We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a fairy castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2007

It was our daughters wedding venue and what a place to have a wedding. Everything was perfect from start to finish and everyone had a fantastic time. The staff fell over backwards to make sure everything was ok, the rooms were beautiful and the building and grounds are gorgeous. So much to see and do. The food was top class and would like to have stayed a week but the fairy tail wedding celebrations came to an end the next day and we had to return to reality.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank loubie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,479 - 1,485 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2007

We only stayed one night at the Ettington Park and wished it could have been more. The surroundings were stunningly beautiful. The staff were very helpful and very attentive, they even advised us on the best way to see the local attractions. The room we had was above expectations, the pool was an added luxury. The breakfast we had was outstanding, we could not fault any part of our stay.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Surrey021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

My wife and I just returned from a month long trip to Europe and had the pleasure of staying at Ettington park during our UK swing We found the property so interesting that we feel compelled to write this longish review.

Before we left the US my wife had gone on line and booked a night at Ettington Park which looked interesting and was about where we wanted to begin our weeklong tour of the UK and Scotland countryside.

Upon arrival at Ettington we were immediately impressed and excited. The drive up to the property was exquisite and we knew before we walked in that we would like the property. The greeting by the staff as well as all of the interaction we had with them was amazing.

As a matter of fact, when we were talking with Catherine at the front desk, and in conversation, mentioned that we had no plans after here other than to tour the countryside while working our way up to Edinburgh it was she who recommended that we consider staying at some of the other properties owned by this hotel group (we did not even know there were others). She ended up booking us in at Wood Hall, Norton House and Rookery Hall.

Without going into extensive detail we had the opportunity to stay and dine at each of these hotels and found them each unique and wonderful in their own way (Ettington was our favorite, definitely the best staff).

What we found extremely interesting was the development and implementation of the brand and the way in which it was carried out. They have done an amazing job and this groups collection of country estates are one of the few hotel properties that we would stay at based solely on the basis of who owns it!

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank JonathanandLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Just returned from an overnight stay at Ettington Park. The building and grounds are wonderful however although the standard room we stayed in was comfy and clean enough, decoration was a little 'tired' looking and not as sumptuous as some of the website photos look (although the more expensive rooms may be different). Breakfast was served promptly to the room in the morning and was very good. The pool/sauna facilities are nice but don't expect the pool you see advertised on the 'Hand Picked' website - this was either a good angle or they've stretched the photo to look twice the size! Just a warning to anybody staying on a Sunday night and not planning to eat in the hotel ; taxi's are double time and so return to Stratford costs approx £40. Plus when we got into the town centre at about 8.45 p.m we could not get a meal; all restaurants had stopped serving and so we ended up in the curry house - although it was a good curry.
Overall the hotel is definately worth seeing just be aware that you are a little isolated especially for night time eating, drinking etc apart from hotel facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sm15000SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Just got back from a 2 night stay in an executive double room.
This is a very nice and comfortable hotel and a definite cut above some 4 stars i,ve stayed in. Being fussy the only and main gripe i would have is that there were some conferences going on which meant that at times there were some 'communal' rooms that we couldn't visit but i guess this is the way the hotel makes their money. Overall we really enjoyed are stay. Four star is about right. The staff bar none were fantasic and helpful and no question was to much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liver123_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

My husband and I stay in hotels all around the world. This was by far the best and most interesting place we have ever stayed. It is absolutely stunning and the service is bar none! It is priced unbelieveably well. A Must!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CHRSimilkameen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We booked this hotel for our anniversary. we visitied Stratford upon Avon during the day and arrived at the hotel at 2:30pm. We were then told check in was at 3pm so we could have a drink or go for a walk. We managed to do both as the room didnt become available until 3:45pm. Even then we had to ask to see if it was ready. I feel this isnt the service for a 4 star hotel.

The room was in the old part of the building (No.4) and was nice although was shabby in some areas. Handles missing from the drawers and lino in the bathroom.

We used the pool and sauna which were nice but again a little unclean in some areas. Previous comments about the pool being cold are also true.

We called reception and booked a cab into Stratford for dinner. Our table was booked for 7:30pm and we asked for a cab at 7pm to enable us to have plenty of time. We went to reception at 7pm and was told a cab hadnt been booked. Eventually we managed to get a cab for 7:25pm and had to rush our dinner. The manager apologised for the level of service but seemed he didnt know what to do about it. He parting comment was 'we will have a bottle of bubbly in the room when you get back'. A nice thought and it did make things slightly better.

Breakfast was nice but the scrambled eggs would not be recommended.

Another moan about the service was on arrival I asked for a newspaper for the following morning....I was not surprised that it never arrived!

Overall a nice looking hotel that could do with improvements. The service was poor and it was all of the small things that let it down. If I was paying for a travel lodge I would accept these short comings but for the price I feel it was not value for money.

We have written to the manager and will update this review on their reply.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank petercLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,068 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,177 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,157 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: £102 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing