We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice to be back...”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We visited this hotel again after spending some time in Stratford on Avon, and it was great to see it again.

On arrival, a warm welcome from the ever friendly Daimon, and for the price of a small upgrade, we booked into the Stour Suite, a wonderful room with floor to ceiling windows and a magnificent view across the grounds.

As ever, lots of smiles, and some of the most helpful staff around. Afternoon cream tea on the terrace was a welcome diversion, as we didn't expect it to be warm enough in March! Dinner was once again beautifully presented, in lovely surroundings, as was breakfast.

Would we go back again? Yes, absolutely.

Room Tip: If offered, go for the upgrade; the suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulsease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    351
    118
    49
    25
See reviews for
270
771
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

OK I booked this room last minute as the work load on the farm allowed us time, and it was a B&B offer (not DB&B) but presumed that we would still be able to eat in the restaurant. But this was not the case. If we wanted to dine we had to eat in the drawing room. A table was made up for us but we felt so uncomfortable sitting there with no else eating, then to top it all the menu available was poor - lamb sausages, beef stew, whole plaice (most at £15.00 + sides at £3.95), and they wouldn't allow us to eat off the restaurant menu in this room, so we decided to eat elsewhere. Luckily the Restaurant Manager recommended somewhere, The Bell, where we had the best meal we've had in a long time. When I gave our room number to a member of staff, he replied 'oh, its small' which did sum up the room with no view. Have stayed here before, but after this visit it's burst its bubble. Walked round the grounds Sunday morning, my partner quoted that this needed some money spending on it (walls falling down by the tennis court and the mini ha-ha were in a poor state)

Room Tip: We were in the new annex so room had little character and was small. Pillows were uncomfortable, tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy050813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am sorry that you felt let down during your stay.I would like to dicuss your stay with you in my detail and therefore please can you contact me on jsquire@handpicked.co.uk

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Have just returned from three nights at the hotel. The room was lovely, bed very comfortable and the complimentary fresh milk and mineral water very welcome.
The dinner on our first night was fabulous starting with canapés and champagne in the drawing room. Breakfast was of an equally good quality I especially enjoyed the banana waffles!
The staff were friendly and generally efficient and knowledgable taking an interest in our reasons for the visit (our 10th wedding anniversary).
We made good use of the pool area and found it to be of a high standard.
Our one small complaint is that during our champagne on the first night a wedding party had taken over the drawing room and again when we had afternoon tea, to the extent that we could barely walk through the bar to the room. We both felt self conscious dressed in jeans whilst surrounded by elegantly dressed wedding guests. This could have been easily rectified if someone had suggested we wait half an hour as fortunately the guests left for their wedding breakfast after 15 mins, something which was presumably scheduled. This did put us off using the bar again as we knew there was another wedding the following day. Having said that the weddings did not intrude on us otherwise and we were not disturbed by evening dos.
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.Your kind words about the hotel are very much appreciated.I am sorry that the Great Drawing Room was busy due to the wedding, I have noted your comments about advising guests of this and will dicuss this with the team

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It was our 2nd wedding anniversary and we decided to go away for a few days to a hotel as a treat. We have used handpicked a number of times in the past and have found the chain very relaxed without being over fussy like as some high end hotels can be.

The location of the hotel is very nice set in a number of acres of grounds that weather permitting you can stroll around, we had rain so didn't get out. Upon arrival the check in process was fast and efficient, the concierge was a very helpful and chatty he showed us to our room 29 in the extension.

The room was large with a massive bed and a decent sized bathroom. One odd thing was that there was only one pack of complimentary biscuits with the tea and coffee, this was the same after the room had been serviced considering two of us were staying it would have been nice to have 2 packs. Another thing I found really frustrating is the room had complimentary broadband but this is wired, not much use for my iPad or iPhone and considering the mobile reception is poor in the area they should get the hotel wifi coverage up to the bedrooms not just in the public areas.

We were on a Dinner bed and Breakfast deal which was a reasonable price. The food we enjoyed was lovely and a fair choice however if you were staying for more than a couple of days the Table de Hote menu might not have enough variation on it. The staff in the restaurant were excellent addressing us by name when serving us and remembering our names throughout the duration of our stay.

All in all a good break away despite the weather, if we needed to stay in the area again we would certainly look at this property again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FB_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your kind words.I have addressed the situation regarding Ipads and I have purchased a number of portable routers that allow wifi in bedrooms.Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed on a DBB rate in an executive room. The room was very large and nicely decorated. Excellent food and service. The grounds are stunning. Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I do appreciate your kind words and also delighted that you will return; dont leave it too long !!

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston
Level Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here on a mid- week package, which included the table d'hôte dinner and breakfast. Amazing value.

The hotel is imposing and impressive. Very good personal treatment at reception. The room was modern, comfortable and well equipped. The service was excellent, with all the staff addressing us by name at all times.

Dinner was good for the table d'hôte. Breakfast was served at the table, as it should be, but rarely is.

Excellent experience. I would recommend it. And it's a short drive to Stratford.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am sure the team will also enjoy reading your comments.

Thank you, and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We spend an incredible day in Ettington Park Hotel.
The place is great, very near Stratford upon Avon (around 10 kms away). It has a wonderful Park to walk around in the evening, ... early in the morning .. or with a shinny sun or rainy afternoon!!!!
Very peaceful and quiet area, you have deers and phaisans in the área and/or the same property.
Also beautiful and comfortable rooms (no question about it) and a nice swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna, great for some relaxation.
We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was incredible, and also the maitre from Poland was really friendly and helpful.
No doubt you will have a great time at this hotel!

Room Tip: We were in Standard rooms and they were excellent! I believe that any room will be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genesis4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ettington, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am a little biased but I could agree more with you ! I still get a tingle when I drive in to work.

Your kind words are very much appreciated.I will pass on your commenst to Pawel , I am sure he will be delighted.

I hope we can welcome you back soon

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing