We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Roebuck Hotel(Forest Row)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brambletye Hotel(Forest Row)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
626
83
21
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
83
21
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden tourmichelin startaster menuwalled gardennespresso machinebirthday lunchstunning gardenscountry housepre lunch drinkslovely lunchcoffee and petit fourspublic roomsbeautiful roomsussex countrysidehead gardenerfour poster bedamuse bouche
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a country house hotel and restaurant which we visited on a pleasant day. The setting is lovely and we enjoyed a walk in the gardens. Lunch was in an excellent dining room and we were served by attentive staff. The food was mediocre and should have been hotter. There was a set menu with four choices of main course and also an al la carte menu. We had the former which at £35 per person plus service charge of 12 1/2% was high for what we had. There was an extensive but expensive wine list and a small glass of wine averaged £10.
This is an attractive place to visit and probably for an occasion rather than Sunday lunch. . However it has great potential but generally seems to cater for people who have little regard for the value of money.

Room Tip: Did not stay, we had food only
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

It is always interesting to hear people’s views and how diverse they. For everyone that loves you and thinks the food is amazing and great value there will always be the reverse. I am sorry Gravetye didn’t work for you for Sunday lunch, perhaps our a la carte menu would be more to your liking? Sunday lunch remains quite traditional by request. Thank you for your comments. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have never left a review before today but having just returned from the Valentine Day event at the hotel we felt compelled to do so. From the moment we arrived in the wind and rain we were greeted by the staff holding umbrellas to accompany us and our luggage to the reception; the staff were excellent throughout the stay, they were polite attentive and friendly.The lounge had a large welcoming log fire where we enjoyed scones and afternoon tea. We were greeted by the Managing Director who was anxious to welcome us to his hotel in a most friendly way. Our room (Chestnut) was large, comfortable and well appointed.The seven course 'taster' menu was excellent and when it was brought to their attention that my wife would not eat some of the courses they changed them to suit her and re-printed the menu in line with the courses. The hotel is superb and cannot be faulted in any way. We look forward to staying there again in the near future.

Room Tip: Chestnut was first class but they are all of very high standard
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Valentine’s day is always popular at Gravetye Manor, such a pity the weather was so beastly! However, as you say, once inside the cosy feel takes over. I am pleased you enjoyed the evening and thank you for your comments. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband treated me to a wonderful lunch on a very windy and rainy Friday. The welcome we received was second to nine. Not only were staff waiting for us with umbrellas to escort us from our car to the front entrance but our coats were quickly taken and we were shown to a lovely warm lounge area with log fire and two glasses of champagne. Food was fabulous. Interesting well balanced menu and good wine list. We were not rushed. Want to go back to explore the beautiful gardens. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your review from lunch. You must return in Spring when the tulips are out, it looks stunning! Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have come back to this place more than once and it only keeps getting better. Usually the Whatley Manor's charm would whisk us away to the English countryside but the service and staff and unusually wild surroundings of the Gravetye mean this is fast becoming the new favourite. Ask for Kyle, the new affable resident manager.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ahmed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. I am very pleased that Kyle made you welcome, he has only been with me a couple of weeks and is already making an impression. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I am constantly amused by so-called trendy terminology, such as "designer" hotel. Surprise, surprise, all hotels are designed by someone and like everything else some are good and some are bad. From my experience that particular label can often mean some would-be "expert" has created a hash up of styles resulting in a bizarre mess. Not so with Gravetye Manor which is a model of good taste and classic British understatement. I have been a regular diner here over the past 20 years and it never fails to deliver. Having travelled extensively over the world and I can say that this hotel measures up well with many of the very best unless of course your taste runs to gimmickry and O.T.T. design. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your interesting review. I often like to call Gravetye ‘the real thing’ in the country house hotel market. Yes we have had a refurbishment but it still looks like a quintessential English Manor House. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews