We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total escapasism we loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property
Treehouse entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Treehouse entrance
Master bedroom Cosy logburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Treehouse entrance
Master bedroom
Cosy logburner
Outdoor dining deck
View from treehouse south
Treehouse
Sleeping house
Red squirrels abound here
Fresh eggs on site
Balcony
Paddock area
Woodland path leading to Treehouse
Aerial view - treehouse & path in red
Floorplan
Cosy winter breaks
Perfect for Christmas ! Together with our other accom sleeps 15
Open all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tree house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whippingham, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex b
1 review
“Total escapasism we loved it!”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The tree house is located in a wonderful, peaceful and natural environment not far from the fishbourne ferry terminal.
We stayed for a week and totally relaxed with our 2 boys by playing outdoors and visiting a few of the many places suitable for young children.
The sleeping accommodation has been well thought out with bunk beds and a secret hideaway, we were really impressed with the quality of decor tthough out . The separate kitchen/lounge area was lovely with log burnerand was well equipped.
The kitchen has large French doors opening out onto the decking area giving a great view of the paddock which has a few swings dotted around which we all had fun on!
We are a family of 4 but found this increased to 5 around meal times when the lovely Tess (owners dog) arrived and was happy to be played with.
Will and Fiona were happy to help with any query, one being adapting our child gate to fit at the top of the stairs and arranging child care at short notice.
We are looking forward to returning perhaps in the summer, with extra supplies for Tess.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swaying of the property, lovely.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boni119
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tree top house tops the lot”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Fantastic couple of days up in the woods! Lovely warm bedroom and very smart shower room in the sleeping house.
The living house is very well appointed but was cold for the time of year we were there. Took some time to get the room warm in the evening from the log burner.
Lovely setting and very unique accommodation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
So sorry you found the Living room cold. But we do leave it up to guests to light and manage the logburner themselves. Most people find it gets far too hot and have to open the window ! And if you are struggling, we will always come and light it for you ! Once warm and cosy, the living room also keeps its heat really well, as it is highly insulated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loobyfly
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Treehouse, peaceful and cosy”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed for 4 nights with our 3 young children. Accommodation very clean, finished to a high standard. Owners very friendly and helpful. Location incredibly quiet and peaceful. Warm and cosy with the woodburner. Our children loved the swings and friendly dog. Secret bedroom very exciting to spy on the red squirrels. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Woodburner, beds, swings
Liked least: No bad points
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, alternative break”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Myself and a group of friends stayed here for new year 2013.
The treehouse is snug, cosy and very pretty. There has clearly been lots of thought and hard work put in to it.
We were made to feel very welcome by Fiona and Will, and were left to our own devices for our 4 day stay.
All mod cons, a lovely shower and some seasonal decorations made for great creature comforts.
The main bedroom is lovely with a massive bed and a nice big window. The smaller, bunk room is cosy and I imagine would be fantastic for kids - We are in our late 20's/early 30's and enjoyed it too!!
All in all, it was a fantastic place to see in 2014 with a group of friends.

The only negative aspect was the local pub, The Folly, which we found to be seriously below par. Rude service and a very unwelcoming attitude sadly didn't make up for the luke warm chips and unsavoury toilets!!

Also, beware - the sleeping compartment of the treehouse was quite shaky. I suspect it might have been made worse by my travel sickness, new years celebrations and gale force winds, but maybe something to bear in mind.

Would definitely recommend for singles, couples, families or groups. Great stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola P
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique and special experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A beautiful spot hand built by the owners and perfectly set out with everything one could need with small children. Our 2 year old loved sleeping in her first bed and the owner's daughter who was babysitting diligently kept checking to make sure she had not fallen out. The grounds provide ample room for safe pottering about and table tennis kept the grown ups entertained. The log stove provided a super cosy atmosphere in the evenings and despite having booked a fabulous local pub it was very tempting not to leave at all. Fiona and Will are total super stars and were on hand to help us with the bits and pieces needed with small children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality ... we weren't expecting it to be so good! Amazing.
Liked least: Nothing - it was an all round success.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
annamhome...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Into the Woods exceeded all hopes & expectations”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I can only imagine how excited small children would be to stay here - the secret bedroom, the cosy bunks and the fantastic views of the woods from each window. But this ticks all the boxes for these grown ups too! The stresses & strains of work just disappeared as we enjoyed a pair of jays and and a pair of red squirrels give us a live floor show every breakfast; one squirrel became so tame it knocked on the french windows as if to say 'hurry up with the food!' We found our holiday here brought out the inner child & restored the balance as to what is important in life.
The pods are constructed to a very high standard and beautifully fitted out - the bed is so comfortable and the view is magical from up in the trees. Don't be put off by any negative thoughts about compost loos - this is a state of the art Swedish model and it's completely odourless. What's more we were so taken by the eco toiletries that we are going to use them from now on.
I'm sure it's lovely in the summer but we holidayed in October when the leaves were turning and everything looked so pretty. One evening we heard the fog horn booming in Cowes but we were so cosy, the wood burner was incredibly efficient so that we had to open the doors in order to cool down. Each morning the room would still be warm as we ate our breakfast - fresh eggs supplied by Fiona & Will's hens & ducks.
It was great to be free from tv, radio & any clocks - but wi-fi was there when wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of workmanship
Liked least: Bumping my head on the low door frame - but you do it only once!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing