We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn in the White Mountains”
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn in the White Mountains”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I spent three days two nights at the Notchland Inn last month with our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren and loved it. The Inn is perfectly situated in the White Mountains near Crawford Notch and there is a lot to do. We hiked, fished, played miniature golf and enjoyed the chance to play games in the Inn's lovely sitting rooms. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The Inn keepers are really caring and catered to our every whim. The most memorable part of the stay were the breakfasts in the dining room with dozens of humming birds fluttering to the feeders at every window. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone planning a visit to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    35
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you are looking for a quintessential New Hampshire experience, you would not be disappointed with your stay at Notchland Inn! It is a quaint old home nestled in the mountains and surrounded by flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds. At night, the view of the stars from the grounds is spectacular. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a comfortable bed and a fireplace. The Inn Keepers are absolutely hysterical. They have a dry sense of humor and they made us smile every time we saw them. They know everything about hiking and all of the attractions in the area so they would be a great resource for planning out your days. The daily breakfast was so good and the giant dog that wanders over to say hello is something to look forward to. I have to say it is really a fantastic place - the little touches like the guest books in each room to the big things like overall service were beyond my high expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a fireplace! It is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanniTerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a wonderful Inn. There isn't one thing NOT to love. The building. The grounds. The pond. The hosts. The staff. The rooms. The food. Everything was amazing. From the moment we drove up to the Inn, we were mesmerized. It is just a sureal sight. High on a hill with magnificient views, clean mountain air and nature. The best part.......No televisions and no cell phone signal. While eating our fantastic dinner, we even got the see a bear come into the back yard. It was nice that we were inside and it wasn't, but still not something you see everyday while eating a 5 course meal. We will certainly return and tell our friends and family to make it a point to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pinkham room. The bed was a little small, but the in room, real wood, fireplace wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelj04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just spent a couple of days at The Notchland and it was just perfect!! A historic property, well-maintained, charmingly and comfortably furnished, beautiful gardens, great hosts and delicious food. We got away from it all and still had everything anyone could ask for. The inn is between Bartlett/N. Conway and Bretton Woods - a perfect location amid all sorts of recreational opportunities and yet away from it all. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buhuxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had the chance to spend a weekend here and having been to quite a few B&B this was the best one ever!!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms all are amazing all with fireplaces and you can get wi-fi, but there is no tv or phone service cell or land line, although there is a land line availaible to use if needed in the front hall.

Belive me this place has so much charm and areas to walk, relax in youcould care less about tv and phones.

The inn keepers and their staff are second to none!!

If you get the chance to go here, give youself a treat and splurge for the 5 course nite time dinner
.
It's 2 hours long with soft music and what a treat the atmoshere is outstanding!!!!

This has now become my wife's and I FAVORITE place.....will absoulutly be going back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is one of the sweetest places I have ever been. The innkeepers and all the staff are the kindest people. Our cabin was so clean and cozy. This place has mastered the art of being charming without trying too hard, as many B&B's often do. (There was a clever, personal touch to the whole place; no doilies and dusty stuffed animals here!!) The food was out of this world. The breakfast is amazing enough on its own, but I highly recommend staying for dinner at least once, too. I give the Notchland Inn my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The wife and I just stayed here a few days ago (and we have stayed here numerous times over the past 10 + years). We love it here. Set off of route 302 in a nice, quiet location with nothing but mountains and trees surrounding you. The air is fresh and clean and you truly feel like a million miles away from civilization. On a clear night, you can see so many stars in the sky. The Notchland Inn has several rooms to choose from (we tend to stay in "Evans"). Owners Ed and Les are wonderful hosts and have made every one of our stays very special. The dinners are always delicious and their breakfasts fill you up for whatever you have scheduled for the day (hiking, skiing, shopping in North Conway, etc.). Should you need any hiking advise, please ask for Mark, who knows the area better than anyone. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter, the Notchland is a wonderful place to stay.

Oh.. maybe I should mention that we got married here back in 2003.. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Nikki_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
8.9 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
4.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
294 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
8.4 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
18.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Property: The Notchland Inn
Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing