We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special hotel in a unique setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lousa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have just come back from Portugal and stayed here for 2 nights. It was a bit tricky to find in Lousa but when we asked a local where to go he simply jumped in the back of our car and took us straight there.
We stayed in the new wing and found the rooms large and very comfortable. The old wing has lovely big rooms where we were able to stretch out. There are some great eating places in Lousa although we had to search them out. Really good Chinese restaurant near the Lidl store when you come into Lousa and our cheapest meal in Portugal in a small place just behind the church.

Room Tip: Go for a new room in the newer wing
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotdogScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments here on tripadvisor. It sure helps us to improve and provide every day a better service to our guests.
Hope you can stay with us next time you travel to Portugal.
Best regards
Manuel Mexia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

I would really have enjoyed our 2 nights here if we had stayed out of the restaurant. The public rooms in the hotel are nice and the bedrooms very clean and well appointed. We had a room in the new block (incredible value!) looking out over the gardens and pool which themselves were well kept and very welcome on a hot day. The location is good - just 25 mins drive from Coimbra and in a friendly and attractive village with several bars and a couple of restaurants. On our first evening we were excited at the prospect of dining in the beautiful old dining room - what a let down! Service was sloppy and I was brought the wrong order. I then sat watching my companions wrestle with their meals which were overcooked and poorly executed. Finally my fish arrived so dry that it was inedible so I sent it back and went hungry. The table next to us also were unhappy with their food. The restaurant manager simply did not know how to handle the situation.
Next night we ate at a local restaurant near the square; El Gato served excellent food (huge portions) at half the price of the Melia. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Take the best price
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments here on tripadvisor. Hope you can stay with us next time you travel to Portugal.
Best regards
Manuel Mexia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We spent two nights in this wonderful hotel.
. A refurbished mansion ,not too distant from Coimbra (about 30 km) .
Certainly Lousa is a small village not too much to offer,but the 20 miles to make in terms of locaton are definetely worth the trip!
We had a junior suite in the new added area. Quiet spacious and well furnished in an elegant modern designed style..
We enjoyed the swimming pool and the reading areas ,all cozy and luxoriuosly furnished.
The restaurant is situated ,according to the season :inside in a wooden anscient medieval roomwith woden case ceiling ( a cassettone) ,outside in an open terrace above the swimming pool.
A perfect location for those who love peace and the sescluded environments hating the turistic branded hotels.
Food & service were superb. Dishes inspired by territorial flavors.
Reception attentive .A specific mention merits the Manager who was very kind and ready to help offering suggestions on itinerary and sites in the northern area.
Last ,but not least he speaks english and italian fluently.
We definetely recommend it to anyone,the quality /price ratio is very good

Giacomo and Elena Cassotti.

PS .Un consiglio speciale per gli italiani: é davvero un gran bel postoe vale la pena farsi i 30 km da Coimbra,utilizzando questo hotel come base per le escursioni nell'area!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2palle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

From the time we checked in, during our stay and checked out. The staff and management were wonderful and very helpful. We stayed in the palace, the room was lovely and clean. The pool was nice and refreshing when the temperature was 37! Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were always on hand if you need anything extra! We had an evening meal in the restaurant, first class chef deserve the Michelin star. We will be back in September.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themanagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

A fine hotel. Difficult access, due to works.
The breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PINHEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This 4* hotel is a renovated Palace in Lousã (Meliá Boutique). The bedrooms are much smaller compared with what you may think when you see the website photos. It also looks as an independent building but it is a House Palace stacked to other houses downtown. The views are fine but not unique as you may think when you see the web site. Product is fine but service attitude is very but from my understanding.

I'm still not sure if they have or not Room Service but I left the hotel with the impression that they said that they do not have Room Service because they were too busy into the restaurant at Easter time. By the way inside of the elevator says they have Room Service and it is also a kind of service you expect in a 4 stars hotel, at least around 21:00 h.(not after 23:00 h).

In this occasion we stayed at the hotel with 2 children (2 and 4 years old). We requested Room Service when we were already in the bedroom with pyjamas and children very hungry (we already had requested Room Service possibility upon c/i without any problem). Later on when I called them to request our dinner they said to us that they do not have this service but after insisting that we were in the bedroom already with pyjamas they finally sent us (exceptionally) 2 soups for children (the unique positive thing that day). With no choice I had to go to the restaurant to order our dinner from the Restaurant Menu and a gentleman informed me that any delivery to the bedroom had a fee service of 7,50 € above menu prices.

I still do not understand why a 4* hotel with a fine restaurant is not capable to offer a telephone suggestion for dinner to be served into the bedroom if needed as it was these case. Do they realise that a hotel is a service company? Are they doing well? M’I wrong? Decide yourself…..

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vallcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The Hotel is really very good but as some improvements it could use.
The view isn't great from all the rooms so be careful with your choice. Some areas needed some work.
The staff is great.
Although the hotel is not excellent the restaurant is. Great service but specially great food. Portuguese food with a twist!
Inadmissible now a days, specially in a 4 star hotel, there was no free internet.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjgcorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lousa
11.7 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
12.4 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,250 reviews
9.0 mi away
HD - Duecitania Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Pousada de Condeixa-Coimbra
Pousada de Condeixa-Coimbra
#1 of 1 in Condeixa-a-Nova
276 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bussaco Palace Hotel
15.0 mi away
Hotel da Montanha
Hotel da Montanha
#1 of 1 in Pedrogao Pequeno
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua Viscondessa do Espinhal, Lousa 3200-257, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Lousa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lousa
Price Range: £51 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first boutique hotel in Portugal The Palácio da Lousã is an emblazoned building of the XVIII century. Formerly Palace of Viscondessa do Espinhal, it is classified as Historical Heritage and considered the country’s first Boutique Hotel. Refurbished into a 4-star hotel, Portugal’s first boutique hotel includes 46 rooms in total (23 in the palace and 23 in the new wing), it blends the charm of an historical setting with the highest level of comfort to all our guests. Palácio da Lousã Boutique Hotel Palace is the ideal place to organize your business meetings, conferences, workshops, weddings and other social events. LOCATION Located in Lousã’s historical center, renowned entry point of the Schist Villages Route, the Hotel offers a warm atmosphere with stunning views of the Lousã Mountains. 26 km from Coimbra, 130 km from Oporto Airport and 210 km from Lisbon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palacio Da Lousa Boutique Hotel Lousa
Melia Hotel Coimbra
Sol Melia Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing