We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Has to be tried to be believed!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the roof etarrce
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the roof etarrce
The Roof Terrace The roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
View from the roof etarrce
The Roof Terrace
The roof terrace
Stunning sunsets
Casa no Céu, the House in the Sky
The Kitchen
The kitchen breakfast bar
The lounge
The lounge dining area
Double bedroom
Twin bedded room
Stunning scenery
Looking down on a rainbow!!
Hanging baskets in bloom
Walking the mountain range
Walking above the clouds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lousa, Coimbra District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosemary...
Loule, Portugal
1 review
“Has to be tried to be believed!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

If you are looking for a very reasonably priced holiday, this little stone gem has to be seen to be believed!
You have peace and privacy in this comfortable mountain hideaway with beautiful views, forest trails and walks which do start from your front door.
For those who like exploring, there are interesting places to visit. Many historical sites and the charming old city of Coimbra are within easy reach by car.
An evening drink enjoying the stunning view from the roof terrace and Hilary's scrumptious home cooking will complete a perfect day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Warm welcome and comfort at a very reasonable price
Liked least: Having to say goodbye and leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa C
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxation!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

vWe spent a week staying at Casa No Ceu (House in the Sky), I can not recommend this place highly enough! It was our first stay here and found it was a perfect break!! We travelled up the mountain track, so excited to see the view at the top! We reached the house and Hilary and Rue were waiting to welcome us. Hilary made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, a cup of tea and some amazing Lemon Drizzle cake (the best we've ever had!) was jut what we needed after our planes, trains and automobiles trip there. Although I would recommend it as we flew to Lisbon and got the 2 hour train to Coinimbra and get a car from there! The first morning was when I truly grasped the reason for the name of the cottage, I walked onto the Roof Terrace and was awestruck with the surrounding scenery and beautiful clouds, I got some amazing photos!! The fresh bread and homemade jam are perfect for breakfast to be able to site and have breakfast in the kitchen with a super view is truly special. We spent our holiday relaxing, walking from the doorstep of the cottage round the brilliant tracks around the mountains, we visited Coinimbra which is a fantastic day out to a walled town about 45 mins from the cottage by road, we went to Aveiro which is a coastal town and saw the little Venice, an amazing wine Bar, took a boat trip and went onto the peninsula to see the stripy houses and even managed to do a trip to the pottery factory! I took hundreds of photos and will enjoy framing some to enjoy the memories of the lovely place! We made the most of Hilary's treatment extras (which she doesn't push or try to sell which we found really refreshing) we both had a 'Dow-en-towe' (spelt it phonetically!) which was my favourite of a facial and a pressure point massage I was floating on the clouds after it! Highlights...... Hilary, Rue, treatments, and walking from a castle up a steep mountain to find a tiny slate village and have a fabulous coffee overlooking the valley in the sunshine! We felt honoured to have experienced such a beautiful place, wonderful hospitality and relaxation like we have never known..... I cant wait to go back! Just Bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views and cosy cottage!
Liked least: Coming Home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonto443
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise- seeing is believing, an absolute must....”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This is a truly magical place - wonderful, quirky and utterly charming. "The house in the sky" is literally sat above the clouds. The sunsets from the roof terrace are spectacular. A great place to sit with a glass of vino after a day of walking in the hills! These amazing trails start right outside the front door.
Hilary (the owner), is the perfect host. She is always on hand if needed, but never intruded into the peace and tranquilly of my fabulous holiday.
Looking forward to coming back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unbelievable location of the house in the sky
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley An...
Alte, Faro, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountain air, good food, absolute contentment”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Take your walking boots and explore the beautiful mountain scenery. The views are breathtaking and exhilarating, but at the end of the day you can sleep with peace in your heart

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic walks, good food and peace
Liked least: can´t think of anything
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eowyn D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

this place has breathtaking views from the rooftop terrace. In the morning s the clouds come down and surround you like cotton wall and then afterwards a kaliedescope of colour emerges. In the evening you are treated to the most wondrous sunsets.. makes you feel like you are in heaven!

The owner is always on hand to give you advice and help and her welcome pack is full of goodies like homemade jam and bread and all the basics and she even bakes a lemon cake which is absolutley delicious. She has a little dog too who also welcomes you with a very waggy tail!! The surrounding area is also beautiful and lots to do and see. if you are a walker there are walks if you are a painter it is a place to inspire you... I and my mate we loved this place accomodation is warm and comfy a real home from home feel ... Definitely worth the visit and stay and we will be returning again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMBAHURU
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Out of this world- sublime place”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Had a fabulous holiday with friends in an incredible setting. Hilary's attention to detail is second to none. The right balance of helpful advice and information and just being left to chill and relax. save yourself the trouble of cooking and take advantage of home cooked meals, plenty to choose from. Outstanding views from the terrace and a fab setting. Don't be put off by the narrow roads through the villages on approach. We got a nine seater people carrier up there! Great place to walk, cycle. Excellent places to visit nearby, Coimbra for example.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Care given to the guests in a fabulous setting
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$52
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing