We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lousa
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paradise in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and nights while traveling from Porto to Lisbon and stumbled upon this hotel when preparing our trip. A palacio, a small palace as there are so many in Portugal, set in beautiful surroundings in Lousã, a village near Coimbra in the middel of nowhere.
The hotel is located a the end of a narrowing street and the entrance is easy to miss. We did, but then drove around and came at their parking in the back of the hotel. The hotel is well preserved with an old building and a new wing. We had a beautiful large room in the palacio itself, romantically overlooking the terrace, pool and hills. Maybe because of its location the hotel was not very busy. We had the feeling we had the hotel to ourselves from time to time. Althought there were other guests there was plenty of privacy when sun bathing, as there was enough space in the pool to feel comfortable. Other than reading, enjoying the sun and the hotel's bar service there was not much to do. But what a wonderful waste of time it was in this quiet luxerious surroundings. We had dinner at the roof terras all three nights and were not dispappointed. The staff, kitchen and wines match the rest of the hotel - outstanding, for a modest price.
Definately a place to come back to.

Room Tip: Stay in the Palacio itself. I guess the new part must have the cheaper but more conventional rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerardNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for our comments. We really appreciated to have you with us.
Hope you can visit us again next time in Portugal. Maybe you can have time to discover the wonderful mountain we have. It is perfect for trekking or simply for a car tour.
Thank you and best regards

Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    146
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
90
155
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel. We love the hotel. The hotel is beautiful. The staffs are very helpful and friendly. Although the room is small, it is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is served in not big but elegant room. You can also have breakfast in the terrace outside. It is really peasant with a beautiful view of mountains and village! We had lunch in the hotel too. The food is very good with reasonable price. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalie1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello
Thank you very much for your comments abut our hotel. It sure left us very proud.
Hope you can visit us again on your next trip to Portugal.
Best regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aartselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Very good hotel; nice spacious and modern rooms. Nice view from the breakfast room. Breakfast buffet with a lot of choce. Salon like in an old palace; ideal for relaxing. I enjoyed also the outside swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schrampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We were very glad.
Hope you can visit us again on your next trip to Portugal.
Best Regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is quite a wonderful place to stay. The Lousa Boutique hotel was once a real palace. It is still a beautiful emblazoned building and does have a "palace feeling" to it. The common areas are classy and very comfortable. Staff are extremely polite and helpful. Rooms are spotless, comfortable and tastefully decorated. When having your breakfast, which is well served and of good quality, you find yourself in a charming room with a lovely mountain view. The hotel is situated in the centre of Lousã, a nice little town. It is close to the Lousã mountains, where you can enjoy nature and visit several lovely little villages, including some of the Portugal's "Aldeias do Xisto" ("Schist Villages", which mainly consist of lovely, typical houses built in schist). At the end of the day, if you have the opportunity, do enjoy the hotel bar, which is absolutely perfect for a drink.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spg-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARNSLEY, SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Friendly, polite staff but I felt a bit sorry for the restaurant staff as they were so wrapped up in trying to be ridiculously 'silver service' that unfortunately the service was a bit hit and miss. Stunning building and stunning furniture and decor in the communal rooms. We had a standard room which lacked the palatial feel unfortunately - even so very clean and comfortable. Beautuful gardens and pool area, very peaceful. Definitely a relaxing place.

Room Tip: I think the superior palatial rooms look out onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARASAURUS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Madame
Thank you for your comments here in Trip Advisor about our hotel and restaurant.
We try every day to improve and provide a better service.
Hope you can stay with us again next time.
Best reards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Apart from some troubles on the checkin (the old story: if it's not written, you didn't ask for it...) the stay was amazing. The hotel has a beautiful view and is located in a really calm place, far from any noise.
Also they mixed the 18th century decoration (the original one) with modern decorations (because they had to expand the hotel to a new building) really well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardoopinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your comments.
Hope to have you again with us on a next occasion.
Best regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The Melia Palacio is wonderful: you're surrounded by antique furnitures and you feel like you're in the middle of a movie! The room was nice even if a bit small. The place is in Lousa, I'd say "in the middle of nowhere", so if you want to relax is perfect; if you're planning to visit Coimbra you have to consider about 40 minutes of car trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gghione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed staying with us. Hope you can visit us again on your next trip to Portugal.
Best regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lousa
12.4 mi away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#1 of 21 in Coimbra
1,152 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
13.3 mi away
Pousada de Condeixa-Coimbra
Pousada de Condeixa-Coimbra
#1 of 1 in Condeixa-a-Nova
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
HD - Duecitania Design Hotel
12.4 mi away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
660 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel

Property: Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua Viscondessa do Espinhal, Lousa 3200-257, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Lousa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lousa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first boutique hotel in Portugal The Palácio da Lousã is an emblazoned building of the XVIII century. Formerly Palace of Viscondessa do Espinhal, it is classified as Historical Heritage and considered the country’s first Boutique Hotel. Refurbished into a 4-star hotel, Portugal’s first boutique hotel includes 46 rooms in total (23 in the palace and 23 in the new wing), it blends the charm of an historical setting with the highest level of comfort to all our guests. Palácio da Lousã Boutique Hotel Palace is the ideal place to organize your business meetings, conferences, workshops, weddings and other social events. LOCATION Located in Lousã’s historical center, renowned entry point of the Schist Villages Route, the Hotel offers a warm atmosphere with stunning views of the Lousã Mountains. 26 km from Coimbra, 130 km from Oporto Airport and 210 km from Lisbon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palacio Da Lousa Boutique Hotel Lousa
Melia Hotel Coimbra
Sol Melia Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing