We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A wonderful week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I am feeling very sad,as I am writing this review on the night before our last full day here at Ettington park,I do NOT want to leave!!The beautiful gothic building is full of character and beauty, from the snowdrops at the entrance,to the grazing deer and the lovely country park which is the setting for this jewel of a hotel.Our arrival was marred slightly by the statement that we were not booked in for dinner and that we could eat in the lounge,if we liked,but that the restaurant was fully booked, however Pawel,the restaurant manager was very obliging and managed to fit us in. We were taken to our room which is charmingly different,large suite in the eaves of the house with amazing beams. The bed is very comfortable and unusually for,these days has a "turn down" service. There is a large flat screen tv. Wi fi and a well appointed bathroom with plenty of fluffy towels. The staff are all absolutely wonderful, friendly,helpful and caring,nothing is too much trouble. The food is exquisite,with an excellent choice of wines and attentive lovely staff,who really seem to care(not just lip service) we shall certainly come back soon and would happily recommend it to anyone who wants a holiday or short stay full of luxury,good food and total relaxation.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room fifty as it is in the quiet top of the house,is large and has a lovely view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with my team, who very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    341
    114
    48
    25
See reviews for
259
753
10
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here as part of an offer with my husband. The hotel has lots of character and is in a lovely setting. Although parts of the hotel are a little worn I was more than happy to overlook this given the excellent quality of the food and service. The bedroom was clean and the beds were very comfortable. My only wish is that I would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lprecious123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear just how much you both enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel got off to a very bad start when we were greeted by an exceedingly rude receptionist who's first words to us were - you can't check in! Slightly taken aback we explained we had rung the day before and had been told we could come earlier in the day and use the pool etc as we were travelling quite a way. Who told you that, what was their name was the response, you need to leave and come back later. Mmm - not a great start. Astounded at her rudeness we spoke to the operations manager who apologised and said he would personally ensure we had a perfect stay and that it was an unusual blip ..sadly he spoke too soon. We came back at 3pm to check in as requested and were taken to our room. It seemed ok but unfortunately , it hadn't been cleaned properly - there was food all over the floor and chair and make up on the dressing table. Mr operations manager came back.. I expressed surprise that he hadn't wanted to check the room was perfect given our shaky start.. Oh no one told me you were here came the response... Our confidence was fairly dented at this point and if we hadn't pre-paid we would have left as had come away for a luxury break, not a fawlty towers experience. We headed to the pool. Things looked up, it was warm and very nicely done - a relief. Next to try a cup of tea, advertised as being served with home made biscuits . Well, after asking 3 times for the biscuits, half an hour after the tea came, a plate with one small biscuit each arrived. Ok so that is tea and biscuit in the singular!! Dinner for the adults was included in the package and was adequate - fish was over cooked but it was fine and as our expectations were now at rock bottom the glass of champagne also helped! The restaurant manager was also very friendly and polite which was an upside. Another good point was the comfy bed and lovely big fluffy towels - we were trying to be positive. Breakfast the next morning - again adequate - I ordered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs in the hope of getting freshly made eggs as the ones on the buffet didn't look great. Unfortunately I was served the same eggs with a large slab of brown smoked salmon on top - very unappetising .. So all in all, not a great stay. I spoke to the general manager as we left and she did offer apologies and comped the extra drinks and children's food which was an appreciated gesture. However, we didn't get the 4* package we expected and paid for and left feeling very let down. This was our first experience of Handpicked and if this is indicative of the service standards they offer, it will be our last.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JonesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. We do try to offer early check in if possible, should this not be possible, we are more than happy for guests to leave their luggage with us whilst either using the pool or having afternoon tea. I would be more than happy to have a further discussion with you, should you wish to contact me. Please be assured that all your comments have been addressed to ensure issues such as yours do not recur. I do hope that you will return for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I booked Ettington Park as part of my husband's 50th Birthday Weekend and we were not disappointed.
We arrived in beautiful sunshine and as we approached the hotel along the driveway we were lucky to see a number of deer roaming the grounds.
Check-in was smooth and swift and our luggage was taken to the room by a very helpful gentleman Dameon.
Room 34 was a fabulous room overlooking the front of the hotel, spacious with a sitting room and a very comfortable bed.
As it was such a lovely day we took a walk around the grounds rather than using the lovely spa facilities on offer and finished off with a drink relaxing in the hotel bar. The Staff around were all so pleasant and helpful nothing was too much bother.
We had booked the package which included the Champagne and Canapes which was a lovely touch. The evening meal was fabulous, excellent taste, quality and innovative loving the twist on the club sandwich starter and the fillet steak, wow. We are real lovers of a good fillet and this certainly lived up to one of the best!!
Breakfast the next morning was again fabulous, everything you could ask for from continental to full English and help yourself cereal, fruit etc
All in all a wonderful experience, we would definitely visit again and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Room 34 in main house overlooking the main entrance and gardens - beautiful room with lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette_Birdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that your husbands celebration was so memorable, your comments have been shared with my team. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We got a last-minute one-night "Champagne Break" here to celebrate my birthday - unforgettable! From arriving in the sunshine to see the stunning Victorian Gothic house in lovely parkland, to the smiling welcome from receptionist Magda, our comfortable relaxing room, champagne & canapés in the impressive Great Drawing Room, delicious dinner in the panelled Oak Room - everything was just fantastic!

I forgot to mention swimming in the warmer-than-average pool & trying the steam room, sauna & Jacuzzi, all of which we really enjoyed. The only minus-point about the spa area was the distinctly chilly corridor leading to it & the even colder changing-rooms.

Breakfast next morning was also good with lots of choices - and it was the first time we've ever seen the help-yourself items set out in a former chapel, complete with stained-glass windows!

Before leaving we explored the semi-ruined church but unfortunately it was too wet & windy to spend long in the gardens.

All the staff, without exception, were smiling, friendly & helpful. Our one disappointment was not seeing any of the ghosts! However, we did meet a charming young man in the Long Gallery who said his name was Hazzard(!) and who assured us he WASN'T a ghost - still, you never know...!

Room Tip: Room 39 is quiet & has lovely views over the entrance & to the parkland beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear that your birthday celebration was memorable your comments have been shared with the team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this truly exceptional property. The staff could not do enough for you. The leisure facilities were really nice and well planned and the history was breathtaking. Have never stayed anywhere so incredible and where the staff went the extra mile. Would be hard to pick one member of staff the receptionist whos name Im ashamed to admit I can't remember was just awesome. My total shining star was Damien who simply could not do enough for us and as restaurant/bar staff Bradley was really helpful and very knowledgeable. All the staff took time to go the extra mile and their company should be really proud of them. Cant wait for our next visit. Hint hint hubby <3

Room Tip: We had room 37 and that was a good room. Was quiet and peaceful. However we did seem to be on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We went there for a works christmas party. The place looks stunning, the receptionist was so friendly, all the staff was smiley and helpful. The room OMG!! Loved it! Huge and very confortable bed, very clean. Food was ok. Didnt have time to try the spa but i will definately go back one day.

Room Tip: I dont know what type of room we stayed in but it was amazing. It was room 43 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing