We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We spend an incredible day in Ettington Park Hotel.
The place is great, very near Stratford upon Avon (around 10 kms away). It has a wonderful Park to walk around in the evening, ... early in the morning .. or with a shinny sun or rainy afternoon!!!!
Very peaceful and quiet area, you have deers and phaisans in the área and/or the same property.
Also beautiful and comfortable rooms (no question about it) and a nice swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna, great for some relaxation.
We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was incredible, and also the maitre from Poland was really friendly and helpful.
No doubt you will have a great time at this hotel!

Room Tip: We were in Standard rooms and they were excellent! I believe that any room will be a good choice
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genesis4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am a little biased but I could agree more with you ! I still get a tingle when I drive in to work.

Your kind words are very much appreciated.I will pass on your commenst to Pawel , I am sure he will be delighted.

I hope we can welcome you back soon

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
There are newer reviews for Ettington Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

I knew when booking this hotel that it would be good but in reality it exceeded all of my expectations. I have paid similar prices to stay in 4* hotels in London on a room only basis. However our classic break of two nights B&B including champagne, canapes and a 3 course meal on the first night was truly amazing. The hotel and grounds are stunning, the staff and service were amazing and our room was immaculate.
We stayed in the newer annexe which adjoins the old building but this was perfectly good and very quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Special thanks should go to Damion (Daimon?) for his helpful and friendly welcome and also to Matheusz our proffesional and efficient breakfast waiter, however I should point out that every member of staff we encountered were polite, civil, and extremely helpful. I would heartily recommend this hotel and would very much like to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk_travellerSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at Ettington Park for two nights in early March 2012. The hotel is set in its own grounds well away from the road, so is nice and secluded and very quiet. This is a old house/stately home that has been converted into a hotel in the 1980’s after spending time as a POW camp for Italian prisoners during WW2 and a brief time as a nightclub in the 1970’s until a fire caused it to close. It is also reputed to be one of the most haunted houses England, although the only spirits we encountered during our stay were in the bar!!

Our room (Number 14) was in the new block which was added to the hotel in 1980’s during renovation, access to this new part of the hotel is a bit tricky through a couple of corridors and flights of stairs, we felt that this was a bit of a pain and had not been planned properly. The room was an executive double, which was very comfortable spacious and well appointed, with tea & coffee making facilities and a large flat screen TV.

We found time to use the hotels pool which was very pleasant and also made use of the hot-tub, sauna and steam room which were all clean and well maintained, although access to this area was again up and down stairs and along corridors. We also had a nice walk around the gardens and ground which we imagined would be lovely during the summer, we could just see ourselves sipping Pimms on the terrace, but alas during early March bit too early in the year for such thoughts.

We did not dine at the hotel either night as on our first night we opted to eat in nearby Stratford and on the second night they were fully booked, but on the recommendation of the receptionist we dined at the Bell in the village, which was very nice and probably half the price of Ettington Park!!!

The breakfasts were served in the dining room and were pretty good, with a couple of reservations, the bacon on both mornings was over done and dry and on the 2nd morning the timings went all off beam, the cooked breakfast arrived before our toast and at the same time as our tea and coffee, not very professional.

The staff were all very polite and helpful throughout our time at Ettington Park which certainly contributed to a most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavenSueSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We booked this hotel for our 25th Weddng Anniversary. On arrival we had a fantastic greeting by Damion hotel reception. The check is was smooth and was then taken to our lovely room overlooking beautiful grounds and the church.
We had a very relaxing afternoon with afternoon tea and then went for a swim, the pool facilities were great and relaxed on the chairs beside the pool.
We booked our evening meal for 8pm, but prior to this were were greeted by the bar staff and served canopies along with a glass of complimentary champagne because of our special occassion, what a lovely touch.
We were delighted by the choice and variety on the menu.
And as we had guessed the meal was suburb and the staff very attentive during the evening.
Breakfast was also to our expectations.
Would be go back ####OH YES DEFINATELY####.
We are now looking at booking another handpicked break within the chain.
We defi anyone who gives this hotel a bad review.

Room Tip: We had the pritchard room ,lovely size, great wash room facilities and as expected well stocked tea...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We last stayed in this hotel 13 years ago and had a fantastic time in this glorious building. We have always said we would like to come back, but never got around to it, so to celebrate a 40th birthday, we booked a night here with our two young children to see if things are still as good. We stayed here for one night last weekend (10th March) and had booked a family suite with dinner and breakfast. We were shown to our room by Damon, who was very welcoming and we loved the fact that he actually spoke to our children - many places just ignore them. When we got to our room, it was in the old part of the house and we were shown to what looked like a small sitting room with a sofa, table and large TV and DVD player (there is a menu for borrowing DVD 's from the hotel which they don't advertise but it is really handy to be able to borrow films - great choice too). A set of stairs went up to a separate double bedroom with another TV and bathroom. I have to say that initially, we were a bit alarmed at the room, as our children are 2 and 5 years old and the idea of them sleeping downstairs and having to come up and get us was not that appealing. We tried to swap the room and even offered to pay extra but were told the hotel was fully booked. I do think that the hotel should make it clear that some rooms have stairs, or if you have booked with children ring and ask you if this would be an issue - if they had been older we wouldn't have thought twice but at this age, I would have chosen to have them closer out of preference. However, this aside, we were determined to make the most of our stay, and the children didn't have any problem with the sleeping arrangements! We explored the beautiful grounds in the afternoon and enjoyed sitting in the garden having a drink and a chat. We came down for dinner and had drinks in the bar before being shown to our table. Ben was a great help with the wine recommendation - thanks Ben - the Chianti was superb! All the staff were welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The food was gorgeous and there was a special menu for the children, which they loved. By the time we had finished our main courses, the children were getting quite tired and it was at this point that the lady who was serving us (really sorry but we didn't get her name - she was from South Wales and had blonde hair and recently passed her driving test!) really amazed us as she took our dessert orders and said that as the children looked tired and had been so well behaved, would we like our desserts sending to our room? We thought that was a lovely touch as she had noticed our children and the fact they looked tired and offered the perfect solution, which we gladly took her up on - thankyou very much. We slept very well in our room, as did the children and the sound of the local owls outside was great to hear. On Sunday morning we tried to make a coffee in our room, but there was no milk or coffee whitener so we abandoned the idea. Also there was nothing suitable for the children to drink - no water in the rooms at all and nothing other than tea and coffee to drink. Minor niggle, but should be easy to resolve. We all went down to breakfast and again, it was fantastic. There is a vast choice of buffet food and the cooked breakfast was lovely. My only request would be that water be available without having to ask for it - we had to ask twice for water for the children and I do think it should have been available with the fruit juices. This is a minor gripe and did not spoil the breakfast but after not having anything to drink in the room, the children were thirsty! After breakfast we explored the grounds and Ben spent some time telling us some of the history of the house and gave us some literature to take away - we have since read more of this and can't believe the wealth of history that is here to see. We packed our bags and headed off home having had a lovely stay. It has an air of staying at an old friends house - the decor isn't spotless and modern but it is comfortable and welcoming and the staff were all great. Apart from the few niggles I mentioned, there is little to fault Ettington Park and we would definately like to go back and stay - will make sure we don't wait 13 years next time!

Room Tip: garden rooms are newer if this bother you and try and get a suite if you can - they are worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had an overnight stay here last weekend. The service was amazing and the food was by far the best we have eaten anywhere!! We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed 2nd March 2012 for 1 night. The drive up to the main house is stunning, the grounds are quite beautiful with deer, rabbits, sheep etc in an expanse of woodland. The building is imposing with huge windows, sweeping staircases and high ceilings, everything you would expect from a hand picked hotel. Staff were very polite and helpful. Our suite was amazing with every need catered for. The restaurant Concierge was especially attentive and made us feel so comfortable. The food was wonderful however I am not sure it was entirely value for money, main course £24.00. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster, (£15.00 each), our room service card was not collected and when we finally received the food the portions were very small (a sausage, half tomato, a hash brown and 2 rubbery rashers of bacon, 1 round of toast each), very disappointing as it was our anniversary and breakfast in bed would have been the ultimate treat for 2 very hard working parents. Overall a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,967 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,134 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,116 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: £100 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing