We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Jo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pukenui Holiday Park
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Jo”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed overnight on a trip up to Cape Reinga in one of the cabins. It was clean and comfy, and very reasonable rates. Jo, the owner, was very helpful. (Thanks for the feijoas and grapes, they were yummy!)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank R0bbityB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PukenuiHolidays, Owner at Pukenui Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Ha, thanks, still heaps og grapes, but the Fejoas are getting gobbled up. PS, I think the 'chooks' that you saw are roosters!!!!!! :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Great little camp, the couple in the bus at the entrance, Judy & Lynn were great hosts, were really accommodating and gave us the choice of sites. The kitchen and ablution block were basic but clean and tidy. The camp sites were a good size and there is plenty of shady and shelter. Will will most defiantly stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pukeko101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PukenuiHolidays, Owner at Pukenui Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
HI guys, thanks fro taking the time to give us a review. I will pass your compliments on to Jude and Lyn. Cheers JO (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We love this place, we for the second time stayed at the Pukenui Holiday Park and we think it is a wonderful place to stay. We would recommend it to anyone, especially if you are holidaying with your pet. We were there for 4 nights and we found the facilities clean throughout our stay there. We were given a few options of where we could pitch our tent and decided on a well sheltered area that was flat and well situated when easy walk from all the facilities. It is close to some amazing beaches and there is a small Four Square supermarket down the road as well as a yummy takeaways that serve up amazing fish and chips. We will definitely go back and stay there. l

Room Tip: Book as early as you can as this place can be really busy at times but is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PukenuiHolidays, Owner at Pukenui Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you had a great holiday. Cheers JO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked online through their website where you pay half of your booking (which was fine) however when we turned up the hosts had no idea we had made a booking because apparently they were only looking after the place while the owners were away and didn't have a computer for access (fail) The website does not say cash only for the remainder of the balance, would be good if there was an option to pay the full amount online. The hosts took our word that we had paid half and would get withdraw the other half in cash before we checked out. We packed up in the morning and went to get the cash out, we were rudely yelled at about paying the rest of our bill on the way out of the driveway (this was approx 9am, 1 hour before checkout) Cabin was average, the shower head needs to be replaced, the shower mat smelt like body odor and the cabin had a very musty smell to it when we first got there. Although we did have a decent sleep, the cabin price was a bit high at $95 per night. Hopefully the owners are much better hosts than they people they had covering them otherwise I would not be staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PukenuiHolidays, Owner at Pukenui Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback Emma. You booked your cabin the night before you arrived, and it was an 'on request' booking, which meant it was not confirmed. I have asked the internet booking company to make this much clearer for customers, because you are not the first person to have misunderstood your booking. I will follow up again with them. I apologise on behalf of my staff for their abruptness as you left on Sunday morning to get cash. They mistakedly thought you were leaving without paying as you drove out the gate. They did let me know when I returned that they had made this mistake. We have not had any complaints about 'mustiness' in that cabin before, but I have re-cleaned it myself to ensure it is fresh - thank you for that. We do have eftpos facillites so I am not sure why you had the impression we did not. Again, I have clarified that with my staff so that they make your payment options clearer. Thank you for taking the time to review, I have e-mailed you an accommodation voucher in the hope that you might call in again another time, or give it to a friend, so we may redeem ourselves. Kind regards Jo Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Lovely location, great hosts went more than the extra mile, some of the better facilities we've had at camp grounds and the water tastes WONDERFUL! Just note linen doesn't include blankets. People around weren't noisy, everyone is mega friendly. Handy to the cape! And good fish and chips

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gfdfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PukenuiHolidays, Owner at Pukenui Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post. It was our pleasure. Enjoy our wonderful country. Kind regards JO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pukenui
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We felt really good in this nice Holiday Park! We had enough privacy with our Campervan in the angled Park and it was very quiet throughout day- and nighttime! We were also save from the strong winds that were present through this time of the year. All the needed facilities are at hand, clean and near. The affordable WIFI-connection worked well, wich wasn't the case in every Holiday Park we had been.

Keep an eye open, maybe the cat of the house will give you a visit! ;)

All in all a relaxed and affordable place for every type of camper!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This holiday park is among the best I have stayed in. Its clean and well maintained. The owners are fabulous, there really make you feel right at home and very welcome. I stayed here for over a month. Internet is good and cheap ($60 per month) the camping rates were also reasonable. I would highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Dorms offer best value. Private cabins are most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrderMatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pukenui
15.5 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.3 mi away
Pukenui Lodge Motel
Pukenui Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Pukenui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Waipapakauri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Ahipara Holiday Park
Ahipara Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in Ahipara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
15.4 mi away
Te Kao Lodge
Te Kao Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cape Reinga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
17.8 mi away
Norfolk Motel and Campervan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pukenui Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pukenui Holiday Park

Property: Pukenui Holiday Park
Address: 34 Lamb Road | RD4 Kaitaia, Pukenui 0484, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Pukenui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Pukenui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pukenui Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing