We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a budget holiday destination at a budget (type) cost”
Review of Noosa Lakes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Noosa Lakes Resort
new zeland
Level Contributor
316 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“a budget holiday destination at a budget (type) cost”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Australis resort caters for most types of travellers.
We stayed in a studio room that had it's own bathroom and balcony. All the units either back on to the three pools or on to the lake behind the resort. A unlucky few back on to a very busy main road.

The good points are the cost of staying, not too expensive. The location, just a 5 minute walk or 10 minute stroll to a ferry that runs the whole length of Noosa foreshore and only cost $20 for an all day pass. Also the small township of Tewantin is just a 3 minute drive away, with it's many restaurants and takeaways, and woolworths.

The minus points for us were:-
The bed, managed to give us a bad back and we didn't get a good sleep any night, (but that could be due to the loud heat pump always kicking in and out all night long - and it wasn't even our heat pump - it was the one for upstairs!)
The rather mean spirited minimal welcome (?) pack of a few coffee's tea's and milk and the "you are only allowed one toilet roll"! You'd think that if you were staying a week or longer they could freshen up the basics, wouldn't you? They do offer re-supplies - but at a cost!
They obviously don't want you to do much more than sleep there, as there is only a microwave and very limited eating implements - which is fine as there were many takeaway's - but i'd like to see a bit more.
Lastly, and this is probably picky, although the place was clean, it is a bit tired in places and you can see where the cleaning is a bit less than spotless (just like your home really), nothing that makes you freak out, but you can see it's done by the numbers.
The real question - would you go back - YES, YES YES

Room Tip: ask for one that back on to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    110
    66
    22
    23
See reviews for
54
154
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is my second time staying here. This time we had a lovely spacious apartment at the end of a road so was quiet. The location suits us just fine and the apartment was very nice with good views out over the lake and the Bush Turkey home building he was great intertainment. How ever did note that the reception area was not looking its best took them a couple of days to get things clean and tidy after a function that was held the day before we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Staying here for a week and how nice is it. Parents have been coming here for 10+ years and after coming here now, I can see why. A great location, good facilities, and very helpful staff who are onto things straight away if you need something. Clean, everything in good condition ... and the location is away from the busier areas of Noosa, yet easily accessible to walk to lots of handy local spots.
Really enjoyed this holiday at this place. Perfect.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Beautiful little resort. Family Safe. Friendly locals and excellent Staff. We will be returning to Australis next year. Walking distance to Wharf, which provides romantic Ferry Service directly to Hasting Street !

Room Tip: Best rooms- are away from main-road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 272SAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights mid-week for a short break.
Good facilities owned privately but rentals coordinated thru the front office - office hours circa 7am to 6pm. Nice view of the swimming pools from the room, but a bit cool to swim in winter. Clean and very functional unit, with a comfortable bed, roomy bathroom, kitchen sink, toaster, jug, iron, ironing board and breakfast table and 2 chairs. Can't remember if there was a microwave. Also a mini-bar (which I didn't use) and laundry facilities which I used twice - packets of detergent $1.50 from the front office.
People upstairs were a bit noisy till midnight, but they settled down after that - I slept really well!
Nearby location explored a bit, but mostly I drove further afield. (So many roundabouts and I'm from Canberra!) Reasonably-priced food at Noosaville, Noosa Junction, Tewantin and the food court at Noosa Heads.
Took the ferry from the Tewantin Marina (just across the road and short bridge from the unit) to Noosa Heads and did some walking.
Only complaint re the unit was the covered parking bays, which were adequate and close by, but a bit narrow for my 4WD.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oz_lightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Friends had a Groupon special offer and we stayed three nights midweek for $360 for the four of us. We had a downstairs bed sitter with balcony, kitchenette and bathroom. Our friends stayed upstairs in a one bedroom unit. We had a joint entrance and liked having our privacy when we wanted it. The units are built around the swimming pools and BBQs and some units overlook the lake. The resort is opposite the boat harbour so it was easy access to restaurants and the River cruises. The main shopping areas of Noosa are about 10 minutes away and if you don't have a car the easiest way is to catch the river ferry.

Room Tip: All units appeared to have a good outlook. Some overlook the lake which is good for bird watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlieben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was not impressed. Was told it was 4 star but in fact lucky to be 3. Ripped carpet, and iron. Marks on carpet. Very dated. Mildew in shower. Had a magazine in window to keep it shut. Looked fantastic on internet but did not live up to expectations, I would not reccommend this resort.
Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't go for studio. Was rubbish and had no facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tewantin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewantin
0.8 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
2.9 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.6 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ivory Palms Resort Noosa
Ivory Palms Resort Noosa
#18 of 42 in Noosaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
1.7 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
#8 of 42 in Noosaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noosa Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noosa Lakes Resort

Property: Noosa Lakes Resort
Address: 3 Hilton Tce, Tewantin, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Tewantin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tewantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Noosa Lakes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noosa Lakes Resort is situated along the beautiful Noosa River on the Sunshine Coast of Queensland and provides relaxing resort experence in excellent proximity to the many leisurely activities of Noosa. The property is positioned on seven landscaped acres by the shores of Lake Doonella and opposite the Noosa River, and features three lagoon-style pools (including one heated pool). Surrounded by wilderness, you are only minutes to the town centre, the beach and local attractions.The resort is one and a half hours north of Brisbane airport and just 30 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport(Maroochydore).Noosa Lakes offers beach-house living accommodation. Each of the studio rooms, One bedroom Apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses have a balcony, Wi Fi internet, TV/DVD, Foxtel and have views over the gardens, lake, river or pools. All units are air-conditioned in the lounge room and the 1 Bedroom apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses are fully self-contained.Located adjacent to the property (just 100 metres) is the beautiful Noosa Marina, which provides restaurants, cafes, river and lake cruises, a wine bar, day spa and a The Noosa Ferry that offers access via the Noosa River to Noosa's famous Hastings Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Noosa Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Noosa Lakes Hotel Tewantin
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort
Noosa Lakes Resort Tewantin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing