We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, peaceful, well needed break at The White Horse!”

The White Horse at Hitcham
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hitcham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Horse at Hitcham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hitcham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had a lovely break here for our Anniversary, the owners Richard and Ann were most accommodating even when we had to change our dates. Everything was very clean, the food was lovely and plentiful, and the hosts were very welcoming. Even though it was quiet, to us it was the perfect break. Thank you both very much....we will be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for The White Horse at Hitcham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a great find. My wife and I wanted to see Lavenham and explore Suffolk. We stayed four nights but only wish it could have been longer. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and the hosts Ann and Richard were very friendly and obliging. We decided to have dinner in the pub every night and it was excellent. Great choice and all cooked to order by Richard. It really was excellent value for money so if you are visiting Suffolk book it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for a short break while visiting Suffolk. Both Richard and Ann the proprietor and his wife were most helpful and friendly.
The accommodation was well appointed with all you could need for a short break.
The meals that are served in the pub,and cooked by chef Richard are to a high standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the White Horse in order to attend a friend's wedding. We enjoyed 2 nights stay in spotless, comfortable rooms, ate delicious local food and enjoyed the company of Richard & Anne (& Toby). Our hosts could not have been more helpful to us in organising and chasing up taxis - and even lending us cash when we discovered that the cash point was several miles away. All in all a truly excellent place to stay and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann L, Owner at The White Horse at Hitcham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Many thanks for your review. We do appreciate feedback from our guests especially when they have enjoyed their stay with us. We in turn enjoyed your company and hope you will be back to see us again soon. Kind regards. Richard and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

stayed overnight and was welcomed with a friendly " you found us then " but it was well worth the search.Three converted stables at the back of the main building, modern and spotless
A real old fashioned tasty english breakfast with a good choice of other meals
The staff were friendly and "chatty"
Could not find a fault worth mentioning,so take it as faultless

Room Tip: all in good positions
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grackle1234, Owner at The White Horse at Hitcham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear John

Many thanks for your review. Glad you liked the breakfast and the accommodation. We do try our best to make people feel welcome. Hope to see you again soon. With best wishes from Ann and Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

At first we had difficulty finding accomodation in the area for our weekend tour of Suffolk, then we found this little gem in the beautiful countryside. The rooms were excellent, clean and all that we needed. The food was really good and well priced and was washed down with very tasty beer. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast in the morning was hearty and set us up for the day.
Lavenham is a must see in the area and there are some nice walks from the pub.
We felt quite at home in this lovely pub and would not hesitate to stay again. Thankyou.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank john_hockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Thank you so much for looking after us both so well... Even finding the cheapest taxi fare to the wedding we were attending. The food was amazing and such a warm welcome x Great rooms, everything we needed and brilliant night sleep x Would I recommend this lovely place to my friends and family...????? YES, YES, YES x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grackle1234, Owner at The White Horse at Hitcham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Helen,
It was a pleasure to have you and your friend stay with us. I'm pleased you had a good time and would like to wish you all the best. Let's hope you come and see us again soon. Many thanks for your wonderful comments. Kind regards. Richard and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The White Horse at Hitcham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse at Hitcham

Address: The Street, Hitcham, Babergh District IP7 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hitcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hitcham
Price Range: £37 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is a 4* Guest Inn and is situated in the peaceful Suffolk countryside perfect for a relaxing break. Our detached accommodation is situated on the site of the original stabling. We have one single, one double and one twin bedroom each with en suite facilities. All rooms have TV's, radios, tea-making facilities and hair dryers and are furnished to a high standard. An iron, use of the phone, a cot and high chair are also available. Two rooms have an adjoining door for family use. Free wi-fi is available in the main pub. The Inn is a freehouse and stocks real ales from local breweries. The White Horse Inn is an ideal base for exploring East Anglia. We are within easy reach of the historical towns of Lavenham, Long Melford and Bury St. Edmunds, close to Newmarket racecourses and Constable County. The unspoilt seaside towns of Aldeburgh, Dunwich and Southwold are well worth a visit. Walks round the surrounding fields are also available to anyone who wishes to enjoy the countryside, together with cycling round the quiet lanes. Hitcham is approximately 7 miles from Stowmarket station with trains direct to London (4 stops), Peterborough, Cambridge, Ipswich and Norwich. We offer a SHORT BREAK PACKAGE(breakfast and evening meal)from January to March 2015 (excluding Valentine's). The cost for this is £150 for 2 people sharing a twin or a double room for 2 nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Horse At Hitcham Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing