We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Starbotton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Devonshire Fell Hotel(Burnsall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Burnsall)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
29
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
4
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We enjoy a weekend away to do some walking and eating, though not usually at same time. We wanted to explore Wharfdale and chose this B and B due to the reviews on here. We were not disappointed at all. We were, as seems the custom, greeted by two mugs of tea and delicious home made cakes, a really nice, thoughtful touch. We stayed in the room in the main house which was spotless airy and bright. The bed was soft and comfortable. The shower was excellent. We were asked what time we wanted breakfast which was served promptly. There was fresh fruit salad as well as toast cereals and yogurt. I had the full English which was superb, tasty sausages, bacon and beautiful eggs, this was served together with baked beans, tomato and mushrooms. My wife had poached eggs on toast which I am told was excellent. Claire and her family are lovely and made us feel really at home. If you get a chance to stay here then please do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GezandJune1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We traveled up from the south coast with two friends and were greeted by the owner Claire - we were directed to the two adjoining rooms in a converted stables (or garage) at the back of the property overlooking the garden and views down the valley with horses in the field and chickens pecking around. The two rooms were the same - very cosy and clean with en suite toilet/ shower room - the only window was in the stable type door but this seemed adequate. We had heard the bed was noisy and did notice but not too bad - the only criticism is that there were no hooks for wet coats - it does rain in the dales - and how! . Home made cake appeared in the room every afternoon - a delightful touch for weary returning walkers .The Fox and Hounds pub is very handy for a quick meal but not exactly the most welcoming - shame really. Breakfast was served in a delightful dining room with a welcoming log fire - generally of a good standard with plenty of bread ,cereals and fruit to "stoke up" for the day. The quality of B&B breakfasts is generally very high nowadays and this is no exception but not outstanding .We stayed for a week and would have liked to be asked if we wanted a change like scrambled egg etc. Claire is an excellent natural host and is a delight to behold caring for her horses come rain or shine - all in all a great place to stay in a great location for a visit to the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Sundowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire p, Manager at Hilltop House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Hilltop House is a family run bed and breakfast with just three rooms. Our aim is to provide a relaxing friendly home from home break in our own particular style. Our two rooms in the annexe were created from a stable originally built to house our horses. We believe they lend themselves perfectly as a peaceful retreat with one of the most beautiful views in the Dales right outside the window!
Hilltop is a Grade 2 listed property and any alterations to buildings such as these must be passed by the Yorkshire Dales National Park. In the case of our rooms they insisted the building looked as it originally had done when first built! Therefore large doors on the rear of the stable still remain. The front however looks towards the hills of Wensleydale and provides a lovely sunny spot to relax when the weather permits! The rooms decorated country house style are modern, well insulated with up to date heating and bathrooms
We are a friendly approachable bunch at Hilltop, we have even won an award for it! We do believe there is a generally relaxed atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble! Most guests feel comfortable to ask for alternatives to a cooked breakfast, our eggs are freshly laid by our own hens and are absolutely delicious served any way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have just spent may bank holiday weekend at hilltop house b & b in Starbotton. The was recommended by some friends and it is easy to see why. I would not hesitate to recommend this gem of place to anyone.

We arrived early, and Claire was very welcoming, even bringing us tea and cake as we settled in. We stayed in the king sized room which is separate to the main house. This is decorated well, and the room was spotless and a good size. The only comment I would make is that the only window is in the door, which when the door is closed means the rooms is quite dark, although it is a stable door, which you could have open if the weather is good.
There is plenty of local info in the room, as well as a good tea and coffee tray. It was nice to see some green tea on offer as well as the usual cuppa.

The location is a great spot for walkers and there are many paths right from the door, which I always enjoy, it's great to leave the car behind.

One evening we went for dinner to the white lion in cray, a couple of miles up the road towards Buckden. I would not recommend this pub, the food was not of great quality and it was over seasoned, it also felt quite grubby, although the open fire was nice and the bar maid was friendly.

Breakfast at hill top was good, there was cereal, toast which you could help yourself to, plenty of tea and coffee, and then if you wanted a cooked breakfast to follow. We were not rushed for breakfast and Claire's friendly approach made us feel very comfortable.

The property is amazingly beautiful, as it the location, if you are looking for a weekend away as a couple and you enjoy the outdoors then this is the place to go.

110% Claire we loved it, and will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeyjingler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Having recently returned from a lovely 2-nights away in the Yorkshire Dales I am keen to tell others what a fantastic time we had. Claire and Nick have a very beautiful house in a breath-taking and very envious location. The views from our double room were glorious and we were able to look out on their horses grazing.
We arrived approx. 3pm on Saturday afternoon and Claire's daughter Charlotte brought us tea and tea cakes to have whilst we unpacked. The double room (in the house) was very spacious and just right for our stay. The little touches of complimentary shower gel and shampoo were very handy as I had forgotten to pack both.
We walked to Kettlewell on Saturday afternoon and enjoyed a pint at the Bluebell, which was very lively. On Sunday we walked over the top of the hill directly opposite the B&B to Arncliffe and then walked back through Kettlewell. After a very wet day, we arrived back to fairy cakes to have with our tea. Lovely.
Claire's breakfast was lovely; freshly prepared and cooked and served on hot plates. You could have as much tea & coffee as you could drink and didn't feel rushed, which I have experienced in other places.
We ate evening meals at The Buck and The Bluebell, which both serve home-cooked food and thoroughly enjoyed our time away. I highly recommend this beautiful B&B in a location to die for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCDBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Me and my partner stayed for two nights in the double room with breakfast.

Hilltop House felt like a home away from home! Claire has an incredible eye for detail -The rooms are decorated in an English Country House style which is both warm and welcoming.

The second day was the highlight of our stay, after a long day travelling we got back to our room to find a freshly baked chocolate fudge cake waiting for us!

We could not fault our stay and we both hope to be returning very soon.

Room Tip: I recommend the Executive Double.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherineh869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews