We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in lovely grounds”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Barton Lodge

1 Barton Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1 Barton Lodge
Kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
1 Barton Lodge
Kitchen
Living room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whippingham, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AngelJac
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in lovely grounds”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here 11th til 15th June 2018. The cottage is very well equipped with all the basic essentials you need and is cosy and relaxing. The beds are very comfortable. It also has a large pretty back garden which is an added bonus. It is also close to some great attracions such as Osbourne House and Quarr Abbey, both well worth a visit and not far away from the ferry terminal.
Would highly recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
816toby
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely well kept cottage, great garden in a beautiful setting.
Close to all amenities, very relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul J
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family Christmas”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This is a beautiful home, full of history and character. It is really well located with all of the island's attractions and coastlines easily reachable by car. We decided to spend Christmas 2017 at 1 Barton Lodge and it could not have been more cosy, comfortable and relaxing. Amber the owner added loads of thoughtful touches to the house to make it really festive for our arrival – including Christmas tree and tasteful decorations and warm wood burners glowing on arrival. The house was the perfect size for the four of us and our small dog, with really comfortable beds and everything we needed for our 3 night stay. It was just a lovely place to come back to after all our many refreshing wintry coastal walks and we felt totally at home there. The whole Christmas experience was both an exciting adventure and super chilled – which was exactly what we wanted – and the place felt prestigious too being within sight of Osborne House. Amber was very accomodating with all our requests before and during our stay and we will definitely return again to add some more great memories.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G
Watchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A really fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a really lovely stay at Barton Lodge. It was lovely spotting glimpses of Osborne House from the windows. The seclusion and privacy of the property were fabulous. We have never rented a property with such an enormous garden, I just wish we had visited during the summer to make best use of it. The location was spot on for us. We have family links to East Cowes which was just a fifteen minute dog walk away, yet we had the privacy of not actually being in the town. I loved walking the dog down towards the River Medina too. It was a great location for cycle paths also and the property had ample room for storing bikes. We particularly enjoyed cycling into East Cowes, crossing the river with the bikes on the launch/chain ferry and then cycling down the old railway line from West Cowes to Newport and then back down the other side of the river to the cottage. Really can't wait to visit again in the better weather!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your kind review which we really appreciate. We look forward to seeing you again when the weather's better! Amber
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunc Pand...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Most people have given this cottage 5* reviews. However there are two points that make me unable to give this more than 3*. Although this cottage is lovely and the owners are very good and look after you.
The two things that prevent this being a higher review are the kitchen and the nearby road. One of the mapping locations puts this cottage in a rural area. This is not the case the cottage is situated on the main road from the ferry terminal in to the island. Large trucks and queing traffic are a regular occurrence. The kitchen really needs an overhaul. The dishwasher is broken and it lacks crockery that could really improve the experience. It doesn't fit with how nice the rest of the cottage is.
The bedrooms are of a good size and the beds are very comfortable. Some areas could use a clean as there were cobwebs in the stairwell and some black mould around the bath. These are things I could overlook if the price was cheaper. I truly believe you are paying for the history of the cottage not the amenities. Some small improvements could make this a 5* review. Overall I was satisfied with our stay but I won't be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review - however it says that this was for a stay in April 2017 which seems a long period to go before leaving a review. Is this correct? Unfortunately we cannot help the road. The house is, as it states, a lodge house and therefore is on the road which is, as you say, en route from the ferry. To date, you are the only review which has mentioned the road. With regards to crockery and the dishwasher - we have taken these comments on board but replenish at the beginning of the season and have enough plus some to suit the six people that the house is rented for. We have also taken your cleaning comments on board and apologise if you feel it wasn't up to your expectations but again if this review references April then we have done redecoration since then and obviously the house has been thoroughly cleaned. Many thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan952
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
780 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“A fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here as our son was getting married near by. Amber was a lovely host and also very helpful. She allowed us to leave our suitcase with her on the Friday, due to us not being able to move stuff to the cottage on the Saturday due to the wedding, we were also able to pick up a key too. Logistics all worked in the end. We were also having a BBQ on the Sunday for friends and relatives who were staying on the island for the weekend. Nothing was too much trouble as I had asked whether we could make more parking available and it just happened. The cottage was well equipped and we had a welcome pack of tea, coffee, bread, milk and butter, so we were able to have a cup of tea when we arrived about 1.00 am!! The rooms were welcoming downstairs, lovely sitting room with comfy chairs,dining area for breakfast and dinner, fresh flowers added to the feel of the room. Well equipped kitchen, bin liners. dishwasher tablets washing up liquid, clothes etc. Bathroom, lots of clean white towels, plenty of toilet rolls and some toiletries too. Two lovely double bedrooms with huge beds and very comfortable they were too and two single beds. I have rented many, many cottages in my time and this one was so well equipped and not meagre with anything. The gardens were so large and we had 24 people there for our BBQ and there was still plenty of room for everyone. We would certainly recommend this cottage and hope to come back ourselves one day. Thank you so much Amber and Clive

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thanks for a lovey review Susan and we're so glad that it lived up to your expectations - and thank you also for leaving the house in such good order - much appreciated! Amber
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing