We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is an outstanding place to stay in a great location. We had a suite adjacent to the main house. It was like a small apartment - living area with wood burning fireplace - sofa etc. The most comfortable place to stay. Breakfast was well prepared with food in abundance. There was dinner available only on one night of the stay - it was very good. The only drawback is that there is no dinner available on Monday or Tuesday (unless you are part of a walking group). Given that the nearest decent restaurant is more than 10 miles away this detracts from its quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamsjd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    35
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
179
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Notchland Inn provides you with a casually elegant atmosphere. The meals were superb! The grounds our beautiful and relaxing! We loved watching the hummingbirds while we ate and seeing Gypsy and Crawford around the Inn!

Room Tip: Every room is great, but the cottages rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ka1sqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

very romantic getaway. Staff was wonderful! Adam was very helpful and friendly. I live close by but never have time to travel far away..but I felt like I was far, being so hidden away in the white mountains. Loved our room (Kinsman) and the inn keeper's dogs are the best, as long as you don't mind them sitting by your side during breakfast..we didn't mind at all. Food was great, I have no complaints about anything : )

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

It was a nice inn, we got a great deal off of groupons. I am not sure if I would want to pay full price for the inn. The staff was nice and friendly, the rooms were very large and comfortable and it was extremely close to Mt Washington. I wasn't overly happy with the dinner. It was expensive and not very good. I would recommend going into North Conway, however the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I knew nothing about this place when we arrived other than we had a Living Social deal and my husband was really excited about it. He was right. The place is wonderful. We had a little trouble getting our GPS to find it, but fortunately the signage is good and we had plenty of notice for the turn-off. The gardens were busting out all over with color and hummingbirds. We were immediately charmed by the architecture and decor, and quickly greeted by Adam and the dogs. We were asked to choose our menu for that night's dinner and then were given a nice tour of the main house before being shown to our room.

We opted to have dinner the first night because we knew we'd be tired from driving and it would be nice to not have to find a place. That was an excellent choice, especially as it poured down rain shortly after we arrived, which I watched from our cozy room, grateful that we could just stay right where we were and watch. It felt like England. I was instantly AWAY. My cell phone didn't work, but we were able to use wifi in our room.

Dinner was nice. A different type of service than a restaurant. Just think "banquet dinner" and you'll be comfortable. They serve everyone at the same time. It may take a little longer, but we didn't have any where else to be. I laughed at the idea that you could have all the dessert you want, but it was true! They brought us seconds on desserts. We turned down thirds, but they were offered. The drinks were good, if perhaps a smidge expensive, but you expect that for a resort.

We slept well that night, but in the morning we had a small problem with our room. I'll just say this. Crises happen. How they are dealt with tells you everything. We were quickly helped, with an overwhelming tone of concern, help, compassion, and friendship. Moved within minutes to an even better room, no fuss, no problem. It was over LIKE THAT. Boom. These guys are PROS. They totally know how to handle problems. They won me over in a split second.

Moved to the Kinsman room, our stay got even better. That room is huge, and yet still cozy. We had plenty of space to stretch out. A nice tub. Just quaint touches everywhere, but not cluttered. Not over done. Everything we needed was there for us, along with promises of anything we might have forgotten being available.

Breakfasts were fantastic. I had the blueberry pancakes both days because they were that good. Like dessert the night before, you could have as much breakfast as you wanted. Want pancakes AND eggs AND yogurt? No problem. Order what you'd like. No worries. And good coffee! I also appreciated the weather report each morning.

I would go back in a heartbeat. I am already pricing return visits.

Room Tip: The Kinsman was huge and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Notchland Inn is a hidden gem in the heart of the White Mountains. I had bought a Groupon and my husband and I stayed for 2 nights in June. We live in CT and go to the White Mountains 1-2 times a year and usually stay in chain hotels that are far from the places we like to hike/eat/sightsee. The Notchland Inn was in the heart of it all but you felt like you were in such a private secluded place. The inn keepers were amazing...and so was the their resident Bermese Mountain dog! The food and wine were AMAZING as well. You can watch the hummingbirds on the feeders outside the windows next to each table. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljp2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a wonderful getaway inn in the White Mountains of NH in a less crowded and developed "notch" (Crawford Notch). Very nicely appointed rooms and suites, exceptionally thoughtful touches in the rooms, very good food and friendly engaging hosts and a beautiful setting. Nice hikes nearby of all lengths and difficulty levels. Nice swimming hole in the river nearby too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
4.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
10.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
22.7 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Property: The Notchland Inn
Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing