We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I am a fan of Hand picked Hotels but this one, I am afraid was just a little below the standard we usually get. Booked through Secret Escapes on a special deal and on arrival the Receptionist did not get the fact we did actually have a £5 credit for food or drink. We decided to sort it out if there was a problem when we checked out - there was and it was rectified after we showed again the confirmation email. The hotel room was lovely as they usually are, but Classic Rooms are usually back of hotel and this time around 11 pm I was woken up when some of the staff were making their way back to their staff accommodation = our window was very slightly ajar. After seeing the dinner menu which was very expensive and did not appeal to us (either A la carte or table d'hote - we went into the local village!)). The swimming pool was deceptively small (compared to the photo we had seen - I could do 5 strokes of breast stroke from one end to the other) but deliciously warm but the steam room was closed for maintenance - which for me makes the "spa experience". Loved the infra-blue light in the bathroom which gives a blue glow so you don't have to put on the main bathroom light - and the usual Hand Picked touches - like proper milk (for coffee/tea tray) and bottled water in the fridge .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced when you stayed with us, which I have discussed with my team to ensure these do not recur. I do hope that would reconsider staying with us again in the future. Should you wish to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
There are newer reviews for Ettington Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel that we were the only thing that mattered. We felt pampered and special. The staff were all truly caring and helpful. I have never stayed in a hotel that equals this one in that I felt completely spoilt. The hotel is a very old beautiful mansion that was very clean and cared for. The bedroom was perfect in every way. Possibly a little too warm. The food was excellent and could not be faulted. Especially as I am a fussy eater and the chef offered to cook something that wasn't on the menu. Which he then did with style. We had a standard room which would pass as executive in a lot of other hotels. We will definitely be going back there and would highly recommend others to try it out. It is a great getaway location or close enough to the motorway for traveling through. The spa facilities were also brilliant. Just what was needed at the end of a traveling day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpeters1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for my 60th birthday with a family party of 12 adults and my 1 year old grandson. The location is beautiful, the building stunning, rooms very comfortable and far from the usual boring hotel style, and the food for the evening celebration was on a par with some of the best I have ever had. Above all the staff were unfailingly welcoming, helpful, pleasant and friendly, giving the place a real family feel. Every member of our party was thrilled with the event, and agreed that it would have been very hard to better it. Certainly, there are parts of the building that would benefit from a bit of sprucing up - but far rather that than the soul-lessness of many modern hotels. Great job, Ettington Park - thankyou!

Room Tip: As others have said, you get more of the real experience by staying in the older part of the buildin...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enoyed your birthday celebrations and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband , 2 children aged 6 and 4 and my parents. A lovely weekend was had. The staff were all exceptionally helpful and informative about the hotels ghost history! We booked 2 executive rooms on a BB basis. One (room 44) slept 4. It had an upstairs bedroom and bathroom with a lounge downstairs. A z bed and sofa bed there was where the children slept. This room is situated over the pool so there was no problem with noise and we hopefully didn't disturb anyone either. My parents had an executive room also , which slept 2 (room 16). The hotel was well appointed and was not overt posh but still made you appreciate you were somewhere nice. The bikes and willies for use in the grounds were a good touch. We also had the beefit of seeing wild deer within the grounds. Breakfast was a tasty treat with plenty of choices. A very nice visit indeed.

Room Tip: Room 44 good for a young family, fridge, table and easy chairs in room. Adults can watch tv upstairs...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were also able to see the deer, which is really nice this time of year. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My son took me for afternoon tea on my 65th birthday last weekend. For the price per person of £18 plus one would expect something quite special. The sandwiches looked and tasted as if made with value sliced bread and very ordinary off the shelf cakes. The scones were warm and the best part of the tea. Certainly wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, firstly, please accept my sincere apologies that your afternoon tea, was disappointing. I feel it is also important to know, that we do not use value sliced bread and all of our cakes are homemade. I have also discussed your comments with my head chef. Should you wish to discuss this with me further I would be more than happy to assist. I do hope that you will reconsider and visit us again for afternoon tea. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

On arrival lovely friendly welcome, nice room in newer part of hotel, well equipted, clean and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast really lovely. Lots of extra touches provided to make our friends birthday really special. The best thing about this hotel are without doubt the wonderful staff particularly the maitre d, waitresses, waiters and bar staff , nothing was too much trouble for them and always lovely friendly faces to greet you, they are a credit to hand picked hotels and obviously love working at this historical house. We hope to return again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Try and book into the older part of the house to appreciate the views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and many happy returns to you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my husband, driven by the proximity to Stratford Upon Avon and the Heritage Motor Centre.
The grounds are stunning and helped along by the fantastic pool , sauna and steam room we were very relaxed - a good thing given what was to come. Unfortunately a few gripes took the edge off it , namely house keeping standards ( advertised fresh milk gone sour, dead spider in the bath room, only one robe, lack of the advertised evening turn down service, dirty crockery left on a hall table all day ) pot of coffee served cold , white wine not chilled well, my husband's sticky toffee pudding dessert actually served rock hard and inedible. Having spent a total of £323.30 for dbb and drinks I was disappointed by the " sorry I will pass this on " on at check out.











Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank FionaKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have raised, I am sorry to hear of the shortcomings you experienced when you stayed with us. I have discussed these with my team and we have taken the action necessary to ensure these are addressed with immediate effect. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me directly. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,136 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,115 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: £100 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing