We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pukenui Lodge Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Lodge Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfish Lodge(Whangaroa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
12
23
18
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
23
18
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape reingabottle shopoverlooking the waterbeautiful sunriselaundry facilitiesswimming poolbeautiful locationthe kitchenbackpackersharbourunitsviewslodgesupermarketcoastaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed in the hostel portion of the motel. The kitchen was well equipped with lots of outside dining areas. The staff werevery helpful and informative (our four yearold son developed a high fever whilst we were there) Beautiful/amazing surroundings, we only stayed a night but would have loved to stay longer....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTour2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Location of the lodge (motel) very good for a visit to Cape Reinga (also the most nearby), although still approx. 1 hr driving one way. Motel unit we had was very clean and yes, it is a little outdated, but so what ... it all worked properly and you don't come here to sit whole day inside, even when it rains. Surroundings nice and beatifull view in the morning and very pleasant reception. We arrived a little late and we were warned here on the site for lack of restaurants. So, we went to the other side of the road before 7pm. It is basic but will certainly do. Consider the 4 square and prepare in the unit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed one night in one of the motel units after a mix up with another booking left us searching for accommodation during a very busy Easter Weekend. it was our first visit to Pukenui. We received a warm welcome from staff and were able to check in to our unit earlier than usual. The rooms were basic motel units but were clean and comfortable. The setting was great overlooking the harbour but the Motel was very close to the main road so there was quite a lot of traffic noise. This wasn't a problem though because there was very little traffic passing through the town at night. It was a good stop over after our visit to Cape Reinga

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The furniture and equipment are basic and "tired", but we had a satisfactory 2-night stay. Not enough towel rails and hooks in the bathroom,no lock in the loo, missing bedside tables in the bedroom. For the price we have experienced a lot better in NZ. But the gardens and view, the friendly staff, the proximity to so many places to visit, made up for this.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigone_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you want to get away from crowds of tourists and enjoy a sunrise on the edge of a cliff over a stunning harbour, this is the place to be. 4 Square supermarket is just over the road, as well as a liquor shop, a pub and a bakery with take away food. A small landscaped swimming pool is a refreshing bonus if your trip to one of the beautiful beaches in the area did not eventuate in swimming due to weather or water temperature. You do need a car, though, to get to those beaches, unless you are eager to swim in the harbour close to the wharf just beneath the motel (2 minutes walk). Mobile reception is a bit patchy and better on the edge over the harbour but for the sake of peace and quiet and the beauty of the area, you should sacrifice your addiction for virtual networking and satisfy your other senses.

Room Tip: Each of the motel rooms give a good view over the garden with the swimming pool and the mountain on the other side of the harbour but backpackers rooms are different; some have better view than others.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews