We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pukenui Lodge Motel
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This 1950's motel is set in beautifully manicured grounds on the edge of the Houhora Harbour with magnificent views. It is very tranquil and has a great pool. We had a one bedroom unit, which although old, was spacious, well equipped with a full kitchen had very comfortable beds. the whole place has a nice feel to it. It was very clean and had good towels. We enjoyed our stay there so much we intend to return on another occasion and spend more than one night. Thank you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank liliannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the backpacker part of this lodge for one night, on our return from Cape Reinga.
The receptionnist was adorable, really available for any question, and even lent us her phone because we had no signal on ours.
The room in the backpacker was clean, the kitchen and the living room really nice, and the outside was beautiful with the view on the water. We even had a beautiful sunrise in the morning.
The price was correct, and you have all the facilities around (Four Square, liquor shop, restaurant).
We definitely recommend this place, and we would have stayed more if we had more time.

Room Tip: No noise from the road in the backpacker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delphine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The motel was spotless and very comfortable. It was lovely looking down the harbour from the cliff top and the grounds were beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This if virtually the first place you will find when coming back from Cape Reigna to stay, and that shows in this little town. does appear like an oasis when there is nothing north of it and suddenly you arrive in a place, with a big motel, a restaurant, cell phone coverage, sky, liquor store.

the motel itself is clean, comfortable and was reasonably priced. We had a nice unit with separate bedroom and pull out in the lounge which was great for three of us.

They also have a backpackers option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwigrrl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The rooms were spotless and all amenities worked well.A great place to bounce around the north-Cape Rienga/Spirits Bay/Whatawhihi etc.A
If you dont want to cook the restaurant over the road is good and a liquor store also.
Best place to stay at in the far north

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a nice clean room with a very comfortable bed. The motel is situated on a cliff top overlooking the harbour and the sunrise was beautiful. Pukenui is an ideal place to stay if you want to get to Cape Reinga before the bus loads of tourists crowd this beautiful spiritual place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsdal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Simple motel, that is a little dated. But it was convient, clean, tidy and well equipped.
Across road is a supermarket, liquor store and takeaway/cafe. Motel located in front of coast, so lovely views.
Staff were really friendly and welcoming.
Don't expect a posh place, but its a good pick.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ch3rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pukenui
0.3 mi away
Pukenui Holiday Park
Pukenui Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Pukenui
31 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Waipapakauri
27 reviews
15.3 mi away
Te Kao Lodge
Te Kao Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cape Reinga
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Karikari Lodge
Karikari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Karikari Peninsula
46 reviews
21.7 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
105 reviews
15.9 mi away
Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park
Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park
#3 of 5 in Karikari Peninsula
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pukenui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pukenui Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Pukenui Wharf Road, Pukenui 0484, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Pukenui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Pukenui
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pukenui Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's northernmost motel, Pukenui Lodge is set amongst beautiful semi-tropical gardens with spectacular views over the picturesque Houhora Harbour. Secluded and private, our Northland motel accommodation is the perfect place to escape and unwind. Just up the harbour from Houhora Heads, Pukenui is a small fishing village which has views stretching up and down the scenic harbour. Located 70km south of Cape Reinga, the northernmost tip of New Zealand, and only a 10-minute drive to Ninety Mile Beach, Pukenui is a truly breathtaking spot. With such captivating surroundings there is a wealth of activities with which to amuse yourself while staying at Pukenui Lodge Motel & Backpackers. There are tours to Cape Reinga and Ninety Mile Beach available, or you can try your hand at kayaking, sand boarding the giant Te Paki sand dunes, horse treks, and quad biking. Otherwise you can simply relax and visit one of the five fabulous beaches nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pukenui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing