We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our stay at Gravetye Manor was delightful - elegance with a small, intimate, homey feel. The staff was exceptional - helpful, friendly, and ever present (everyone seemed happy to work there). Our room was beautiful, spotless, and with every amenity one needed. The food was delicious, served elegantly, and paired perfectly and precisely with the wines. The gardens are Fabulous!!!!!! A must for any garden lover. This is a charming and well run hotel. We hated to leave.

Room Tip: Every room is unique (I viewed several while there) and it would be hard to recommend one over anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you Janie C, sounds like you had a great time! This summer has been on of the best with plenty of lovely weather and our garden has never looked better.
regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    75
    18
    18
    4
See reviews for
90
403
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

An anniversary treat took us to Gravetye for an overnight stay in Bay room, which was delightful with perfect views of the garden on 2 sides and beautifully quiet. The gardens were the perfect place for a walk and an al fresco lunch. Reception staff were very welcoming.
We were very pleased to have a reservation for dinner that evening, 7.30 for 8pm. We had drinks in the bar with some tasty appetisers and that's where the rhythm of our visit slowed up somewhat and sadly our dinner was delayed for some reason (No explanation given) our starters arrived 9.10pm - rather too late to avoid a headache. Such a shame given the wonderful standard of the food - all elegantly presented with the most amazing flavours. If you would rather not eat late, perhaps a word in advance would be wise.

Room Tip: Bay room had views of the garden and the lake side of the house. Spacious, light and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picaso2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that there was a delay in the service of your first course, we do aim to stagger our bookings as best we can, and I can understand that you would rather not eat late.
Andrew Thomason managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A friend and I decided to treat ourselves to lunch at Gravetye and a visit to their lovely gardens. The food and service were excellent with an unexpected amuse bouche that was delicious made with fresh peas and decorated with flowers. We both had mackerel followed by veal and enjoyed it very much. The gardens are superb particularly the kitchen garden. Quite hard to find and when I commented on the signage not being quite sufficient the response was that they knew it needed improving! Particularly annoying was the fact that on arrival the gates were closed with nothing to confirm you are in the right place. I did eventually - after ringing my friend who had the good fortune to follow someone else up the drive - find the sign telling me to drive right up to the gates or press the button for admittance. It would help tremendously if the overgrowth was cut back and that detail was made clearer! I have given 4 stars partly for this and also the fact that we were charged for desserts we did not have although this was sorted out when I noticed it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cimscate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry had difficulty in finding the hotel, for some time we had been waiting for the council to replace the brown directional sign, which I am pleased to say is now replaced. Yes indeed, approach the gates and they will open. So glad you and a lovely lunch and walk in the grounds.
Andrew Thomason managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blockley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What better way to celebrate your 70th birthday, than lunch or dinner at Gravetye Manor.We joined our friend for lunch and found out it was her third birthday celebration here this year. A late Elizabethan manor house set in a thousand acres of wooded parklands. It was the home of William Robinson, whose initials adorn the heavy iron gates at the entrance to the driveway as one swishes in and who redesigned the gardens in the early years of the twentieth century and created the mixed border;the envy of every keen gardener. These borders are a wonderful feature of Gravetye Manor and create just the right mood as one approaches the hotel.
On the ground floor there is a captivating medley of public and dining rooms and on a beautiful midsummer`s day, glimpses through the mullioned windows to the gardens outside. To start, drinks at a table in the garden, each carefully screened from the others. At lunch time there is a set menu, which has plenty of choice. Most of our party had the asparagus fresh from the walled garden and the roast guinea fowl. The wines do push up the bill but there were some interesting choices including English white wines grown locally.
What the new owner has done is maintain the ambience of the house but introduce a more.modern, informal ( but not casual ) style. The young staff are attentive and enthusiastic. Years ago I thought the restaurant could be a bit stuffy but now it captures just the right mood. After lunch leave time to tour the gardens. England has few experiences better in midsummer than this marvellous mosiac of shrubs and flowers set in the Sussex landscape.

Room Tip: We were not staying but try and get a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your super review, three visits to Gravetye to celebrate a birthday sounds good to me! Andrew Thomason managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We held my wife's 0th (!) birthday at Gravetye last week. This was a day that 36 of us will always remember. From the moment we arrived at Mid-day to the moment we left at 8pm (long lunch!!) everything was perfect. The service, the food, the ambiance and the weather and of course the amazing gardens...

This was Gravetye at the top of its game and huge thanks to MD Andrew and all the team at Gravetye.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nablitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
It sounds as though it was definitely a birthday to remember! Thank you for you review. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely hotel, superb grounds, magical breakfasts outside, and and well worth staying for these alone. Excellent service, bar nobody there to help with carrying cases on arrival (but probably a brief aberration). Nice touches like proper coffee with fresh milk in the room for that all important kick start in the morning. Wonderfully quiet - lobby off room to exclude all sounds from other guests. Would have liked a slightly better quality mattress which was only marginally disguised by a rather thin mattress pad (and as always I had to use my own down pillow - but that's pretty normal).

The big disappointment was the food - an evening meal which was an astonishing mass of blubber! Firstly I was given veal as a replacement for the item chosen which was no longer available - this turned out to be 95% congealed veal fat. The second item was neck of lamb, which is inherently fatty. This would have been just fine had it been balanced by something astringent to balance out the fat, but two tiny bits of buttery asparagus did not do this. The meat's flavour was quite bitter under the disguising fatty sauce, but could have again been balanced and better disguised by a sauce created by a chef with some imagination and at least some sort of palate. The lump of meat was as huge as the veg were sparse, presumably an attempt to make us feel better about paying handsomely for what tasted like pub food. I'd really recommend a stay, but would also recommend eating out in the evening, unless I was just unlucky that night.

Room Tip: We had the Chestnut room with the wonderful sounds of birds singing and sights of others collecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mrs Oliphant, thank you for sharing your experience at Gravetye Manor. I am extremely disappointed that your meal was unacceptable, if we had known we could have made an apology and compensation on the bill. I will personally write to you about this. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I know I keep going on about Gravetye, this is my 5th trip there in two years. Sitting in the heavenly gardens having breakfast is unsurpassable and the garden lunch menu and dinner are wonderful. The service is so friendly and they could not be more accommodating. Can't wait to go back in August. The opera house is only 35 minutes away

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sloop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
The Glyndebourne season and Gravetye seem to go hand in hand. We have for a long time had a close tie with the opera house, although 40 minutes away many opera goers choose us as their preferred hotel. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,582 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,417 reviews
7.4 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant West Hoathly, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing