We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet night but food order still not up to scratch”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
White Hart Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very quiet night but food order still not up to scratch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We went to this very pretty pub having booked for a large ish party of 8(2 families). Very quiet but no problem as we were in lovely part f the barn. Specials board brought, 3 of us ordered from it only to be told about ten minutes later that a special wasn't available. Why? Nobody else was in there so they hadn't run out of an item...waitress couldn't explain was just passing message on. The food was a long time coming. Fish cakes burned, sausages and mash also burned and dried out from being kept warm perhaps. We had asked waitress if food was coming so it was a disappointment to say the least. It was eaten because we were starving. we had come in at 8 and eaten after 9. Nobody asked if food was ok despite several staff and attempt to raise shortcomings when settling bill was met defensively which was a pity. It's a pretty pub, had heard good things but we had a poor evening. Wouldn't risk again for an evening out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best food around sussex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I travel alot and came across this pub by accident in the evening. Best food we have had for a very long time in a pub in sussex. Service, Staff, food, we could not fault any of it. Well done xx

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buttons444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely venue and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We've eaten here a number of times over the years and have always had great meals.

The barn is a lovely place to eat in with just the right amount of history and authenticity. Some places might go overboard with the decor but not here.

Most often we'll visit as a couple and just treat it as a pub visit with a very nice restaurant. On two occasions we've gone with friends and family and it's been very quiet, which is a little disconcerting. We don't mind having a place to ourselves but others might be a bit off.

However everyone has enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My honest and fair opinion”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Restaurant deserted on Tuesday evening 31st July 2012. Ordered Trout from main menu.....got salmon instead. Our waitress was very sweet and she too thought it was salmon, so she went to check. She was told by the chef that he had ' no salmon in, it was definately trout "............ Salmon was on the Specials menu!!! Not happy; we had guests; save the evening; I paid the bill and made it known that I would not be back...and I won't. Complete amateurs! I don't like being hoodwinked!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Much improved Pub/Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Visited the White Hart Inn with friends on Thursday 12th July 2012. Had been here some years ago and walked out because of bad manners and bad service by the staff. I went with friends this time very open minded.

I believe it is now under different management and I would definitely recommend a visit. The Food was well presented, hot and well priced. The staff were extremely welcoming and pleasant. Would definitely return here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank furnacegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hart Inn also viewed

West Hoathly, West Sussex
West Hoathly, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing