We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchor Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just wanted to say what a great few days we had at Greenwell Point and The Anchor Bay Hotel. Great location, nothing too much trouble for the owners who also knew the area very well and could help you with interesting places to visit.
Good beaches nearby, You can hire a 'tinnie' and get out on the water and get closer to the fantastic bird life....go inland and see some fantastic views....and then come back in the evening and enjoy a few beers or a bottle of wine on your verandah outside your room.
Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Dragonsfan,
Thank you for your marvellous review. You summed up the Anchor Bay Motel, Greenwell Point and the Shoalhaven perfectly. It is the sort of place where you can easily get up close and personal with nature and the wildlife. It is all at our doorstep, sometimes literally. Last week we had a kookaburra who visited the motel every day (encouraged by little morsels of mince!) and after a while we were actually able to touch him. Amazing. We loved your photos. You must have been up early to catch the sunrise across the water. If there is a next time, we do hope you will be able to stay with us longer.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    84
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
176
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Nicely tucked away from the rat-race in town. Location was great. I stayed in a room on the first-floor and had a nice view of the water. Stayed here for a week when I was working in Shoalhaven Hospital. There was free wifi but they were having some technical difficulties at that time so it wasn't working properly as the connection kept dropping out.

As a coffee fanatic I loved the plunger coffee they provided.

A great place to kick back and relax for holiday-goers. For me, it was nice to wind-down after a hard slog at work. You can go for a quick run along the bay too or take a dip in the pool. The fish-n-chip shop nearby did not disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jee_Yg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Jee_Yg,
Thank you for your kind words about our motel. You stayed with us in January, our peak season, and yet Greenwell Point was still quiet and tranquil. It is a wonderful place to "kick back and relax" as you say.
You mentioned the free wifi and difficulties in staying connected. The connection is perfect in the Standard and Deluxe rooms but has proved a challenge in the Waterfront rooms where you stayed. We have just installed new equipment (May 4, 2013) and are hoping this solves the problem.
We hope you will stay with us again next time you are working at the hospital.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We travelled the Pacific Highway from Sydney to Melbourne and onto the Great Ocean Road in Feb/Mar-13. Our first overnight was the Anchor Bay Motel and it turned out to be such a treat. Comfortable, clean, peaceful and a wonderful view.
Greenwell Point is a quiet picture book coastal village and a late afternoon walk around the bay with sea birds in abundance is sheer delight.
Now add to that the Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant next door and experience the best oysters we have ever tasted. Praise indeed!
Many a guide suggested we should stopover at Jervis Bay. Forget it; we visited next day. Greenwell Point is a delightful experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with a view Check which night(s) the Pelican Rocks Restaurant closes bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Nomadtravellers,
Thank you for your fabulous review. You sum up Greenwell Point very well - a picture book coastal village indeed. The walk along the foreshore is very special and the bird life amazing. Look across the bay and sometimes you see dolphins and seals; look into the waters and you will see masses of fish and stingrays. It is a delight. You enjoyed the meal at Pelican Rocks Restaurant next door. It is an excellent restaurant. Through summer it is generally open Wednesday to Saturday evenings, in winter it is usually open just Friday and Saturday evenings. It is good advice to check if the restaurant is open and we can do that for guests.
Thank you again for your lovely review. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Australia.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Right from our arrival at the reception, we were given a warm welcome by the lady. She was really friendly and gave us several suggestions on the places to visit around the area. With the positive reviews on tripadvisor, our expectations were certainly high. And we were certainly not disappointed with the room.

The room was well-kept and clean. The beds were comfortable and had nice, homely looking sheets. It was well equipped with a microwave oven and toaster. More importantly, for the well-connected travellers, the room comes with free (and fast) wifi! Overall, the room was cosy and very comfortable. Anchor Bay motel is definitely of great value. If you’re around the area, you’ll not go wrong staying here for the night!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Justin S,
Thank you for your "Grand" review. We are so happy we lived up to expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. You mention the FREE wifi. We have invested considerable funds in the wifi system and believe we have finally got it right. And it is FREE to all our guests. We appreciate that our guests, particularly those from overseas, want to stay connected while they are travelling - talking on skype, checking emails and searching for that next lovely spot in which to stay. The wifi is generally very fast and effective and it is now working in all our rooms.
We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithuania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

It was just what we expected from recommendation - owners are very friendly and helpful, rooms and terrace simple and nice, barbeque place just as perfect. Juts one important thing - people here go to slep really early, at 9 pm, so you have to keep quiet :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmorFati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear AmorFati,
Thank you for your very kind review. We are happy the motel lived up to expectations. You make an important point: The restaurants take last orders about 8pm and most are closed by 9pm. This is important for international travellers who are used to dining later in the evening. Our guests do tend to retire early as you remarked. You made excellent use of the barbecue area which is away from the motel rooms, so were able to party there for a while without disturbing anyone.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Australia.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We regularly visit, from the UK, our children and grandchildren in Sydney and have travelled quite a bit in Australia. We stayed in the cottage belonging to the Anchor Bay Motel. It was clean, peaceful and very spacious. Jenni and Gary were very helpful and keep the motel and cottage looking perfect. We couldn't have found a better place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Margaret A,
Thank you for your lovely review. We love the Anchor Bay Cottage (as noted in previous responses to reviews!) and are absolutely delighted when our guests appreciate it and enjoy it as you did. We do work hard to keep the motel and cottage looking spic and span. We live in such a beautiful part of the world and only seek to enhance the ambience of the area. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps you will return next time you visit from Britain?
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

we were staying in rooms 5&6 which were up about 10 steps (theres a ramp too) and convinently located to the little cra park they ahve and the reception. Wi-fi was avaliable thoughout the grounds of the hotel (better on some days than others). Staff were so helpful and friendly and very informative of the local area and best things to see and do etc.

We had pizza for dinner and lunch the following day from the local "pub" or club on the main stree ( I think it was called the green point hotel) and the pizza was fab and good value. They also did fish and chips which we took back to the hotel and this was yummy. DJ's fish and chips was meant to be good but was closedo ver most of the easter weekend when we were there.

The rooms were lovely and had basic sefl catering with a a plate and bowel each, cutlery and a microwave and kettle. No sink in the "kitchen" but a bowel to use in the bathroom and all cleabing stuff provided. A small outside seating area out of the room on the balcony was nice to sit on for breakfast and dinner and theres a bbq avaliable too.

Greenpoint well is most certainly worth a visit ans is a great location just a few hours outside of Sydney and in the Shoal haven area. We had the oppourtunity to see so much of the area in just four days.

Greenwell Point it's self provided us with the relaxing element of the holiday Sydney couldn't give us. Its got a small beach, great for fishing and walking around, bbqs on the beach/park area, boat trips (organised through the Anglers Rest hotel around the corner).

There is a Coals and Woolworths in Greenpoint, stock up here for picnic supplies for trips out as the few places to eat we found that weren't fast food were pricey.

From Greenpoint we visited Pebbly Beach (1hr 30 mins ish away) which was excellent. You can see Kangaroos in the wild (they came out about 4pm when it was cooler) Koockaburras, Monito Lizard (big but not harmful) lots of various birds and sea life in the rock pools (even and octopus hiding) This beach is just beautful with is wildlife and its back drop is amazing green tall trees and bush land and the Murramarang National Park

We went to Hyams beach, the whitest sand in the area and enjoyed a ncie lunch in the local cafe here. the sea was so blue and amazing. not a surfing beach but great for swimming.

We also visited Jervis Bay and the Huskinsson Town which hosts the local boat trips.

The drive too and from Greenwell Points provides some great sights inc Kiama (greaat Pacific Highway) and back past Fitzroy Falls and the Royal National Park. The folks at the Anchor Bay hotel gave us a great route back to sydney with lots of stops.

Great place for family, couples, with amazing beachs

Room Tip: get the best rooms avaliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chs_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear chs_wales,
Wow! What a comprehensive, wonderful review. Thank you. What can we add? We are just delighted you had such a marvellous time and explored the region so thoroughly. It truly is a natural paradise with many areas still relatively undiscovered. You mentioned the wildlife at Pebbly Beach. It is a unique spot off the beaten track; the South Coast of NSW is full of such amazing places. Perhaps you will visit us again. We hope so.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwell Point
11.7 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 9 in Nowra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
13.1 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
9.8 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
7.6 mi away
Marriott Park Motel
Marriott Park Motel
#2 of 9 in Nowra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Bay Motel

Property: Anchor Bay Motel
Address: 113 Greenwell Point Rd | Entry via Wilkins Street, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Greenwell Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Bay Motel is an award winning 12 room motel overlooking the river 10 minutes east of Nowra on the NSW South Coast in Australia. It provides quality and affordable accommodation in the scenic fishing viallage of Greenwell Point. The motel is centrally located in the Shoalhaven area so you can explore all the great areas on offer. 10 minutes to beaches, 15 minutes to the northern side of Jervis Bay, 30 minutes to Huskisson or Berry, 40 minutes to Hyams Beach and Kangaroo Valley. In Greenwell Point, enjoy the fresh seafood at the cafe / restaurants some of the best oysters available - direct from the farmer. We have Standard, Deluxe and Suites available - something to suit every budget, and for those rooms that don't enjoy water views, the river is only a short walk away. All rooms have an ensuite, kitchenettes, and queen size beds. So come and enjoy a quiet and relaxing stay at the Anchor Bay Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Anchor Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing