We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place to stay”
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had previously stayed at Notchland five years ago and had been longing to go back ever since. We finally made it a few weeks ago. We hoped that it would not spoil our happy memories and thankfully it did not. In fact it surpassed them.

Ed, Les and their team, together with their dogs make a stay at Notchland seem like a holiday with extended family.

It’s difficult to beat a well prepared, very relaxed five course dinner followed by some time playing with the dogs then heading upstairs to read by a crackling log fire in your room. Add in some magnificent scenery, some walking, snow shoeing or in our case snowmobiling and it makes for the perfect place for a long weekend.

We loved the arts and crafts furniture and decoration, making the most of the period features of the house. The collection of games, books and a part-finished jigsaw for guest’s entertainment and the ‘lived-in’ furniture all add to the beautiful atmosphere of the place.

We can’t wait for our next visit. Having been in the fall and now in the winter we need to return in the summer to try out the swimming hole in the nearby river.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Notchland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I went with another couple over President's Day Weekend, 2012. I thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, the rooms, the staff, the service and the food. The inn has a real historic feel. Our rooms were very big and included a sitting area with a working fireplace. There were also 2 parlors with fireplaces downstairs where we could hang out as well. There were many choices for breakfast. We opted for the 5-course dinner both nights. The food was delicious and well worth the price. The owners and staff were very friendly and witty. They have 2 Burmese Mountain dogs who were very friendly and mellow and cuddly. I highly recommend the Notchland Inn & can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the Notchland Inn and could not have been happier. The breakfast was great and plentiful, the five course dinners were well worth the price. The room had a jacuzzi, fireplace, skylight above the bed and heated floors in the bathroom. The dogs were a treat and the staff was great. we can't wait to go back.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank wayno53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the inn for two nights over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The inn keepers are very nice and the inn is very clean. The dinner is a must. The food is very good and it's just a really nice experience. We stayed in the Zealand room which was indeed green as the picture shows but not actually as green as it looks. It's a really charming room with a fireplace and very cute details like oil lamps, antique furniture, etc. There are two very large, long hair dogs at this inn so if you are allergic, be prepared. We chatted with one of the staff members quite a bit and met some other guests as well. At breakfast they seemed to be making sure that everyone had something good planned for the day. There's a trail head across the street and we did that hike. There's also apparently a swimming hole in walking distance as well. The inn is in a beautiful location. The outside of the inn is gorgeous. Inside, the inn has a ton of charm and is just filled with interesting details. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LumaLisa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

One of the owners (the one who manages) was downright unfriendly and grumpy. Everytime my wife or I spoke to him we would only get a curt reply. I dont know what we did wrong, but we felt unwelcome at this place. The grumpy treatment left a bad taste in our mouth. We will not be going here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Perfect location from which to see fall colors and explore Franconia Notch. Breakfasts were excellent as were the directions to local sights and venues. Our room - Carter - was nicely arranged but the sofas and chairs are in need of reconditioning/resuffing and the bedding needs to be updated and improved. With that said, we'd return because of the nice people and location but we hope they'll invest some $ in upgrades.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KBP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed for two nights as part of our hiking holiday. The innkeepers were welcoming, helpful and friendly. I have intolerances to milk and wheat, and I had a discussion with the chef when we arrived. We discussed my choices from the menu and he promised me I would be provided for. Come 7 o'clock when everyone sits down to dinner, I had a delicious dairy free gluten free alternative for every course - soup, appetiser, main, salad, and everyone had the option of a wonderful gluten free chocolate cake. And by day 2, I had my own bread with the soup and a special individual strawberry and rhubarb sponge pudding.

Some have complained about the portion sizes at this inn: I, and the rest of our group, would say they are perfect.

The inn is very peaceful with no TV or mobile phone reception, but free wi-fi is provided, as is a computer connected to the Internet for anyone that wants it.

Great place - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorbans_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
8.9 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
4.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#2 of 12 in Bartlett
295 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
308 reviews
10.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,594 reviews
18.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range: £158 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing