We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly welcome at a Classic English hotel with ghosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly welcome at a Classic English hotel with ghosts”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our stay started with the warmest welcome I have ever received at a hotel, anywhere! And all through our stay, we experienced genuine smiling service. We had a really good-sized room and a well- equipped bathroom. We'd thought the bed could have been bigger, but the linens and towels were good quality.

We had light bites in the lounge one evening and breakfast in the dining room one morning and room service the second morning. All were excellent, although the dining room breakfast bacon and sausage looked like they had spent a little too long on the hot plate.

Although this is supposed to be the most haunted hotel in Britain, we slept undisturbed both nights....

The pool and related facilities were good, and we were able to use them during a quiet period, so it was like a private spa.

We have stayed at several Hand-picked hotels and this was the best so far. We would definitely return, next time we come to Stratford.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased you were able to make use of our spa. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    351
    119
    49
    25
See reviews for
271
772
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at Ettington Park recently with friends. I would say that the hotel is a little shop worn. The rooms where fine, and clean. The staff overall was very good and helpful, however at about 1:00 am in the morning we had noise coming loudly from above our room and could not sleep. We called the front desk repeatedly and no one ever answered the phone. We had asked to eat outside and while they told us they discounted doing that, they did accommodate us. They set up lovely candles and we had a wonderful staff take care of us outside. The food was fine, but not exactly what I expected. The morning breakfast was very good, and we totally enjoyed it. The place from the outside is lovely and while we where there a couple was getting married. The wedding location seemed perfect. The location is great and overall we had a nice time. Would recommend, but was a little disappointed in the staff, and also think the place needs a bit updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologise that at 1.00am you were unable to raise a response, we do have night porters during this time and there should be no reason as to why you were unable to make contact. I am pleased we were able to accommodate your dining outside. With regard to the updating you have mentioned, this is continually reviewed and investments are made, however we do not wish to loose the character of the hotel. I do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here. This trip was arranged for us as a gift and what a truly wonderful experience it was.. Our room in the extension was perfect with a view over the garden and old church.
The staff made us feel special from the time we drew up in the car park and the food...............Ahh! The food!!!!! Every mouthful a delight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Srayed a couple of nights, a second visit. Rooms were nicely finished and all in very good order. I felt the food was not so good - service in restaurant very hit and miss and presentatio in buffet styles lacked care and attendtion. Staff all tried to be helpful. So a mixed experience but a wonderful location nevertheless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Ettington Park, I am sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay and please be assured that your feedback has being given to the team, so they can address the points you raised. We hope you do return in the future. Kind Regards, Grainne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

What can I say this hotel is excellent in every respect rooms, food, staff. Staff makes you feel as if your the only person staying, very attentive cannot do enough for you. Will be going back.
Rather expensive but don't let that put you of. Thanks to everyone at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natanddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.Kind Regards,
Grainne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

It is not often that we have found a hotel irrespective of the star rating that would match let alone surpass our wedding venue at Rhinefield House (another of Hand Picked hotels) !! All we both can say is a huge Thank You to all the staff at EPH who truly spoiled us rotten during our anniversary stay.

Their attention to detail, professionalism and friendliness was superb.

I personally loved how there is sooo much history surrounding this house and that the staff are more than happy to share its history and hidey holes. I must say that food is gorgeous and a real treat. And the pool/spa area immaculate and clean.

We were given a complimentary upgrade which delighted us enormously. Even the cob webby windows (on the outside I might add - the room was spotless) added character to our room next to the Long Gallery. And we did indeed experience some of the reported ghostly visitors!! I thoroughly LOVE this house. It has a warm and homely atmosphere and does not feel like hotel at all. The grounds are fantastic to have a good dander round.

I am delighted to recommend EPH to anyone and would advise you to ask for a room in the main house to truly experience it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CbPiggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrainneHayden, Operation Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your anniversary stay here with us at Ettington Park,
We are so glad you both had a wonderful time .We look forward to seeing you back here for your next anniversary celebration. Kindest Regards, Grainne Hayden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This lovely old building has the potential and the location to be a great hotel but only if Handpicked Hotels get their act together and immediately appoint a General Manager to tighten up the considerable slack which has occurred as a result (one hopes anyway) due to the departure of the previous GM to the new hotel in Bath. From the beginning of our stay there were catalogues of errors in a) our booking, b) breakfast orders, c) the acoustic levels in the Garden Wing are appalling with a cacophony of slamming doors and shouting staff, d) housekeeping failed to have the room cleaned by 3 pm on the second day despite this being a stay-over e) access to the Garden Wing involved passing the rear of the kitchen where there were discarded cardboard boxes, an uncovered bucket of set cooking fat and a large stock pot covered with cling film, these were all still there 24 hours later and no doubt attracting the attention of local vermin.
There were I am pleased to say some good points to our stay, the staff were all polite and helpful, the food and the roast lamb in particular was excellent, the barman could mix a first class vodka martini and the Pawel the Duty Manager during our stay was particularly helpful.
Nevertheless for a 4 star hotel there needs to be a serious shake-up in management as it appears to be on a slippery slope which needs to be halted sharply. I look forward to returning here in a few months time and seeing serious improvements in the running of the Ettington Park Hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book the Garden Wing, no view, dark rooms, noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyleisabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, of which have been fully investigated. We do endeavour to have rooms serviced by 4pm each day, however should any guest have a requirement to have their room serviced earlier we are happy to do this. Please accept my apologies for any noise you experienced during your stay. With regard to cardboard boxes and the stock pot, this is has been addressed with my head chef. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the serviced you received. On your next stay I would be delighted to meet you and should you wish to contact me to discuss this further, I would be more than happy to assist you. Please let me assure you that any concerns such as yours are taken very seriously and immediate action is taken to address these. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing