We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand hotel - but won't cost that much to stay in!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Grand hotel - but won't cost that much to stay in!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Have stayed here for 8 nights in total across 6 months with work

Good Points
1. Large rooms in the main building, nicely decorated and plush. Bathrooms nice.
2. Staff attentive and welcoming. Waiter service can be a bit of a mixed bag
3. Lovely homemade cake and biscuits
4. Nice grounds
5. Never used the pool but other collegues said it was nice.



Negative points
1. Food was a mixed bag, evening meals were okay. The last night I had chicken with a red wine sauce and it wasn't the best. The desserts were good. Lunch was okay, although carrot salad with truffle oil left a lot to be desired.
2. The main hotel rooms noisy
3. The library and main rooms a bit dusty, especially the blinds.

Overall, I liked it for work but if I stayed with my wife I might feel underwhelmed a bit. It tries to be a luxury place to stay and nearly hits the mark- but falls short.

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superally2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. It is always good to have both positive and negative feedback, please let me assure you that I have addressed the negative points with my managers and these have now been resolved. Should you wish to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back for a future stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    342
    114
    48
    25
See reviews for
261
753
10
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Lovely set hotel with a lovely drive leading to the entrance. Me and my wife have stayed here once before As wedding guests , we enjoyed. Much we decided to come back!
On arrival there was a very warm atmosphere everywhere we went throughout the hotel. Quick check in and a warm pot of tea with the homemade biscuits sure helped to warm you up !
The room with the piano we found to be cold at times along with the waiters in the restaurant.

Attitudes seem to be dull along with poor attention to our needs we endlessly had to ask for our rather over priced wine to be poured . Along with a long wait between courses i decided to nip outside into the cold for a cigarette as the wait proved to be tedious. One waiter particular stood out rather tall a little plump and i think his name was Matthew he seemed not at all bothered about our needs and needless to say he seemed down right arrogant with no apparent urge to clear away our empty plates. We did not feel as welcome in the dining room as check in.
Our pot of tea was served with more care.

Me and my wife have travelled across Europe over the years.
We have stayed on many type of guest houses, b and b's , hotels etc . A far ettington park hotel is far from the worst but surely not the best.
It has magnificent grounds , some great staff some not so. Lovely food must i say !
Don't miss out but dine out, there are some nice places to eat out in Stratford upon Avon that we discovered.
But I would certainly take a chance and try other hotels in the area next time !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poshpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. Firstly, I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us overall. However I would like to apologise that on this occassion we did not meet all of the high levels of service we deliver. I have addressed the comments you have raised with my team and we have taken the appropriate action. Should you wish to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This hotel is absolutely fabulous and the building is quite magnificent. The bed was really comfortable and the bedroom room was spacious along with a very large room downstairs. Dont miss out on afternoon tea where splendid cream tea is served in a magnificent setting. We stayed for two nights and had breakfast and dinner on both days. The breakfast was absolutely superb and there was no problem getting any variation that you wanted. Dinner was also superb and and all of the food was absolutely delectable. Just the right amount was served so you didn't feel bloated at any stage.Drinks were relatively expensive including the table wine but it was perfectly served which made you forget the price. The overall service was amongst the best that I have seen with the well trained waiters contributing to a memorable stay. Stratford is only a few miles away so there are no shortage of things to see and do. We shall definately return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

A hotel full of character and charming staff. The stunning building made a prefect wedding venue for us. They looked after us and 106 guests like royalty for 2 nights and we couldn't possibly single out any particular member of staff as they were all excellent. Exclusive use for a wedding here is fairly priced for what we got and I would recommend it to anyone. The food throughout the weekend was superb, form buffets to the wedding breakfast it was faultless. The variety of communal rooms is fantastic and the staff were so flexible we could use for crèches/ games rooms or whatever we needed. They were amazing to deal with in the months leading up to the wedding and the weekend the itself.

Room Tip: All rooms were good and those in the main building are larger and particularly charming. The rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pwhelan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear your positive feedback and once again our congratulations to you both. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Me and my husband attended a wedding at Ettington this weekend. We were there when they'd had been snowfall and the venue just looked stunning! It was like being in a fairytale. The venue is beautiful very grand and Gothic inside.They also had a blessing in the chapel on the grounds which was lovely and romantic. The staff were very friendly and nice.I think the only thing that let the day down was the wedding food. It was very bland and average not what i was expecting from such a posh looking venue. Our hotel room was lovely very modern. The only thing was it was so hot i had to sleep onto of the sheets! and couldn't work out how to turn the heat down.Over all we had a lovely stay : )

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your review and the comments you have made we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your friends wedding, and are suprised to hear of your comments relating to the food as the feedback we have received from the wedding was extremely positive. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

As an Event Planner I visit hotels constantly, I had to pick a venue for a small conference (30 pax) and picked Ettington but due to work load etc had no time to site visit first so was very nervous about the venue. I need not have worried, Jane (General Manager) and her staff, were marvellous, the venue stunning, the food excellent, the staff friendly and professional to the core. Service was fantastic and the whole experience was superb ! Unfortunately due to the weather we had to cut our stay short by a night to ensure all our delegates got home safely but I would return in an instant to the Ettington and would recommend it wholeheartedly. My thanks to Jane, Darren and Virginia to name but a few for looking after us so well and for making my job that much easier. My initial fears of going site unseen to a venue were unfounded -luckily I landed on my feet this time ! Thanks all. (PS) The Ghost Tour with Michael was excellent , not at all cheesy in fact he was so matter of fact about what he had seen and experienced in all his time working there that he was more convincing ! Good job Michael and delegates really enjoyed it - thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear just how much you and your delegates enjoyed Ettington Park, and I do hope everyone arrived home safely. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return event. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Was recommended to Ettington Park as a place to celebrate my Dad's 80th Birthday in December. Decided to book a dinner,bed and breakfast deal and upgraded to an executive room as it was a special occasion. The overall experience could not have been any better, we had a great time. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Bedrooms were lovely, spacious with great views, robes, hairdryer, fridge and tea/coffee facilities with real milk. You can even leave your shoes outside your door at night and by morning they have been cleaned - how good is that? We were invited for canapes before dinner whilst we looked at the menu. Food was excellent and the Chef served Dad's dessert on a slate plate with a birthday message which was a lovely surprise. Didn't have time to use the pool but it looked nice. You can even hire bikes and wellington boots if you want to go out exploring! We hope to go back and would not hesitate in recommending the hotel!

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 50 and 34 opposite each other. Both large rooms with. Room 50 a bit quirky with hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r1ch4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your review and the comments you have made please pass on our congratulations to your father. We are delighted to hear that your celebration was a memorable event and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing