We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, tons of character and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, tons of character and great service”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I have been regular customers of Handpicked hotels for 3 years now and Ettington Park definitely lived up to the Handpicked expectation.

We booked Ettington Park for a night away and a bit of R and R. The hotel itself is a beautiful old building with lots of character set in stunning surroundings. As everyone else has commented looking out the window and seeing the deer running or grazing a few feet away is really special.

Our room was just beautiful, room 50, the Pritchard Suite, right up in the rafters of the hotel with stunning views across the parkland! Beautifully decorated with a real home from home feel and a lovely raised area with table chairs and dressing table. Tons of character and a really really comfortable bed!!!

A welcome addition was the fresh milk in the fridge - something we have always felt would have been nice in the other hotels.

There are wellies, umbrellas and bikes in reception so you can go out exploring no matter the weather. Natasha the receptionist also provided us wih information on walks locally and showed us the book she had made in reception full of information about what to do in the local area. Very handy!

We had dinner at the hotel, an experience that is always a real treat at Handpicked. Canapes and pre dinner drinks in the Grand Drawing room - an absolutely stunning room, followed by dinner in the dining room. Aaron our barman made us delicious cocktails and Hubert our waiter was equally fab during dinner. I had the deconstructed kedgeree followed by locally sourced Lamb and then local cheeses. My husband had cheese scone with poached egg, lamb and the baked meringue. All was delicious! Breakfast the next morning was a continental buffet with hot cooked to order. Again well cooked - my personal favourite is the poached smoked haddock and poached egg. Big thanks to Nick the head chef.

We also made use of the swimming pool - definitely a must do - the glass roof would be lovely in the summer and the jacuzzi has a nice canopy of star lights above it.

Picking up on a couple of other people's comments - the house is an extremely old building with lots of history - part of the charm of the building I personally think! So yes occassionally something may go wrong or not work as well but the joy of staying at Ettington Park was the fact the staff seem to be genuinely proud of their hotel and want to make you feel as welcome and at home as possible. Any problem would be quickly resolved! The lift was a little tempermental when we were there - but someone always offered to help us carry our cases.

There was a large conference happening when we were staying but we did not find this detracted from our experience at the hotel - it was all kept seperate from the main hotel.

Particular thanks go to Damon - full of enthusiasm and a welcoming face when you arrive, Aaron the bar man who was fab in the evening, Hubert our waiter who provided a discreet but personal service, Nick the maitre de and Natasha the wonderful receptionist - she really takes pride in her job and making sure your stay is as wonderful as possible.

Our only regret was that we only had one night booked!!

Thanks to all at Ettington Park - you have definitely won us over as our favourite UK hotel now! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Worth paying the upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emsi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    357
    123
    50
    25
See reviews for
274
781
11
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
st asaph
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

From the moment you walk in to the time you leave the staff give you a genuine 5 Star service. The food and choice of wine is excellent. The setting for the hotel is perfect. The rooms are well decorated and furnished in a 1930's style (I could see Poirot the detective using his little grey cells).
The Spa facilities are beyond reproach.
We will be back, what a great experience. And thank you once again to all the staff.

Room Tip: The Suites offer the better views but the others are just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonygrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhuallt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Have just returned from a two day break at this hotel. Was a great stay. The hotel is beautiful the staff so attentive and the food ism out of this world!.
Its magnificent location with the deer roaming in 44 acres is a perfect for a get away from it all break . I was planning to dine only one night and go to nearby Stratford for dinner the next evening but the meal on the first night was so good I couldn't miss a second dinner there. The rooms are modern, spacious and service was excellent throughout our stay. The pool area was a break all on its own with the sauna and steam room and very spacious area around the pool.

Staying at Ettington Park made the best of the miserable November weekend. Will be back in the spring to see it with the blossom in the park !
Special thanks to Natasha, Pawel, Sophie and Aaron for their help and sharing their knowledge of this amazing place !

Room Tip: If travelling with a disabled person ask for a room nearer the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 690margaretg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the very nice comments you have made, we do look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We decided on this hotel for a few days' break away. What an amazing place! The grounds are fantastic (and watching the sun come up, seeing the deer nearby and the countryside around, make the morning rise well worth it). Very friendly staff who were careful to meet requests and with a "can-do" approach. We managed to negotiate some packages, which very much helped (Sunday night special included dinner and tea, and a 2-night special included dinner for one night); the published dining prices are indeed high. Watch the fixed menu if you are vegetarian: not a lot of choice if you're having dinner there more than one night. The WiFi worked and was surprisingly available around the buildings, but was basic in that you log into an Open system and obtain a password, but on the devices we used, we had to re-log in every time we wanted access. We paid a small extra for an upgrade to Executive room, not sure how much increase in quality we received, but the room was fine, and in-room coffee wasn't just instant. Reception was rather constricted and right by the front door, but otherwise the hotel was interesting and with good facilities. I got the impression it is regularly used for business events, conferences etc.

Room Tip: Some rooms have amazing views over the gardens and nearby countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, which have been shared with my team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business which was good value on their 24h delegate package, it's got great character and architecture and many original features. I didn't get much time to see the grounds but they look lovely and you are treated to the sight of deer on the lawns each morning. The staff were very efficient & couteous and the food good quality. Watch the cost of drinks in the bar - a large JW whisky cost £28! so just check the price list first. I was lucky to have an upgrade to the Garden Suite and this was suitably impressive. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The grounds are lovely so ask for a room with a nice view of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smaske1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I recently had the pleasure of attending a wedding hosted at Ettington Park Hotel. As guests of the wedding, approximately 20 of us flew from Australia to share this very special day with two friends. This venue was something magical - the grounds were breathtaking, the building incredible and the service provided by staff impeccable. Of particular note was David - one of the staff who was so very helpful with any request / enquiry we had and did so with such enthusiasm and professionalism! He was always there in the foyer with a smile to welcome us ! He really knows how to provide good customer service! Overall, a great holiday experience!

Room Tip: We travelled in a group of three - we stayed in a family room and we readily accommodated !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallymc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I would have loved to have given a 5 star review, but that would not be fair on the hotels that I have given 5 stars to. First of all, this hotel is in a fantastic setting in the English Countryside and is a beautiful building. I attended a meeting with some colleagues which we held in the library - fantastic room. After the meeting I checked in and that is where the star was lost. I wad made to feel very welcome, but when I asked about wifi I was told that the service was down as was most of the midlands - er.... I don't think so! I'm not sure what the internet issue was, but it was still not working the next morning either and in this day and age that is very frustrating. However, we had dinner that evening and I must congratulate the chef and the waitresses for superb food and excellent service. The wine was excellent too! Room was very comfortable and very nice bathroom. I'll be back when I get the chance.

Room Tip: It's a very old building with creaky floors and lord of character, my room was great and none of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to the internet, this in fact is the truth as the provider called the hotel to inform us of the situation. The iinternet was up and running the following day as you may be aware. I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,844 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,425 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing