We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice relaxing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Medusa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medusa Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Certificate of Excellence
glyfada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice relaxing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

The place is very nice and very very close to the beach. There is a very nice garden and an excellent restaurant. You may not have to choose from a wide menu list but everythig is cooked like it came out from your own kitchen. The deluxe room where we stay i can not say that it was something special
(it could have being better for example the furniture, the lighting in the bathroom which was very low/dark) but there was a lot of space and veranda had very nice view.
As most of the previous viewers noticing Mariangela and the staff (Endy, Simeon, Loreta, the girl in the bar) are make the big difference related to other hotels / rooms in greece. All of the them are very polite and willing to do the best they can do to help you.
It was a very nice stay.... I do not know if we try it again but if you like Naxos and Plaka, it is defently recommended.

Room Tip: your need a car if you want to go to plaka where the restaurants are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ioannis_mania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    46
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
134
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I was in charge of booking honeymoon for a well traveled bride and have always wanted to go to greece. I wanted a relaxing 4 days in greece before moving on to other islands. This was the place to leave your cares behind and enjoy life. The room was very clean, good views of beach, and good sized for 2 people(ie honeymooners). Went to the private beach every day and had drinks at beach bar(like 10 feet away from beach). The staff did everything for me that i could possibly have asked including booking boat trip to mykenos/delos and having tickets dropped off at hotel, the day before. The dinners were great and every staff member knew your name and was happy to see you. I will definately remember my time there and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

From the moment you arrive you will feel like you are in paradise. Mariangela Karlovitch and her family own this charming resort and will make sure your vacation exceeds expectation. Everything about the resort shows the Karlovitch's eye for detail and hospitality. From the statue of medusa to the manicured gardens everything is lovely. The restaurant set amongst the elegant garden is outstanding. Many of the vegetables served are grown in their garden. The beach is picture perfect and ideal for taking long walks. The executive suite is spacious and decorated with unusual and beautiful items collected by the family. The private hot tub on the roof makes this over the top. I can hardly wait to return. It is paradise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very nice place to stay with excellent location and very kind personnel. We are looking to came back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana121979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We spent 6 nights at the Medusa Resort on Plaka Beach this summer, as we were travelling through the Cyclades. Like many of the other reviews, we found Mariangela and the staff at the restaurant to be very friendly and they would go out of their way to do whatever was needed to make it a wonderful stay for us. The resort is very quiet and the beach right on your doorstep. We have the most amazing sunset photos form the beach, while sipping cocktails - yes a very hard life! Getting in and out of town can be a problem. There were 5 of us travelling together and a trip up into the mountains for the day in 2 taxis ended up being VERY expensive, but cheaper than other options. The rooms were much smaller than they seemed over the internet, although very clean and well maintained. You could hardly turn around in our bathroom!
All in all, we did have a great stay on Naxos and at the Medusa Resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in a wonderful Junior Suite at the Medusa Resort & Suites for our honeymoon in June of this year. The location could not have been better! The hotel is in a secluded part of the island down an old road that winds its way through raised potato fields. At the end of the road are Plaka Beach and the Medusa Resort. We were greeted the moment we arrived and ushered into the lobby where Mariangela offered us refreshments before taking us on a quick tour around the palm garden and out to the beach. The sand here is so clean and soft it is just amazing and is a perfect backdrop for a honeymoon. The beach bar is great and the menu top notch (try the Naxian Sausage). If the beach is too windy there is always the salt pool, which is protected from the wind within the palm garden. We had breakfast every morning in the garden and loved it. The experience came with entertainment provided by the many cats that call Medusa home (they are all very friendly, more so when you feed them).

Our room was very nice with a king sized bed, ample lounging space, and a massive bath room. The shower in there was great. While the décor was simple we didn’t mind as we spent most of our time at the beach. If I were to do it again I might upgrade to the honeymoon suite or a suite located on the second floor as it would have a direct view of the beach and sunset. Regardless we were very excited and pleased with the room.

The staff were the best, I can't emphasize that enough! The service and food at all the meals was wonderful and personable. Everyone working there was genuinely happy and made the effort to get to know you (Eddie and Anja you’re the best!). Mariangela’s help in hiring a car, booking concert tickets, and giving us day trip ideas was invaluable; true insider knowledge. Thank you making our honeymoon on Naxos extraordinary!

We highly recommend the Medusa Resort and Suites!

Happy travels!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonetothebeach32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

we stayed for 6 days in August 2011 and we really enjoyed it !
the people are very helpfull and take care all our requests , the rooms are well equiped , the garden is fantastic but the most important for us is that the sea is just in front !! we could go for swiming very early in the morning just out of bed and then have a breakfast !
we will come back next year !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaka
2.9 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel
Plaza Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Plaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.8 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
4.0 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#3 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aegean Land
Aegean Land
#2 of 7 in Plaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Resort

Property: Medusa Resort
Address: Plaka Beach, Plaka 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Medusa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medusa Resort is 12klm away from the centre of Naxos, Chora, and is situated at the beautiful 7klm long, beach of Plaka. Medusa Resort consists of 14 standard double rooms, 2 deluxe double rooms, 1 maisonette, 1 family suite, 1 junior suite and 2 executive suites. Each room is just steps away from the beach and has a panoramic view of the resort's tropical garden and the blue and turquoise sea. Guests will experience magnificent sunsets from their balconies and verandas. The Resort also offers an a la carte restaurant, a seawater swimming pool and a beach/pool bar among other facilities, such as laundry service. Doctor on call. Wake up call services. Newspaper of choice delivered upon request, shuttle bus service (from the port or airport to the hotel and vice versa), outdoor parking, Room service, BBQ nights, sun beds, umbrellas and beach towels, our friendly service combined with the unique location, are the major elements, which contributes to the absolute satisfaction and relaxation of each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medusa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Plaka
Medusa Hotel Naxos City
Medusa Resort Naxos, Greece - Plaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing