We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
swimming pool view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
swimming pool view
pool lounge area Victorian bathing machine housing pool equipment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
swimming pool view
pool lounge area
Victorian bathing machine housing pool equipment
Exterior view of cabin
Front exterior view
Private courtyard garden
Lounge area with access to private  courtyard garden area
electric fire in lounge
fully equipped kitchen for all your holiday needs
kitchen dining area
Bedroom with plenty of storage
Shower room with standard tray, electric shower, sink & toilet.
Squirrels frequently visit the courtyard garden
The Folly Inn is our local eatery and pub set on  the riverside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whippingham, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fris154
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cabin”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

From the very warm welcome we received at the beginning of our holiday we felt very at home in the cabin. It was very clean and in very good decorative order.
We heard the squirrels and they took the nuts but never spotted any!!
It was a good base for visiting and central to road links to other parts of the Island.
The Folly pub was recommended by our hosts and food was good plus the views of the River Medina/boats just over 5 minutes drive away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent venue for up to 2 people.”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Everything I needed was available in this cosy holiday home. Well situated to visit attractions. Regular visits from beautiful red squirrel.Hosts are attentive and helpful. Own parking space outside and small garden with table and chairs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable and relaxing.”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Squirrel Nutkins cabin. Every thing provided for a relaxing self catering holiday, Shelly and Paul were at hand if we had any problems, which we didn't but nice to know and we were left to come and go when we wished. Unfortunately we didn't spot Mr or Mrs Nutkin nor did we get to swim in the lovely inviting pool which we much regret but we were busy out and about discovering the Isle of Wight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long weekend”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfect for a couple retreat! Clean and very well organised. Even small things like hand wash and lotion and tea and biscuits were provided! The location is also really nice with a very good pub just 15/20 minutes walking distance. Thank you Shelly and Paul, we will come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments it was a pleasure having you stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Shelly and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrina d
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cabin, welcoming host!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Paul and Shelly were the perfect hosts on hand to help with local knowledge when needed. With our own parking and secluded garden we were pleasantly surprised. The cabin was extremely clean and fitted out with amenities for all our needs. We both slept really well. The heated swimming pool was a real bonus and the owners kept it very clean. We are definitely looking forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G
1 review
“Amazing Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A huge thanks to Shelly and Paul for having us. We really could not have asked for better hosts. Friendly, great to chat to and went out of their way to make our stay as fantastic as it was. The place itself was beautiful. The cabin was wonderfully cosy and we slept brilliantly! Loved the heated pool too! Will definitely come back and couldn't recommend any higher! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy cabin
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baldeagle...
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A confusing let down”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The photos and descriptions online are very beguiling - an estate agent would have been proud of the camera angles. Arrived on a very damp afternoon. The owner, Shelly, was very helpful and the (much smaller than photos led us to believe) property was very clean. Squirrel Nutkins Lodge turned out to be called Springside (how does that work?), and 'the lodge' was more like a strangely timber clad static caravan with the front door at the back, and vice versa. Because of the trees nearby, had to turn on interior lighting when staying in - a very dark property.
Entry and exit to the site wasn't easy because of the nature of 'the drive' and the fact that visibility was restricted due to overgrown foliage. Overgrown foliage was also a problem getting into and out of the property; this made for wet hair and clothes. Felt a bit damp inside too! The 'bathroom' is tiny, with a VERY small (confusingly inefficient) shower, sink and toilet; the bathroom may have been about 12' x 2' ?
The property is very near the main road to East Cowes and noisy when you have to leave a window open for ventilation at night - a lot of traffic noise. 'The breakfast patio' was tiny, had no view at all other than of dead flowers and weeds. Didn't have the weather to try out the outside (heated) pool.
Thoroughly enjoyed visiting places on the island (a list of which we left in the Visitors' Book - didn't share previous occupants' comments at all), shame about the accommodation not living up to expectations.
P.S. Not a squirrel in sight at 'Squirrel Nutkins Lodge', or even on site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: See review.
Liked least: See review.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
We take great care to provide good value comfortable well maintained (no damp) accommodation for our valued new and repeat guests. It is very unfortunate that the weather was wet,damp and miserable during your stay, which would appear to have left you feeling dissapointed with our popular and much loved timber cabin (not cladded caravan).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing