We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great weekend including Glynebourne Opera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another great weekend including Glynebourne Opera”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I know I keep going on about Gravetye, this is my 5th trip there in two years. Sitting in the heavenly gardens having breakfast is unsurpassable and the garden lunch menu and dinner are wonderful. The service is so friendly and they could not be more accommodating. Can't wait to go back in August. The opera house is only 35 minutes away

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sloop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
The Glyndebourne season and Gravetye seem to go hand in hand. We have for a long time had a close tie with the opera house, although 40 minutes away many opera goers choose us as their preferred hotel. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    75
    18
    18
    4
See reviews for
88
393
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Gravetye is one of our favourite places ever. Living in Sussex, we often visit simply for dinner and to marvel at the beautiful gardens. Last night we stayed which we really should do more often...absolutely every aspect of our stay was perfect from arrival to departure. As all members of the staff are wonderful, it feels unfair to single out any one in particular but I feel I must mention the lovely receptionist (whose name I forget, sorry), Andrew (the very welcoming Managing Director), Mike in the restaurant and bar (perfectly attentive and utterly charming) and Sean, the marvellous sommelier who is so,so knowledgeable and passionate about his choices which truly enhanced our tasting menu. And the food! My word, it is quite simply the best in Sussex with the vast majority of the fruit and vegetables coming from the beautiful walled garden.
There is something unique about Gravetye and I think it is in essence the kindness of the staff. They have mastered the art of providing superlative service without being obsequious and being friendly without being overly so, and I think that is a balance many hotels fail to achieve. Add to that the stunning gardens, beautiful decor, gorgeous flowers and the scrumptious food and there isn't really anywhere to compare. Thank you.
PS I awarded 5 stars for everything except value; Gravetye is expensive and it's worth it; value isn't really the point. We should have joined their club (oversight on our part) and then I could have awarded 5 for that as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jano21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As you have experienced, Gravetye is a very special hotel and all of us love what we do and are very proud to be part of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This incredibly charming country estate is a gardener's dream. Set among rolling hills and amidst of many acres of phenomenal gardens, the manor itself is warm, beautiful, and rich in English hospitality. The variety of wild gardens, walled gardens, and manicured gardens begs you to take hours to explore. Be prepared for isolation as there is no where else around to explore. You need a car as the sites nearby are at least 30-60 minutes travel.

The service is impeccable. The amenities abundant. The Manor has that lovely fireplace scent In public areas. The bar features a painting by Winston Churchill to go along with a great selection of scotch.

The food is creative, and well presented.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Our head gardener Tom Coward will be thrilled by your comments. We feel we are a little oasis however I do beg to differ, for garden lovers there are many superb gardens on our doorstep; Wakehurst Place, Borde Hill, High Beeches, Nymans to name a few, do ask if you don’t have a car, we have good local taxis or I am very happy to take you in the Landrover. Standen is a lovely arts and crafts manor house and within a walk, Wakehurst is also walkable. Next time you stay we would be more than happy to suggest some local treats. Thank you so much for your review. Kind regards Andrew Thomason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I were enchanted by this manor home surrounded by beautiful gardens . The staff was efficient, courteous and friendly. Breakfast was outstanding. Unfortunately we did not have the time for a lengthy visit.
We always enjoy our stays in old English five star Manor hotels and we rated Gravetye Manor as one of the best. We will be back next year, spending more time there and exploring the area further.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muttilein1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much! Next time please book to stay a little longer. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I absolutely love this hotel. From the moment you arrive up the sweeping driveway you realise you are ion for a treat. Doorman come straight to the car to open your door and take your bags. A quick and efficient check in and you are shown to your room. Ours was gorgeous, large, light and airy. Traditional looking but not to stuffy and the bathroom was to die for. Great power shower with plenty of hot water. We were dining in the private dining room as it was a leaving do we were attending. Food and service was excellent. The grounds are very relaxing and inspiring if you are a keen gardner. This place would be good to visit in winter due to its cosy lounge with open fires, very romantic. Gravetye Hotel is not cheap, but you do get what you pay for. I've stayed in many hotels however this is definitely in my top three.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baahumbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are honoured to be in your top three! Look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went in February and it was dreary outside but the hospitality at this hotel was lovely. We stayed in the deluxe room which had a beautiful view of the garden. Despite being above the bar we were very comfortable and heard very little noise. This hotel feels more like a home than a hotel.

We were a little disappointed at dinner not to be in the main restaurant however we were still very well looked after. My partner organised a massage in the room that the hotel arranged for us and they also told us how to walk to the nearest village across the fields which really made for a lovely stroll and country feel to the weekend.

I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review from your stay in February. Now May and the gardens are already in the first flush of summer, time for that return visit? Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel and restaurant are purely first class from the professional welcome our room was wonderful with small stone window surround almost like staying in castle. After a relaxing afternoon we got ready for dinner as you come down the grand staircase you are greeted on both sides by the staff and taken to the bar area then to the lovely oldie world restaurant sumptuous food and excellent wine this is a place to enjoy as a special treat it ticks all our boxes

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Petertc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We do feel truly blessed with our location, a one mile drive gets you well away from the lane and far enough from civilisation to feel you have escaped. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
7.4 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant West Hoathly, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing