We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Was bought an afternoon Tea gift and booked the experience on my husbands birthday so we could all enjoy. The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are amazing. The staff where helpful and afternoon tea arrived quickly. We had a good selection of goodies for tea and the gift was for two but we took our son with us and asked the waiter if we needed to order more food but he said there would be enough for us all to enjoy. He was right and like the fact that he was honest and didn't try to get another order which we would of had to pay for!

Room Tip: recommend afternoon tea, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birmingham44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us on your Husbands birthday, we very much look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    342
    114
    48
    25
See reviews for
261
753
10
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay at this lovely hotel which is set in beautiful Shakespeare country.

The room was nicely furnished with a very large and comfortable bed and the bathroom was spacious and clean with a good shower and plenty of quality toiletries and towelling bathrobes provided.

Top marks for the 'proper' (quick boiling) kettle and good range of quality teas, coffee, drinking choc and country biscuits - AND a small bottle of fresh semi skimmed milk in the fridge and complimentary bottles of mineral water too!

The only small critisism is the unnecessarily complicated room lighting controls which were very frustrating and hidden away on the wall.

The indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were all very well maintained and there were plenty of soft towels available.

Dinner was good although the portions were small on both the starters and main courses (3 only) scallops were served on a soggy vegetable base which we couldn't identify and was left uneaten although the rest of the dish was tasty. The service was very good and the staff were engaging and friendly. There was a good choice of wines and the Graham Beck sparkling white was crisp and very dry, just how we like it.

Breakfast - again good quality ingredients (except perhaps for the tinned button mushrooms) but not very generous portions. They had no brown sauce as they'd 'missed the delivery' (well, send someone to buy some). Real tea (leaves) in a nice pot was a good point.

In summary: the location, hotel, grounds and out-buildings are fabulous. The room was very comfortable and the staff courteous and friendly. The pool and facilities are excellent. The food is good (but could be improved) but the portions are on the small side. Overall though, good value and recommended for a short break.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs side room, overlooking the grounds and old chapel for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have also discussed your comments with my head chef and undertaken a full review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for the one night at Ettington Park Hotel a couple of weeks back. The sense of having ‘arrived’ as we drove up the drive-way to the hotel was rather special.

The building is impressive and imposing on the outside; the grounds around the hotel is beautifully kept and there are bicycles which you can use to explore the grounds, though the child bike for my 8 year old was a bit big. The inside was disappointing; it looks a bit dated, with 70s/80s dark carpeting and wood. The main sitting room looks okay but again…looks dated in some part and confusing seating arrangements.

We ordered some sandwiches, which were average…but pricy. With that in mind and a peek at the dark décor of the dining room we cancelled the dinner of our stay package and went to the Bell down the road (2mins drive) for dinner…best pub grub I have had in a very, very long time.

Our room were okay, the bathroom was nicely done, clean…as was the rest of the suite but again, that dated look and feel to it.

The staffs were very pleasant, friendly and accommodating…just that I was expecting a lot more from the appearance on the outside which was fabulous. Ettington Park could be very special if some investment was put into the interior…as they had with the swimming pool in the basement, which was a little gem; we really enjoyed our 1hr swim in the very, very warm swimming pool and use of the sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi.

Given its current condition…pricy and average, hoping to visit it when it is pricy but outstanding…which it could easily be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am sorry to hear that you found the decor not to your liking however, this is in keeping with the style of the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in the pool and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
313 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our stay at this beautiful hotel was made extra special by the fantastic room we were shown to on our arrival. The room was huge with a bed that was soft, opulent and a pleasure to sleep in. It looked like it had had a bit of a refurb with shiny new light switches and well appointed lighting to add to the mood of the room.
The bathroom was well appointed with every mod con without detracting from the historical feel of this glorious building. Lovely little touches like safety lights that went on as you entered the bathroom, a wall to wall mirror, music that could be piped into the bathroom, a bath and a shower with masses of fast running hot water - fab!!!
The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. Every member of staff took their time to say hello to you as you passed and ensure that you had everything you needed.
We didn't use the restaurant and spa facilities due to other prior arrangements but we would most definately come back here to sample the menu and the pool with jacuzzi.
Breakfast was spot on with great service from the staff.
Our only concern and the reason we didn't give it an 'Excellent' rating was the cost of drinks. I expect to pay more in a hotel to accommodate all the staff that are looking after you, however cocktails were £11.75 the cheapest bottle of wine was £23.00. We have stayed at higher rated hotels and paid less.

Room Tip: There is a DVD player in the room so take your own DVD's as Freeview doesn't always offer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Startford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel stay for us was both relaxing and luxurious. The quality of the suite we stayed in was above our expectations and the staff catered to our every need. Dinner was wonderful - I would recommend the deep fried avocado! My partner said the chicken was the best he had ever had. The setting is beautiful and a walk around the grounds is a must. The deer running across the grounds as we opened the curtains in the morning was picturesque - looking forward to booking out wedding there soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terryst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the suite and your meal. We would be honoured to look after your wedding here at Ettington and very much look forward to hearing from you. In the meantime, should you require any information from us, please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three days.
Checking in was a very pleasant experience and everything clicked after that.
The building is in gothic style and is very similar to some of the other hotels in their chain, one of which I have also stayed at called Nutfield Priory near Redhill in Surrey
The food was in the main excellent and nicely presented with the waiters and waitresses being very attentive and really knowing their stuff.
We stayed using an offer that meant dinner was included but also wine and canapes prior to dinner and these were excellent with their House Wine which apparently is produced on the owner's estate in Italy being a real find.
The building does need a real refurbishment and soon and I am sure that the lift predates Oliver Cromwell whose history entwines with the family that owns the building. I cannot honestly recall a lift still working that looks older.
They also have a quite pleasant Spa and the grounds are magnificent, if difficult to wander about due to roads and rivers etc.
All in all a great place for R & R and if you are a foodie then the fact that as much as possible is sourced from local farms adds to it's charms.
Breakfast is good in terms of food and excellent in terms of service however if you want to eat and get out before lunch you need to tell the waiters as the kitchen does not do "Fast" in any way.
The rooms do need a leeetle more soundproofing so as to dampen the sounds of some of the more energetic and romantically inclined guests
All in all a great value break and we were more than happy with the place.
Would definitely come back.
Special mentions for Adam, Aaron and Pawel

Room Tip: The hotel is on many levels and so get the porter/concierge to take your luggage to and from the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made with regard to the staff, of which this has been shared with them. We are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a great hotel. The building is stunning - a Victorian neo-Gothic pile of very interesting architecture, set in beautiful grounds. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. We went on an offer (night, canapes, glass of wine) which was excellent value. Recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James_186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing