We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly hotel and grounds. Shame about the chef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely hotel, superb grounds, magical breakfasts outside, and and well worth staying for these alone. Excellent service, bar nobody there to help with carrying cases on arrival (but probably a brief aberration). Nice touches like proper coffee with fresh milk in the room for that all important kick start in the morning. Wonderfully quiet - lobby off room to exclude all sounds from other guests. Would have liked a slightly better quality mattress which was only marginally disguised by a rather thin mattress pad (and as always I had to use my own down pillow - but that's pretty normal).

The big disappointment was the food - an evening meal which was an astonishing mass of blubber! Firstly I was given veal as a replacement for the item chosen which was no longer available - this turned out to be 95% congealed veal fat. The second item was neck of lamb, which is inherently fatty. This would have been just fine had it been balanced by something astringent to balance out the fat, but two tiny bits of buttery asparagus did not do this. The meat's flavour was quite bitter under the disguising fatty sauce, but could have again been balanced and better disguised by a sauce created by a chef with some imagination and at least some sort of palate. The lump of meat was as huge as the veg were sparse, presumably an attempt to make us feel better about paying handsomely for what tasted like pub food. I'd really recommend a stay, but would also recommend eating out in the evening, unless I was just unlucky that night.

Room Tip: We had the Chestnut room with the wonderful sounds of birds singing and sights of others collecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Mrs Oliphant, thank you for sharing your experience at Gravetye Manor. I am extremely disappointed that your meal was unacceptable, if we had known we could have made an apology and compensation on the bill. I will personally write to you about this. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I know I keep going on about Gravetye, this is my 5th trip there in two years. Sitting in the heavenly gardens having breakfast is unsurpassable and the garden lunch menu and dinner are wonderful. The service is so friendly and they could not be more accommodating. Can't wait to go back in August. The opera house is only 35 minutes away

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sloop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

The Glyndebourne season and Gravetye seem to go hand in hand. We have for a long time had a close tie with the opera house, although 40 minutes away many opera goers choose us as their preferred hotel. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Gravetye is one of our favourite places ever. Living in Sussex, we often visit simply for dinner and to marvel at the beautiful gardens. Last night we stayed which we really should do more often...absolutely every aspect of our stay was perfect from arrival to departure. As all members of the staff are wonderful, it feels unfair to single out any one in particular but I feel I must mention the lovely receptionist (whose name I forget, sorry), Andrew (the very welcoming Managing Director), Mike in the restaurant and bar (perfectly attentive and utterly charming) and Sean, the marvellous sommelier who is so,so knowledgeable and passionate about his choices which truly enhanced our tasting menu. And the food! My word, it is quite simply the best in Sussex with the vast majority of the fruit and vegetables coming from the beautiful walled garden.
There is something unique about Gravetye and I think it is in essence the kindness of the staff. They have mastered the art of providing superlative service without being obsequious and being friendly without being overly so, and I think that is a balance many hotels fail to achieve. Add to that the stunning gardens, beautiful decor, gorgeous flowers and the scrumptious food and there isn't really anywhere to compare. Thank you.
PS I awarded 5 stars for everything except value; Gravetye is expensive and it's worth it; value isn't really the point. We should have joined their club (oversight on our part) and then I could have awarded 5 for that as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jano21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. As you have experienced, Gravetye is a very special hotel and all of us love what we do and are very proud to be part of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This incredibly charming country estate is a gardener's dream. Set among rolling hills and amidst of many acres of phenomenal gardens, the manor itself is warm, beautiful, and rich in English hospitality. The variety of wild gardens, walled gardens, and manicured gardens begs you to take hours to explore. Be prepared for isolation as there is no where else around to explore. You need a car as the sites nearby are at least 30-60 minutes travel.

The service is impeccable. The amenities abundant. The Manor has that lovely fireplace scent In public areas. The bar features a painting by Winston Churchill to go along with a great selection of scotch.

The food is creative, and well presented.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Our head gardener Tom Coward will be thrilled by your comments. We feel we are a little oasis however I do beg to differ, for garden lovers there are many superb gardens on our doorstep; Wakehurst Place, Borde Hill, High Beeches, Nymans to name a few, do ask if you don’t have a car, we have good local taxis or I am very happy to take you in the Landrover. Standen is a lovely arts and crafts manor house and within a walk, Wakehurst is also walkable. Next time you stay we would be more than happy to suggest some local treats. Thank you so much for your review. Kind regards Andrew Thomason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I were enchanted by this manor home surrounded by beautiful gardens . The staff was efficient, courteous and friendly. Breakfast was outstanding. Unfortunately we did not have the time for a lengthy visit.
We always enjoy our stays in old English five star Manor hotels and we rated Gravetye Manor as one of the best. We will be back next year, spending more time there and exploring the area further.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muttilein1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much! Next time please book to stay a little longer. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I absolutely love this hotel. From the moment you arrive up the sweeping driveway you realise you are ion for a treat. Doorman come straight to the car to open your door and take your bags. A quick and efficient check in and you are shown to your room. Ours was gorgeous, large, light and airy. Traditional looking but not to stuffy and the bathroom was to die for. Great power shower with plenty of hot water. We were dining in the private dining room as it was a leaving do we were attending. Food and service was excellent. The grounds are very relaxing and inspiring if you are a keen gardner. This place would be good to visit in winter due to its cosy lounge with open fires, very romantic. Gravetye Hotel is not cheap, but you do get what you pay for. I've stayed in many hotels however this is definitely in my top three.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baahumbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are honoured to be in your top three! Look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went in February and it was dreary outside but the hospitality at this hotel was lovely. We stayed in the deluxe room which had a beautiful view of the garden. Despite being above the bar we were very comfortable and heard very little noise. This hotel feels more like a home than a hotel.

We were a little disappointed at dinner not to be in the main restaurant however we were still very well looked after. My partner organised a massage in the room that the hotel arranged for us and they also told us how to walk to the nearest village across the fields which really made for a lovely stroll and country feel to the weekend.

I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review from your stay in February. Now May and the gardens are already in the first flush of summer, time for that return visit? Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,515 reviews
18.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range: £274 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant West Hoathly, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing