We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Christmas Present”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas Present”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booked as a Christmas present that we got to share with family. Easy to find and set in beautiful grounds, oozing history and intrigue. We were met with a warm welcome, arrived far too early for check in but we were allowed to leave our luggage, which on our return to the hotel had been taken to our rooms. Facilities were very good, fascinated by the ironing board and full size iron. We take all our own toiletries but it was well stocked, huge white fluffy towels and robes. It is an historic building thus retains its charm and character, so may not please those looking for swish contemporary décor. Our only dining experience was breakfast which was both refined and delicious. The hotel is away from it all with a pub just a short drive towards Stratford, however we did discover that the area doesn't have pubs/restaurants that serve food Sunday evening and after deciding to go in to Stratford many establishments were fully booked and wouldn't consider squeezing us in even if we ate fast and disappeared quickly. However, the setting is perfect and we are more than glad we chose to stay at Ettington Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishyouwerehere0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    360
    124
    50
    25
See reviews for
276
788
11
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

During mid December, we celebrated the 70th birthdays of 2 family members, with a dinner and overnight stay at this establishment. The family gathering was great but the performance of the hotel was distinctly mixed. I have delayed producing this report, for 2 weeks, in order to attempt a fair assessment.
The external appearance of this neo-gothic mansion is impressive. The extensive grounds, which sweep down to the river past a ruined chapel, were lovely, This was true even on a dull wet December day.

The internal public areas impressed as dark and worn but may be appropriate for a building of this age.

Our bedroom (room 11) which was available at 3 p.m. as promised was clean and adequate. It did however lack the "something special" which we expect from an establishment of this rating and cost. The view was of some parked cars. We soon noted that doors, including a corridor fire door closed, with a bang.

Our celebratory dinner, for about 30 people was held in a private room. Service was good when you allow for the fact that we had been allowed to pre-order individually from the daily menu plus the presence of a major wedding on the premises.
The food was both enjoyable and innovative. My starter of smoked haddock risotto with crispy egg on top was novel and delicious. On the downside the sticky toffee pudding was distinctly not sticky, the portion sizes were very small (we are not big eaters) and with the almost total absence of vegetables, you would not stay here for long before you missed your 5 a day.
These however,are minor criticisms - it was an enjoyable meal.

The real problems started when we retired to the bar & lounge which were freezing cold.
When we complained, we were told that "this always happens when the wind is in a certain direction and blows the door open". Since this establishment highlights it's quality standards and eco friendly credentials, in literature in the bedroom, the fact that a serious identified problem has not been corrected raises questions concerning quality management.

While I was away fetching something warm for my wife to wear, coffee was ordered. There appeared to be a serious staff shortage. Espresso coffee was eventually served without sugar or any of the usual accompanying items. The next problem was procuring a teaspoon. By the time this was delivered the coffee was distinctly cool and we decided that it was time for bed.

During the night, we were woken up at regular intervals by banging doors. At 3 a.m. and 4 a.m. noisy wedding guests returned to their rooms and in the latter case appear to have gone to sleep with the TV or radio on.

Somewhat bleary eyed, we joined our family for breakfast
We ordered coffee from a young lady (French?) who appeared to speak little English. We got exactly what we ordered - a cup of black coffee each. No hot milk and not a jug of coffee which we would have expected to permit refills. Milk was ordered and eventually delivered - cold. The combination of the delay and the cold milk made the coffee to cool to be enjoyable.
Next, my wife and I ordered cooked breakfast with "over easy" eggs. We were served solid overcooked eggs which we rejected. The next attempt resulted in "sunny side up" which was exactly what we were trying to avoid. The third attempt resulted in the restaurant manager delivering the eggs which we had ordered. These we enjoyed, unlike the rest of the breakfast which was now distinctly cold.
I decided to finish with a croissant but there were none left.
Regrettably, all the hassle, which was so unnecessary, effected other family members enjoyment of their meal.

In conclusion, while it is difficult to estimate how much the presence of the major wedding adversely effected performance, I am left with the impression that this establishment lacks depth of quality and organisation. It depends to much on a small number of staff, particularly Pawel ,the helpful guy with touret's. and the chef.
There is a clear need for a stronger management presence and more staff training - things only seem to happen when Pawel is involved.
I consider that this establishment is currently a triumph of style over substance and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cedric324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have raised. I pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. However, I would like to pick up on a couple of the points you have raised, with regard to the heating, this is fully working of which I have personally checked, with my maintenance manager. With regard to your comments concerning breakfast, I have discussed these with Pawell, my restaurant manager and we have taken the action necessary to ensure issues such as yours do not recur, please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced in this area. I would also like to apologise for your disturbed nights sleep. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. And I do hope you will reconsider and stay with us again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, well maintained building with attentive customer service.

We had an executive room looking at the chapel which was both beautiful and eerie! Room was clean with enough room for two. I loved the style of the bathroom and great quality products. Would be good to have slippers in addition. I also liked that they provided bottled drinking water which I always find a mark of a decent hotel.

Breakfast was using local produce and tasty as well as plentiful. I would've liked a bit of a fruit salad as they only had a minimal sliced selection in the buffet, but that's not really a decider just an observation.

We also had dinner in the restaurant which was delicious.

They have a lovely large Christmas tree in the drawing room but I think they could have gone a bit further with more festive touches around the hotel. Also only one fire place was working which I thought was a bit odd as they give such a wonderful feel to the room.

A really lovely stay overall.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psychtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your suggestion of fruit salad for breakfast has been noted and will be given consideration. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Number 14 in our bid to visit all of the 20 Handpicked Hotels and by far the best!
We arrived as part of the second leg of my birthday weekend and unfortunately had only booked in for one night.
The staff here are wonderful and we couldn't fault the service. Check in was efficient and friendly with the lady (can't remember her name) welcoming us and wishing me a happy birthday! We arrived in our room, the Victorian Garden Suite, dual aspect overlooking the old chapel and the grounds. In the lounge area I came across some birthday gifts, sweets, biscuits, juice etc, which was alovely touch.
The view from our room was amazing and both early morning and in the evening the deer walk pretty much up the house!! Try to get a window seat in the restaurant where you can also catch a look at these beautiful creatures.
We ate in the restaurant which was busy but well timed - and the food was excellent. On to breakfast where the continental selection was extensive and the cooked offering fresh and tasty.
All in all a perfect end to a birthday treat. would I go back............... definitely!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monmouthbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted that your aim is to visit all of our hotels! and even more delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us in 2014. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed in a wonderful room (47) slightly spoilt by the radiator which would not turn off! Service for pre dinner drinks some what iffy but excellent dinner and breakfast. Helpful and wiiling staff generally. Pleasant leisure facilities too, though very small pool. Good attention to detail such as de icer available on reception! We are always happy to return to take advantage of excellent offers!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, with regard to your radiator, this does take time to cool down as this is not instant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in 2014. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Nothing short of excellent. Staff were so helpful and friendly it made the meeting easy, they were very attentive but not intrusive. Facilities excellent, food excellent and rooms excellent.

I would book this venue again and would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are pleased to hear that your meeting was a great success and very much look forward to welcoming you back in 2014. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We booked 4 rooms for one night for a ruby wedding anniversary on 15 December, the highlight was dinner in the chapel, not too many places where you can have a private dinner party for 6 in beautiful surroundings and perfect service!! We started with drinks and canopes in the stunning drawing room, and then escorted to the chapel, where we had a wonderful evening and some of the most attentive service we've experienced. The rooms were beautiful, spotless and spacious, we were in the original part of the house, and all the rooms had great character and features. The grounds are beautiful too. The perfect setting for any special occasion.

Room Tip: Room 38 is in the original house, and a lovely view of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with my team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,870 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,618 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,448 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing