We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old inn with a wonderful location”
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
East Marion, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely old inn with a wonderful location”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at the inn and we had a lovely corner room the bear. Quiet and comfortable and we spent the afternoon in the garden room reading during the big March snowstorm. No afternoon snack was served and what was awkward was during our two night stay we never met the owner/innkeeper, however, upon our departure learned that he was there. When I made the Tuesday night arrival reservation I was asked if I would be joining them for dinner and was told dinner was at 7. While the internet said dinner was not served on Tuesday I felt that may have needed updating. Upon our arrival at five we learned there was no dinner so we drove back to Jackson. Dinner on Wednesday was fabulous. Best onion soup ever! Loved the dinner but felt wine list was pricey for the offerings. May have to go back just so we can meet the owner/innkeeper.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdweave02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdoftheNotch, Owner at The Notchland Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Well, we think that you should come back to meet us! We are generally about the inn but sometimes have enough staff to care for guest needs and therefore work on all the other behind-the-scenes needs of the business and property.
Sorry about the mix-up about serving dinner. We do try to keep the website current and have a new person in the office, who will get more detailed training!
We're glad you overall experience was enjoyable. Wasn't that snowstorm beautiful?!
We look forward to meeting you next time.
Ed & Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    35
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
179
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was a great place to come away for the weekend in February to celebrate a late Valentine's Day. The innkeepers made you feel at home. The room had a woodburning fireplace that kept the room toasty. The included breakfast was made to order of pancakes with fruit or frenchtoast or eggs. It was a nice atmosphere there for dinner as well. The 5 course dinner was enjoyable. We were able to go crosscountry skiing and snowshoeing while up in North Conway area. Lastly we caught the sunset at Mt.Washington Hotel down the street. All of these activities were within a quick drive from the Inn. I would recommend this place to friends and family. I would not bring kids here there is NO TV which was great.We are looking forward to returning to the Inn next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our stay at the Notchland Inn was a wonderful experience. It was quiet and remote yet close to the activities we wanted to do. The food was exceptional with a five course meal for dinner and an order from the menu breakfast. We have already booked a return trip and are looking forward to another wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have fireplaces. Great ambiance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
389 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We visit here every Martin Luther King Holiday weekend and never stop enjoying the Inn, the staff, and our room with the wood burning fireplace. By the way, all rooms have a wood burning fireplace and there is an endless supply of wood available. A full breakfast is included with waiter service and you can order as much as you want. They do not serve lunch since they presume you are out and about skiing, visiting Bethlehem. Littleton, Whitefield, Jackson, Bartlett or North Conway. We always make it a point to visit either the Mount Washington Hotel or the Mountain View Grand for lunch on one of our days, and Jackson for another. We also bring Microwaveable soups and snacks for a couple of other lunches when we opt to stay in for the day and read and relax. NO TV, GREAT ! ! Wireless internet is included and the Inn is very peaceful during the day for relaxing and reading, doing a jigsaw puzzle on the puzzle table, or playing a game of scrabble or cribbage in the parlor. There is also cuddling by the fire in your room. Dinner if you want is extra and served nightly at 7 PM. It is a 5 course meal -soup ( 1 of 2), appetizer ( 1 of 2), main course ( 1 of 3), salad, and dessert ( 1 of 3). There is either a beef, lamb, or veal dish, always a chicken dish, and always a fish dish each night and always seconds on dessert. Great place to relax. They have a Bernaise Mountain Dog Gypsy (had two but Crawford recently passed and has yet to be replaced) that is around the Inn's public areas, never allowed in the rooms, and always available for loving and attention. Some of the rooms even have a Jacuzzi. All in all, a great place for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickandPaulineP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My boyfriend and I took advantage of the LivingSocial deal as a Christmas present to each other, and this Inn far exceeded our expectations. The room was lovely, and much bigger than I would have thought it would be for an inn (I believe we had the upgraded room). The in-room fireplace made for a very cozy time. Every detail was thought of, from the details in the decor, to the printed report of the weather each morning with our breakfast (very nice since we did not want to check our phones during our stay). I almost booked a different inn because of some of the negative reviews regarding "rude owners". I am very glad that I didn't. I did not experience any "rudeness". We had just enough attention from the staff, and not too much. Sometimes at small inn's I feel a tad smothered by the owners - not at the Notchland. I have traveled all over the world and this was one of, if not my best experience at any inn or hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hancock room and we loved it. A fireplace, small Jacuzzi tub, separate living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljpeterson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Notchland in January- our second trip to the Inn which has become an annual tradition. The Inn is wonderful. We loved our room- with a jacuzzi and fireplace. Breakfast is great- especially the French Toast. And, the dinner is delicious as well. The Inn is right around the corner from great skiing- A perfect relaxing winter get away!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0st0n_Traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We booked Notchlands elopement package for 12/28/13. Their package covers every aspect of an intimate wedding ceremony. Ed did a terrific job making our moment unique and memorable (including some great pictures! Thank you Les!) Their service is personalized and they delivered a supreme experience for us. We felt like home and surrounded by caring people. During our stay we had some snow and they even cleaned our car!

The only reason we are giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the heating system in our room (can't say about the rest of the house) was very loud and clicking throughout the night which interrupted our sleep a few times each night. This property was built in the 1700s so some technical issues like that might be inevitable. The place itself is beautiful otherwise.

One more thing: the closest urban area is about 30 minutes away, if you are not into skiing you should plan ahead for some activities you might be interested while staying there.

The Hubbards <3

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmhubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
4.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
8.8 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
22.7 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Property: The Notchland Inn
Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing