We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hiamoe Farmstay
Nearby Hotels
Feilding Motel(Feilding)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
59
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold friendsfarm staynew zealandlambat homewonderful experienceone nightsheep and cowsopening and closingfabulous hostsfood was fantasticwhole familytwo nightswarm welcomemade us feelcomfortable bedcousins
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we feel very good when we stayed at the Hiamoe farm. they took us to visit their farm. and we saw
cows and deers. and we had good supper there. we will sure back there when we next visit to new zealand.
我们在农场度过美好的时光,农场夫妇和他们的儿子非常热情好客,带我们参观了农场,表演了剪羊毛,晚上为我们作了丰盛的晚餐。推荐大家去体验一下新西兰的农场生活。带孩子去更好玩。我们待的时间太短了,下次一定住时间长一些。

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dongmei l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Me, my wife and our 3.5 year old son Jasper just spent 3 nights with the wonderful hosts John and Toos at Hiamoe Farmstay and I can honestly say we all had an amazing weekend and a true 'kiwi-experience'. John and Toos embrace you as part of the farm and their family, fantastic company, wonderful food and wide ranging discussions over a glass of vino in front of a roaring fire. We counted Heffers, herded reindeer and sheep and helped clear a paddock of fallen trees - Jasper loved the weekend and we will definitely be returning for a second visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

In december 2012 we have been traveling afround in Nes Zealand and we have visited the Hiamoe farm for two day's. We got the opportunity to help John with all kind of farm work : we selected cows and helped with putting up fences. Helping om the farm gave us a good impression of agriculture in this part of New Zealand. In the evening we had a very teastful meal prepared by Toos and after this meal we had à very pleasant time afround the fire place.
For everybody who is interested in farm live we can advice this farm stay. John and Toos weer perfect hosts!!!! The farmstay was one of the highlights of our New Zealand trip.
Nicolet and Wied
Holland

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wied H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We called John and Toos at 5pm ... looking for lodging for a family of 5 that eve! They took us in with open arms, a delic bottle of wine and roaring hot fires. The conversation covered most countries around the globe while they both simultaneously engaged our three kids with games and treats while fielding all sorts of questions.

We then took over their kitchen as we had not managed to sort dinner before we arrived! And I also needed to do some laundry...Nothing was too much trouble.

After a blissful sleep and breakfast we were all go the next day - we careered around the farm on the 4x4 thingies moving the animals from one field to another, weighing sheep and lambs, admiring the sheepdogs in full action,....and again asking 10 thousand questions. John has incredible patience and allowed the kids to do all sorts of things, although us adults failed our test miserably by not managing to replace the electric fence properly! We still have some learning to do! It was an absolute blast for everyone and a massive learning experience.

We had planned to leave by midday but after a super lunch we were back in action on the farm....we just couldn't tear ourselves away.

John and Toos made our Kiwi experience so special.....we missed them as soon as we had left Hiamoe, as if they were old friends......we are looking forward to having you to stay in Wexford!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

John and Toos are warm, personable and intelligent hosts. They delivered on everything promised in their website and more, much more. If you’re a Kiwi you will be so proud they represent our Country. If you’re from overseas you will find they are extremely well travelled hosts and understand many cultures. They have extensive farming experience and great knowledge of NZ. They are very flexible with your needs for a farm stay. We left wonderfully content after an evening of great food, warm company, sound sleep and delightful breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms are great and just as described on website.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 500AandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews