We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting for a delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Lady Beoirgra and I stayed here for a wedding, so we got to experience a number of different aspects of the hotel service. The grounds are incredible, and make for an amazing stay, as well as offering the most idyllic setting for a wedding. The room we stayed in was lovely, with a large bathroom, and most importantly, an extremely comfortable bed. The staff were especially welcoming, and not at all pompous or overbearingly formal. Upon checking out we were helped by one member of staff who told us about local places to visit and even gave us a leaflet with a 2 for 1 offer for Warwick Castle. Most useful.

The only criticism I have is that when checking in, the receptionist was not able to find the key for our room and had to find a spare. We later found out why this was the case, as another member of staff entered our room about half an hour later with a couple who were being shown around the hotel (probably interested in a wedding). She may have knocked, but there are two doors to enter the room and the sound from the first does not carry. Whilst Mrs Beoirgra was getting changed at the time, thankfully her intimate bits were covered. Likewise, luckily we were not "in flagrante" otherwise the interested couple may have got the wrong impression about the hotel. This seemed unprofessional, and there was no apology.

However, overall this is a wonderful venue for a quiet stay, in lovely surroundings, and a stone's throw from Statford, Leamington and Warwick.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeamusBeoirgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Ettington Park Hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and that you found your room lovely and the staff welcoming.
I taken on board your comments regarding a member of staff entering your room to conduct a showround, we have reviewed our procedures and have taken action to prevent a re-occurrence, please accept my apologies that this was not acknowledged at the time.

Thank you again for your feedback
Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Perfect for us for a trip to the Theatre at Stratford. Cream tea on arrival, a short drive to the theatre, a cocktail before bed, the most comfortable beds you will ever sleep in and a wonderful breakfast. A swim and sauna and home in time for lunch.

Reading other reviews you realise you have to book venues with care. Some frustrated at clashing with weddings and some disappointed about midweek lunch. Well if you book here in mid-summer you really should expect to run into a wedding as it must be on the top 10 for weddings in the midlands. Also in such a beautiful tucked away location, they would not be geared up for voluminous mid-week lunch trade.

This is a one off location. It is individual. It is a bit querky. It has very good rooms and amenities within 10 minutes of Stratford. For all these reasons, WE love it. See you next year.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Charles,
Thank you so much for your recent review of Ettington Park,the team and I were thrilled to read your fabulous account of your stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards,
Grainne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had our wedding at Ettington Park yesterday and the setting was perfect. The rooms are great - especially the suites and the staff were helpful, attentive and really well organised. All our guests were blown away by the beautiful house and grounds, we had a civil ceremony in the library, followed by a blessing in the chapel outside in the hotel grounds. I'd recommend this venue to anyone planning their wedding.

Room Tip: Pick the Victorian Garden Suite for the wedding night - stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Sarah,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review after your wedding here at Ettington Park,we were thrilled to host your special day and we are so glad you had a day to remember.Hopefully we'll welcome you back on your Wedding Anniversary next year!
Kindest regards,
Grainne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed for one night as a surprise for my birthday. The staff were absolutely lovely!!!! Really impressed. So helpful and chatty, kind and attentive.

My boyfriend proposed to me and the staff made it all very special.

The room was immaculate, with a beautiful view and bathroom (room 14)

We also had dinner - which was okay. But we are harsh dinner critics as we usual choose fine dining in London for celebrations. It wasn't quite as nice as we hoped.

Breakfast (also inclusive) was very welcome after a lot of Champagne! Again very helpful staff. A well cooked poached egg and full english, with a good spread of juice, fruit and cereal.

Overall, a lovely country get away. The staff by far make it very special. Would love to see more done to improve the dinner!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Madison

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and once again congratulations on your Engagement.

I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be so kind and attentive, they will be delighted when they read your review.

I have noted your feedback regarding Breakfast and Dinner and will discuss this with the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Ettington Park in the not to distant future

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just had a super 2 night stay for our 30th Wedding Anniversary.
We stayed at Ettington Park in 1979 when it was being renovated into a hotel, with buckets
in the dining room to catch the rain-water. We said we would return when finished if we could afford it., and its taken 33 years!.
A lovely easy going country house hotel, where the staff are very friendly, and provide very helpful and attentive service. We have seen other reviewers saying its 'a bit pricey' , but we would say its well worth the money. It was a Monday and Tuesday night and not to busy for our stay, and I guess during a wedding or corporate event the Staff have a little less time for other guests, but our experience was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing Ettington Park to celebrate your 30th Wedding Anniversary.
It is great to hear that you found the staff friendly, and that they provided attentive and helpful service. I will ensure they are made aware of your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ettington Park in the near future.

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Thanks to all the staff at this wonderful hotel for their personalised care and attention to detail! It is clear that excellence is the motto at Ettington Park. Thank you to Helen, Mateusz, Pawel, Olivia, Pete and Oliver and Colleen.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukiesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and giving us such wonderful feedback. I know the team look at Trip Advisor on a regular basis and I am sure they will take great delight when reading your comments. I will personally thank Helen, Mateusz, Pawel, Olivia, Pete, Oliver and Coleen for receiving special praise from you.

Once again thank you for you kind words

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on previous occasions and keep coming back.

It is a superb historic house with plenty of history to look at and read about inside. The extension is in keeping with the main house and does not spoil things at all. Despite being historic it is kept immaculate and is very well maintained.

The hotel is set in very secluded grounds containing an old church ruin you can look at. Plus its only 10-15 minutes drive into Stratford Upon Avon.

Check in is quick and a porter is called to help you take your cases the the room. The room is fine. There is fresh milk and mineral water left for you each morning in your fridge which is a nice touch.

The 3 course meal is exquisite. But first you relax in the drawing room for Canapes (if included in your package) before being taken to your table. For ale fans there is a full range of Hook Norton Bottled beers!

Breakfast is something else. Freshly cooked to order using first class produce. Tea is even done the traditional way loose and therefore you use a tea strainer.

The staff are very polite, professional and efficient.

There is no downside that we could notice at all.

Room Tip: If you can pay a bit more then the rooms in the old house have that bit more historic character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmaynard64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, but also that you keep coming back because of the levels of service and quality you receive.
I will ensure all the staff are made aware of your super feedback; they will be delighted to read it and will take great encouragement from it.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ettington Park in the future

Kind Regards
Grainne Hayden
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,004 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,154 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,537 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,126 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: £105 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing