!

Room Tip: They are all great, but for a bit more luxury go for the elite with the four poster beds, sauna and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    38
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
53
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Fantastic cabin- everything you would need - cosy, beautiful decor, immaculate and spotlessly clean. Views stunning and walks through the countryside wonderful. So peaceful. Amiee was brilliant - if needed help she (or Peter) were there on the end of a phone - and nothing was too much trouble. Very lucky with weather - only rained on the day went home! Very high standard. Second year visited and would not hesitate to come back AND recommend to friends and family.

If you are interested in the part the Americans played during the WW2 , visit Horham museum and Thorpe Abbotts Museum - fascinating. Americans outnumbered the villagers by 3000! Ideal for teenagers studying WW2 as part of their curriculum at school. Check opening times as run by volunteers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I don't usually write reviews but I just feel so upset about the level of service we received, I just had to say something. Myself, my husband, two daughters and our two friends had a 4 night stay in chestnut lodge. On arrival was very happy about how clean the lodge was and the service we received when checking in. We specifically asked if the hot tub was cleaned and we were reassured it was. We all used the hot tub on the first and second day. However the hot tub had stopped feeling warm so we contacted the owners as they asked us to if there was a problem. A man came to inspect it and said he would come back tomorrow morning to take a proper look. He never turned up, we telephoned again as the water went murky and he still didn't turn up! So we had two nights with no hot tub when we specifically booked to stay at these lodges for the sole use of a hot tub in the first place. We felt so ripped off and disappointed, as though now they have our money they don't care what kind of holiday you have. The icing on the cake however was waking up on our final day at the lodge with a stinking hot tub outside and with a rash. I went to my g.p when I got home and am now on antibiotics because of a skin infection that I more than likely contracted from using the hot tub! Just to confirm I didn't use the hot tub after it stopped working so it wasn't even clean in the first place! Would never return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cdev14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had a wonderful week at athelington lodge. We stayed in ash - after seeing the photos we were worried but we needn't of been - the lodge was lovely as were the grounds. We visited walberswick beach and harbour twice which is about an half hr drive away along lovely scenic roads. We also visited Wroxham for a boat tour and spent a day in Great Yarmouth.

Had a daily visit from the farm dog meg who was very friendly.

The only negative would be the flies but the owners of the lodges were aware of this problem due to it being harvest time and were doing everything they could to get rid of them!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Spent four days over long weekend, cabins clean and comfortable, well equipped the hot tub and surroundings is great you are able to completely relax and owners very welcoming and loved are daily visit from family dog. Thank you for a lovely relaxing weekend completely recommend for a get away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned following a lovely relaxing weekend break.

We had an Elite2 cabin. It was fitted out with washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, double oven, hob, extractor fan, hot tub, sauna and every bit of kitchen ware you needed. We arranged a Tesco delivery for our weekend supplies and saved ourselves time and effort.

The beds and linen were comfortable and very clean. The bathrooms were spotless, but I agree extra hand towels would have been useful.

Thank you to Amy, who went to the trouble of decorating the cabin with birthday balloons and banners that I had posted to her ready for our arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for the weekend, for my birthday! The location is perfect, peaceful and in the heart of the countryside. The lodge itself is nicely decorated and very clean. A few things that would add to the luxury and would have made my stay even better would be soap/toiletries in the bathroom and a hand towel for each person staying. It would also have been nice to have a dishwasher and was surprised that this was not put in instead of the washer/dryer which we never used. I would also suggest that the kitchen utensils and pots/pans are replaced as they are looking a bit worn and that the fridge door stand is fixed in Cedar lodge. We were looking forward to some farm produce during our stay, however after trying the farmhouse on many occasions we were unable to get any. However we loved the sauna, which nicely cleared up the last dregs of my cold, with the Eucalyptus infusion and the hot tub was very relaxing. Would highly recommend a day out to Framlingham and a meal at the The Crown Hotel and if you don't want to got too far The Ivy House at Stradbroke has amazing home-cooked food. All in all a great weekend and would definitely considered returning.

Room Tip: Elite lodge with hot tub and sauna is great for relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horham
5.6 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
460 reviews
7.9 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Retreat
Oak Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Brome
22 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holly Tree House
Holly Tree House
#1 of 1 in Wingfield
136 reviews
6.4 mi away
Four Horseshoes
Four Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in Thornham Magna
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays

Property: Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays
Address: Athelington Hall Horham Road, Horham IP21 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Horham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Horham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summary: Our Log Cabins are situated within the picturesque grounds of Athelington Hall, a working farm, which dates back to 1620. An impressive moat and acres of open fields surround the 17th-century Hall, complete with a fine avenue of oak trees. Original Log Cabins: We have five 2 bedroom lodges, one double with en-suite shower room, one twin bedroom and a full bathroom. All of which feature a cosy lounge and dining area, as well as a kitchen. All five of our lodges have their own personal hot tub on the patio, perfect for unwinding in the evening, listening to the sweet sound of nature. Elite Log Cabins: We have 4 luxury cabins with 2 bedrooms whilst the other 2 cabins have one bedroom making them perfect for a romantic getaway or even a honeymoon. All have their own private hot tub on the deck. Two of our two-bedroom units also have a sauna. The 1-bedroom units have a four-poster bed with a sauna in the bathroom. These lodges have an open plan living area with modern furnishings. This design combines contemporary decor with functional and fashionable living within rustic surroundings. There is also the facility to purchase fresh farm eggs and bacon on site and various other sundries. Rates : From £179 to £855 per week depending on season. Maximum of 6 people per cabin. Children are welcome. No smoking. Pets are allowed. Wi-Fi/internet access. Off street parking. 4 Star, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays Suffolk/Horham, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing