We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here back when there was an offer for cream tea, dinner, bed & breakfast. We've stayed in 2 other handpicked hotels and loved them and their service. Unfortunately out of the 3 this is the most disappointing hotel. The grounds are lovely and views are beautiful. From the outside the hotel looks stunning. We were luckily checked even though arriving early. The gentleman on reception was brilliant however the rest of the staff had little to them. The hotel was extremely busy at this time due to the great weather. The rooms are nice with comfortable beds and room even with a cot. The pool is amazing although were never really informed of how to get to it and what we had to do to get in to it. Some of the staff didn't seem to understand the offer as we requested our free cream teas yet just received a tea & coffee each in our room and then were still charged. The dinner was lovely although when we were sat to look through the menu prior the room was filthy and not been tidied or cleaned from the afternoon teas they had served. The biggest disappoint was breakfast in the room. We always do this when staying at handpicked as we have our daughter it makes it easier. It was a good 15-30 minutes late and when received you could tell. The tea & coffee was cold, the food over cooked and spoiled and all we ended up with was cereal. The lady on checkout made us feel slightly awkward as we were only staying the one night where they obviously get people staying for 2nights or more. We have discussed this with the manager and feel they took the comments well. If you are used to amazing this isn't quite there but very easily could be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPLLW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for posting a review on Trip advisor about your stay with us in March this year,

I was sorry to read some of the points you raised in your review, but was pleased you had given feedback to a manager who had taken your comments on board; I can assure you these comments would have been acted on immediately.

I was pleased that you found the grounds stunning and the views lovely and that your room was comfortable and the pool amazing.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback
Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend with our two children for my husbands 40th birthday, what a wonderful place. We ate at the hotel and the food was superb, great choices and the children could choose whatever they liked. The staff are fantastic and really made the stay a special one. Ben was fab ensuring that every need was catered for and Damon was a superstar even gave us a ghost tour. What he doesnt know about the hotels history is not worth knowing. I would definately recommend a stay here. Thank you to all the staff who were so attentive to our needs. We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: We had a suite on two floors which was lovely and roomy for the four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstinp1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review following your stay at Ettington Park, I am delighted you had a great time and that you chose us to celebrate your husbands 40th birthday.
Your comments regarding the staff and food are very much appreciated, and i will ensure Ben and Damon are made aware of your fantastic feedback.

We look forward to seeing you and the family next time you visit Ettington Park

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

For anyone wondering what happend to good service... It's waiting for you at Ettington Park Hotel. In my opinion, the level of service my wife and I received, can only be achieved when the staff LOVE what they do. Beautiful surroundings are are a given, but it's the staff that make you feel at home and very comfortable. It's rare to leave a top class hotel, without questioning the cost. Absolutely worth every penny spent. A huge thank you, to anyone from Ettington Park Hotel and Hand Picked Hotels that reads this.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for posting such an amazing review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your positive feedback, the team at the hotel always appreciate good comments and they will be ecstatic when they read yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ettington Park

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

After a few days in crowded London it was terrific to enjoy the lovely countryside and this wonderful hotel. The staff were more than friendlt. For example, we ate at the restaurant and decided the sit outside and enjoy the sunset before dinner. The waiters brought us out drinks, menues and even took our order while we sat outside and enjoyed the views. They then came and told us when our food was ready so we could go to our table. The food was exceptional.

Our room was number 44 which was a family room which had an upstairs and a downstairs. The kids loved it. We also enjoyed hearing about some of the ghost stories, although our youngest was a little nervous. We had a swim in the pool which is very new and contrasts well to the historic hotel.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and would recommend this hotel highly if you want a place to get away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review about your stay and for recommending us as a venue for future guests, I was delighted to read that you had such a relaxing time with your family.

We hope to welcome you back to Ettington Park in the future

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

A unique venue with bucketloads of history and staff who are the best I have encountered in my 58 years! A real pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricket22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a super review. I was delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much, I will ensure the team are made aware of your fantastic comments; they will take great encouragement from them.

Once again many thanks

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at the Ettington Park Hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome. Although we arrived early, we were shown directly to our room by the friendly concierge. Our room (room no 1) overlooked the grounds and old chapel and was lovely and large, as was the bathroom with huge rolltop bath and separate double shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and could have easily coped with a family of four sleeping in it, it was that big!

We had a light lunch in the Lounge (generously filled smoked salmon sandwich and 'Elevenses' which had all sorts of home made savouries. The homemade scotch eggs were our favourites). We then went for a walk around the estate, making use of the selection of wellies available. My husband followed this with a swim in the pool, which although not huge, was adequate and well kept.

Dinner was in the Oak Room overlooking the chapel ruins which was preceeded in the Lounge by a complementary glass of champagne (the Concierge must have mentioned our celebration to the bar staff). We sipped our champage and ate canapes whilst choosing our meal for that evening. Again the staff were all very welcoming calling us by our name and were unobtrusive throughout. The food was absolutely delicious and compliments were passed onto the chef (along with an offer of a drink).

The next morning saw breakfast being served in the Oak Room and Library. The slight disappointment was that the breakfast buffet was set up in the Entrance Hall/Reception area with a limited choice of cold meats and cheeses. I couldn't fault the smoked salmon and scrambled egg which was delicious and huge but my husband had the English breakfast and both the black pudding and poached eggs were overcooked. Also, we had to remind the waitress that we needed more butter and had to wait for more toast to be brought whilst our cooked breakfasts were getting cold. It seemed that the although the staff were just as friendly as the previous night, both the quality of food and service were a little lacking by comparison (but this is only a very minor point).

On the whole, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet getaway. With excellent food, welcoming staff and peaceful surroundings you can't help but relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Room 1 in the main building overlooks the chapel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Ettington Park, I am so glad you had a lovely stay and and that you chose us to celebrate your 20th Wedding Anniversary with us.
I have noted your comments regarding breakfast and will discuss this with the team, thank you again for taking the time to mention this.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is THE place to go.
Amazingly tasty food, perfect room, the service was so great and the staff are just brilliant.
I am really looking forward to there again.
I highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoicLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at Ettington Park and for recommending us as a venue for future guests. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,567 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,146 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: £102 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing