We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Breath of Fresh air”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Maison du Loup

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Greolieres, Alpes Maritimes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Terrence...
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT IT PROMISED”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house itself is very comfortable and well equipped. Indeed the upstairs bathroom is the best we have had in Europe. We would have appreciated summer bed linen, as we had to dispense with the duvet provided as it was too hot and sleep with the cover.

Some people will be put off by the rather tricky driveway, but if one negotiates the tight bends by reversing back and forth it is not so bad. However the grass edges were very long and one could not see the edge or hidden rocks. The washline area was also badly overgrown but was cut on request.

Our first impression was of a house needing TLC, with the difficult driveway, long grass edges and weeds in the paving outside the front door. Indeed we later discovered a nice herb garden after pulling out a tangle of weeds.

The picnic site near the river is glamourised as the route is overgrown and not clearly marked. We managed to find it after scrambling down, finding our way back with difficulty and could certainly not have carried a picnic basket, blankets, hammocks, etc.

the village itself was a major disappointment. None of the restaurants was open at night, although to be fair one was changing hands.The local shop has some provisions for emergency meals, but is not well stocked and the proprietress seemed disinterested.We found it was best to eat out a lunchtime and to shop for provisions for an evening meal at a supermarket on the way back.We had a couple of barbeques (or as we refer to them braais) but the gas barbeque did not work very well, even after it was cleaned by Nick.

The location is good for younger persons who are into hiking and cycling, but for the more mature traveller it is a bit remote and far from any attractions. Gourdon is the nearest attractive village with reasonable restaurants (daytime only) and Vance is charming but 27 kilometers away.

In summary the house is great, the view fantastic, and the serenity and remoteness most enjoyable for a relaxed self catered stay. However for those wishing to explore the area, the mountainous access roads and the distances from restaurants, reasonable shopping and other attractions are a major deterrent. Unless one is used to such driving conditions the driving times given can at best be described as optimistic.

We wondered if the owners are frequent visitors as, having obviously made a considerable investment, it is our opinion that the house and the whole proper is urgently in need of some attention to make it more enjoyable and user friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: The lack of local restaurants and shopping and the access to the rest of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2013
Hi Barry, sorry your holiday didn't live up to your expectations, but I don't think it was us that promised things you didn't get. The house is described as being set in 15 acres of oak forest, and the photos show the valley and woodland quite clearly. I've never thought of a pic-nic as being glamourous, more rustic, and the path is subtly marked by painted squares to avoid turning it into a theme park. I don't think it's an age thing either as we've had plenty of couples older than yourselves who have enjoyed the woodland for what it is, and have holidayed here specifically for the incredible walks the mountains provide.

On the first day when you asked if the garden could be strimmed and told me the bbq wasn't working well I dropped everything and came round to sort it. We had been chasing our part time gardener as the grass had gone pretty wild very quickly, but he's on Provence time and couldn't get there before you arrived. So I did it myself, plus went over the bbq. It was working great and as you didn't get back in touch I naturally concluded it was working well for you too. Perhaps you got the high and low settings round the wrong way, they're not intuitively marked.

The local shop is just that, not a supermarket, which is exactly how it's described in the guest book. But you really missed out on some good eating in the village - if you had tried it more than just one night mid week, when the pizzeria was changing hands and the Cheiron was having it's weekly night-off, you'd have discovered some great unpretentious cooking at reasonable prices. We provide details of these restaurants with their phone numbers in the guest book, but I guess if you live in a more commercial part of the World you might not be used to places closing. In fact two of the 4 restaurants are lunch time only except for the weekends. But then Gréolières is an un touristy, unspoilt Provencal village of less than 500 inhabitants, so we feel pretty lucky to have the choice eateries that we have.

We take all criticism seriously, but I can't help thinking you would have been better within walking distance of a larger town like Vence or Valbonne, but then you wouldn't have got away from it all as we promise and you'd have paid at least double.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenMar...
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“A Breath of Fresh air”
Reviewed 15 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We arrived with tension in our backs from our hectic lifestyle, it did not take but a few moments with a glass of 'Vin Rouge' in our hands, sitting on the terrace and taking in the view to forget everything that we left. We spent a week in this fantastic location where we were never left wondering what to do. Always a morning walk to the river, followed by a hike to either a near by peak or to town or simply read a book on the terrace and listening to the calm of the place. From our personal experience, we look back and think, what a dream to live like this year round. Even the local town, which is not more than a few minutes car ride, has some great little cafes and restaurants; not to mention a great local vibe. We recommend this place, highly and without a doubt will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and surrounding and how it was in such great condition. Also the help that the owners provided us
Liked least: That the vacation had to end
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proflifes...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sanctuary created, a vision of peace and funky comforts!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Time stops, either loosing your self staring out across the valley or snuggled up with a great book and a glass of red wine by one of the two indoor fires. For the best part of the week my partner I got lost from the world. Typically we live a hectic life so this well appointed home with many creature comforts was a gem. You can retreat up stares to the open lounge area, which has a loft appeal like being in a funky warehouse. Down stairs has a fantastic open plan kitchen lounge dining area. Positioned above a valley surrounded by an oak forest. Just a short stroll down to the stream at the bottom of the garden or walk the Roman path down to the friendly village of Greolier, passing remnants of old ruins of centuries gone by.
The whole area has many treats for the adventurous. There is a small ski field only 20 mins drive, it's not Chamonix but enough to give you a fix. We where surprised to find out that the area has an avid paragliding community and had a tandem flight out across the valley s,uch a cool way to take in the area with Greolier below and Sepia across the valley. Looking forward to our return and plan on taking a group of good friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serenity
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heleen J
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natbutor
Auribeau-sur-Siagne, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing