We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Rowantree Farm B&B

Rowantree Farm B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ainthorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowantree Farm B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Ainthorpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A warm, friendly welcome from Linda after a long drive from Essex was certainly appreciated. A lovely clean and spacious room with stunning views of the surrounding area was exactly what I needed! Plenty of refreshments to choose from in the room and extremely comfy beds.

The farm is in a perfect location for a wedding we attended at Danby Castle. Linda was so knowledgeable about the area and helped many times with directions and suggestions for local pubs, shops, etc. Not to mention the tasty breakfast. We were very grateful!

After speaking to friends that had stayed in other accommodation, we definitely (in my opinion) had the nicest and best value for money.

I am hoping to return soon with my family as two days just wasn't enough. Thank you so much Linda for looking after us so well. xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollybird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

We arrived late yet still received a warm welcome from Linda. The bedroom was warm, clean spacious and equipped with everything and more that you would expect in a full service hotel. There was even a choice of teas with biscuits and fresh milk. After a wonderful nights sleep in the comfortable bed we rose to enjoy a filling breakfast. The hot food being freshly prepared as we tucked into cereal, fruit, tea and toast. It really set us up for a long day.

All we need now is an excuse to return!

Room Tip: Only two rooms but both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJcountryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite early and although our room was not quite ready, we were given a warm welcome by Linda.
The farm is in a very peaceful location so if you just want to chill this is just the place and a public footpath runs straight through the middle of the farm if you want to take yourself off for a walk there is plenty of space.
The beds are comfy and with all the little touches you would expect from larger and more expensive hotels.
Linda's full english with choice of eggs was sensatonal.
All in all a fab weekend thanks to Linda & Stuart and cant wait to see you again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudtrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Rowantree Farm is set in idyllic surroundings, with endless open views. The room was very comfortable, and the welcome very warm indeed. The breakfast was wonderful! If you're lucky, you may see some new-born calves, not to mention all the little kittens that seem to live happily in the barn with the calves. For those seeking something a little "off the beaten track", but at the same time not too far from local eateries. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed here with my husband and little girl for 2 nights in Aug. The place is lovely, clean and welcoming. Stayed here as we had a wedding to attend in Danby and it seems we paid the least out of everyone else who went to wedding but stayed in different places.

The place is spotless, breakfast was good and we would go again if we were visiting that way again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnsharp1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This farm house is a great place to stay, comfortable beds, good home cooked breakfasts and the views are brilliant.
An Ideal base to stay if your walking on the moors or visiting local attractions. Lots of good local pubs for evening meals.

Room Tip: One Double room plus single bed and One twin room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBrid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

A working farm (milk production) with parking. Rooms are comfortable and front-facing for sunsets. Washing facility was en-suite but toilet and shower (or bath) are along the landing. Loads to choose from for breakfast as well as tea/coffee/chocolate and biscuits in your room. TV available in room next to breakfast area but not used; as much time spent out walking the dales or eating and drinking in the local pub/restaurants. Most of our time was planned to be in Whitby but this place is well worth the distance for a perfect retreat.

Room Tip: Booking early can give you the choice between twin bed or family room. Also; pick shower or bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rowantree Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantree Farm B&B

Address: Fryup Road | Near Whitby, Ainthorpe YO21 2LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ainthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ainthorpe
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowantree Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda and Stuart Tindall welcome you to Rowantree Farm, a third generation dairy farm, nestled below Ainthorpe Rigg in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, 15 miles from Whitby, on the outskirts of the village of Danby. The sandstone house dates back nearly 200 years and still has original beamed ceilings. Our fully centrally heated, non-smoking establishment offers a residents lounge with TV and a small library of books for all ages, plus board games/jigsaws and videos for our younger guests. Children of all ages are always welcome and we can provide a high chair if required. We have a separate dining room where breakfasts are served. Both of our bedrooms have a washbasin, beverage tray, hairdryer and radio/CD alarms clocks. Each room has its own private facilities, a shower room or a bathroom, the choice goes with the first booking on that date. We have our own private water supply straight from a spring on top of the moor. Both bedrooms have beautiful panoramic views. We are within walking distance of an historic coaching Inn, where freshly prepared meals are available 7 days a week. Other Inns/Pubs are located in neighbouring villages. The North Yorkshire Moors Information Centre is situated in Danby, where information on walks and other activities can be obtained, as well as an outdoor play area. The coast is easily accessible by road or by travelling down the Esk Valley Railway to Whitby (stopping off at Grosmont to access the North York Moors steam railway to Pickering, via Heartbeat country). Rowantree Farm makes an ideal base for walking, mountain biking, riding or just relaxing in our peaceful, idyllic, off the road location. We have an indoor cycle store for security, available for our guests who bring their own bicycles. We have plenty of car parking space available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowantree Farm B&B Ainthorpe, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing